Galway Football thread

Complacency probably affected Armagh.. Westmeath are better than they have shown in the league.. Galway wont fall into the same trap and should win comfortably enough

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 30/05/2023 12:07:27    2482841

Replying To togoutlads:  "Yeah, 2006. Donnellan was captain. His father, John, had captained Galway and his grandfather, Mick, had captained Galway too. A thoroughbred footballer if ever there was one. What a legacy out of one house!"
The Donnelans of Dunmore,Galway and the Larkins of James Stephen's Kilkenny. The only family to have 3 generations of senior all Ireland's winners (Grandfather, Father, Son) Some achievement. John Donnellan also the added honour of being TD.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 30/05/2023 12:16:50    2482846

Replying To Mayo52:  "Ye certainly wont hammer Westmeath"
I would expect Galway to win fairly comfortable but that said I would have expected Armagh to do the same but shows where Armagh are at.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 30/05/2023 12:27:41    2482849

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I would expect Galway to win fairly comfortable but that said I would have expected Armagh to do the same but shows where Armagh are at."
Westmeath are always technically good. But imo it's a big ask to put in 2 big consecutive weekly performances. Same as their hurlers - won away to Wexford, but were well beaten by Antrim at home a week later. You'd imagine Pj will let the fringe players in for the last 20 mins.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 585 - 30/05/2023 13:27:01    2482879

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "The Donnelans of Dunmore,Galway and the Larkins of James Stephen's Kilkenny. The only family to have 3 generations of senior all Ireland's winners (Grandfather, Father, Son) Some achievement. John Donnellan also the added honour of being TD."
Mad too when you think about it. Chris and John were very good footballers also in their own right but Michael was a freak to be fair. With that history you'd think he'd have felt a bit of pressure, I first saw him at the Ted Webb in 93, he was an outrageous underage and colleges talent. Kept it going too into his 20s and a very humble guy.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 30/05/2023 13:44:40    2482885

Replying To togoutlads:  "Agreed. We won't hammer Westmeath. Not sure where 'the Huckle Buck' is coming from here? Westmeath are going to put it up to us, we'll have to be ready. Complacency is the enemy here. We need to keep building a winning culture in Galway football, with no let up. Joyce will want us to maintain high performance and high standards, and not allow for any drop off in hunger or momentum. The competition for places alone in this well bolstered squad should see the hunger and tempo maintained for this one. There hasn't been such a battle in many years in Galway football to get a first 15 or first 26 jersey. Anyone who gets a chance will be champing at the bit to fully take that chance. So tear into Westmeath, lads. Time for this forward unit to fully fire in synch."
Where am I coming from? Bizarre. Do you ever meet any other Galway football fans in real life that you're incredulous someone thinks we shoul be easing past Westmeath? I could've understood your reaction if I said we'd hammer Tyrone or Armagh.

Westmeath are a mid-table division 3 team that lost against Louth after being 8 points up. Galway were runners up in the last championship and league, and are one of the favourites for the All-Ireland. If we can't comfortably beat Westmeath, the mentality isn't right for winning anything this year.

Westmeath aren't a terrible team, and obviously Padraic Joyce and the players won't be talking like this because complacency is our enemy, but we're on a discussion board here not in the dressing room, so you don't have to be coy. Realistically as 1/10 favourites, with a line at -7, we should be giving them a hammering. Player for player, we're miles ahead of Westmeath.

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 30/05/2023 14:26:39    2482909

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "The Donnelans of Dunmore,Galway and the Larkins of James Stephen's Kilkenny. The only family to have 3 generations of senior all Ireland's winners (Grandfather, Father, Son) Some achievement. John Donnellan also the added honour of being TD."
Grandfather, father and sons.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 30/05/2023 18:11:39    2482999

It'll be tough for Westmeath psychologically more than anything this weekend. Looking at that game on Saturday you felt they were really trying to target that game after the layoff and almost caught Armagh.

Will they be able to rise again on Saturday? Time will tell, hopefully it'll be a good game and Galway get the win.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 30/05/2023 20:09:30    2483029

Is there any bus/public transport from Galway city to Mullingar by any chance?
Cheers

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 30/05/2023 23:10:34    2483051

Replying To galwayman2:  "Is there any bus/public transport from Galway city to Mullingar by any chance?
Cheers"
I think you can get bus to Athlone, then Dundalk bus will take you to Mullingar. Might be too late though after game on Saturday for a return journey to Galway. Hope you get sorted.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 31/05/2023 10:40:10    2483092

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think you can get bus to Athlone, then Dundalk bus will take you to Mullingar. Might be too late though after game on Saturday for a return journey to Galway. Hope you get sorted."
Cheers for that. I think I'll just drive altogether.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 31/05/2023 11:37:57    2483120

Replying To galwayman2:  "Cheers for that. I think I'll just drive altogether."
Lallys are going, book a spot on their website, go to the menu, click GAA supporters bus and it brings up the option to reserve seats. Great value and a great service. Pick ups along the road.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 31/05/2023 11:59:38    2483133

Heard a rumour re: the Armagh game that it will be in Markiewicz Park. Heard a probably more credible rumour that it will be on in CP on Saturday, June 17th. at 7pm. Guess it's wait and see.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 31/05/2023 12:16:56    2483143

Replying To GDL:  "Lallys are going, book a spot on their website, go to the menu, click GAA supporters bus and it brings up the option to reserve seats. Great value and a great service. Pick ups along the road."
And great craic, used it a few times. Great service

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 31/05/2023 12:30:54    2483145

Replying To galwayman2:  "Cheers for that. I think I'll just drive altogether."
Ah, now, Eamon zz Ryan wouldn't be too happy with that decision. An e-scooter is probably out of the question, but Lallys coaches is a great option..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 585 - 31/05/2023 14:13:20    2483166

Replying To TheHuckleBuck:  "Where am I coming from? Bizarre. Do you ever meet any other Galway football fans in real life that you're incredulous someone thinks we shoul be easing past Westmeath? I could've understood your reaction if I said we'd hammer Tyrone or Armagh.

Westmeath are a mid-table division 3 team that lost against Louth after being 8 points up. Galway were runners up in the last championship and league, and are one of the favourites for the All-Ireland. If we can't comfortably beat Westmeath, the mentality isn't right for winning anything this year.

Westmeath aren't a terrible team, and obviously Padraic Joyce and the players won't be talking like this because complacency is our enemy, but we're on a discussion board here not in the dressing room, so you don't have to be coy. Realistically as 1/10 favourites, with a line at -7, we should be giving them a hammering. Player for player, we're miles ahead of Westmeath."
Oh I don't think for a second that we're not a better team than Westmeath and that we should be putting them away with some ease but we need to be in the right frame of mind and fully ready to go and do a number on them, otherwise they will push us. I think we've enough leaders emerging across the field now that we'll get it right but any of these matches are no foregone conclusion. You have to go full throttle and perform.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 31/05/2023 16:55:11    2483224

Eamonn Ryan said that anyone who doesn't cycle to Mullingar, would get 100 lines, and a boot in the ****

Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 31/05/2023 18:08:31    2483244

Replying To Triffic:  "Heard a rumour re: the Armagh game that it will be in Markiewicz Park. Heard a probably more credible rumour that it will be on in CP on Saturday, June 17th. at 7pm. Guess it's wait and see."
Interesting, had heard a double header with Westmeath and Tyrone in Breffni Park on the Saturday evening.

I just hope they don't bring us up to Croker.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 31/05/2023 20:21:41    2483256

Replying To ahsure.:  "Interesting, had heard a double header with Westmeath and Tyrone in Breffni Park on the Saturday evening.

I just hope they don't bring us up to Croker."
The games will have to be played at the same time so a double header can't happen

armaghfan02 (Armagh) - Posts: 39 - 01/06/2023 10:04:12    2483305

Replying To ahsure.:  "Interesting, had heard a double header with Westmeath and Tyrone in Breffni Park on the Saturday evening.

I just hope they don't bring us up to Croker."
Breffini could be perceived as being a bit unfair, being so close to Armagh and them playing there a few weeks ago. The Hyde in Roscommon would be similar. Slightly fairer if anything, but can't see that being chosen either

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 01/06/2023 11:10:22    2483329