Galway Football thread

Replying To brisbane:  "The Square D Gaa Tactics and Analysis #15 Kerry vs Mayo + Galway vs Tyrone
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOu7hU9s5C4

BARRY CULLINANE AND STEPHEN O'MEARA | Galway do enough against Tyrone
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXLZuiMQ3dg"
AH Jaysus Barry, knows a much about football as Ian Paisley or King Charles. Last year, it was hilarious, in the of the football championship he was picking 3-4 players from Claregalway on the team of the week every week when the top clubs were getting none. No one even knew the players were. You would think Claregalway were going to win the world and its mother :-) . He must have been getting free pints from Claregalway players every weekend.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 54 - 26/05/2023 13:20:03    2481726

Replying To Mayonman:  "Any word on Jack glynn"
He's fine

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 26/05/2023 13:32:10    2481730

Just back from Tuam a lovely evening for a football match. Hard luck to Galways U17s tonight in Tuam, finely balanced 1st half between two well matched teams however Galway dealt a big blow with Sean Walsh going off injured before the break. The penalty on 11 minutes into the 2nd half to put Mayo in front 1-9 to 0-10 in front and 2nd goal that followed shortly after was crucial and they went on to close the game out by six points.

It's Ulster winners next in the All Ireland Quarter final on June 10th. Have watched both finalists Monaghan, Derry both look like strong outfits that will be difficult to beat, that Ulster final on Sunday. Galway will need Sean Walsh fit for that game

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 26/05/2023 21:35:21    2481826

Replying To Yondu:  "Just back from Tuam a lovely evening for a football match. Hard luck to Galways U17s tonight in Tuam, finely balanced 1st half between two well matched teams however Galway dealt a big blow with Sean Walsh going off injured before the break. The penalty on 11 minutes into the 2nd half to put Mayo in front 1-9 to 0-10 in front and 2nd goal that followed shortly after was crucial and they went on to close the game out by six points.

It's Ulster winners next in the All Ireland Quarter final on June 10th. Have watched both finalists Monaghan, Derry both look like strong outfits that will be difficult to beat, that Ulster final on Sunday. Galway will need Sean Walsh fit for that game"
I thought the team was very unlucky the first yellow was harsh, it looked like a tangle of legs, O'Grady not been start was massive, Walsh was struggling from early on and appears to been carrying a knock and then the injury to Jack Heneghan prior to the game was a big loss. At two up early in the 2nd half the missed free into the keepers hand was crucial, we should have gone 3 up instead Mayo went down the field missed a free by hitting the post but we didn't clear it up and they scrambled a score, we then had a poor hand pass that gave possession away and thus lead to the penalty and the goal, that is a 5 point change in the direction of the game, the red card was avoidable if our defender had just caught the ball rather than let it bounce, Mayo cleaned up the ball with us 3 on 1 and the hit for the 2nd yellow for the red wasn't really needed and you are struggling with 14 and chasing. Getting the injured players back will be crucial, but in the overall context we we will get senior players from this group.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 720 - 27/05/2023 11:20:36    2481875

Listened to the minor match on gbfm, hard luck to the lads, mcglinchey and coen seem to have it in them, hopefully they and a few more will progress in the years to come... A few more matches this year will bring these lads on, they're still in it... Just one thing, what is it with gbfm that they had to miss the first four minutes of the second half due to a pre-recorded interview, what are they like at all?? and it's not the first time

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 27/05/2023 14:05:46    2481909

Sean Walsh going on injured mid way through the first half was a huge loss. The rest of the forwards play off him and he's such a great ball winner up front and in midfield. He must have been carrying a knock into the game as he wasn't moving right even early on. Still thought Galway were marginally the better side until Mayo got the 2 goals in 4 minutes but that double blow knocked the stuffing out of them. Mayo kept them at arms length after that to the finish.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 27/05/2023 15:01:22    2481931

If we were in any doubt about the threat Westmeath can pose, we know now. They were toe to toe with a team as good as Armagh. They'll fancy having a crack at us.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 28/05/2023 14:06:42    2482143

Westmeath? Seriously?

We are ten points better than Armagh. We were last year and let them back into it. We are better this year and they are worse. Whoever beats us this year, it won't be any Ulster team.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 28/05/2023 16:01:31    2482191

Replying To togoutlads:  "If we were in any doubt about the threat Westmeath can pose, we know now. They were toe to toe with a team as good as Armagh. They'll fancy having a crack at us."
Well I remember that evening in Salthill well, 2006.
Galway people were giddy with the handy draw and the winners were getting a cracking at the Dubs in Croker. Ja Fallon came out of retirement and got clobbered in the first few minutes and broke his collar bone. We ended up losing by a point on an evening to forget. We owe them one and need a performance next Saturday.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 28/05/2023 16:28:21    2482196

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "Westmeath? Seriously?

We are ten points better than Armagh. We were last year and let them back into it. We are better this year and they are worse. Whoever beats us this year, it won't be any Ulster team."
We can't be complacent about them. They pushed Armagh to the wire and we weren't 10 points better than Armagh, otherwise we'd have beaten them by 10 points! I think we're well capable of beating both but it's ourselves we have to manage - we need to keep building momentum and maintain the focus. Being dismissive of Westmeath would be naive.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 28/05/2023 16:34:16    2482199

Replying To smallfrank:  "Well I remember that evening in Salthill well, 2006.
Galway people were giddy with the handy draw and the winners were getting a cracking at the Dubs in Croker. Ja Fallon came out of retirement and got clobbered in the first few minutes and broke his collar bone. We ended up losing by a point on an evening to forget. We owe them one and need a performance next Saturday."
I was at it too. Gary Connaughton absolutely took Ja Fallon out of it that day and it didn't improve from there. We owe em one!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 28/05/2023 16:35:55    2482200

Replying To togoutlads:  "I was at it too. Gary Connaughton absolutely took Ja Fallon out of it that day and it didn't improve from there. We owe em one!"
Was'nt that the last game the brilliant Michael Donnellan ever played for Galway?

Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 28/05/2023 19:29:14    2482285

Replying To Mayo52:  "Was'nt that the last game the brilliant Michael Donnellan ever played for Galway?"
Yeah, 2006. Donnellan was captain. His father, John, had captained Galway and his grandfather, Mick, had captained Galway too. A thoroughbred footballer if ever there was one. What a legacy out of one house!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 28/05/2023 20:19:42    2482327

Replying To Mayo52:  "Was'nt that the last game the brilliant Michael Donnellan ever played for Galway?"
What a player. What a forward line Galway had back then. Sublime.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 199 - 28/05/2023 20:38:41    2482336

We will hammer Westmeath.

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 29/05/2023 06:27:22    2482423

Replying To TheHuckleBuck:  "We will hammer Westmeath."
keep doing the huckle buck

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 29/05/2023 10:58:15    2482488

Is the game not on tv/gaa go this weekend?? crazy.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 30/05/2023 08:29:52    2482779

Ye certainly wont hammer Westmeath

Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 30/05/2023 10:42:05    2482798

Crazy talk

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 30/05/2023 11:19:10    2482819

Replying To Mayo52:  "Ye certainly wont hammer Westmeath"
Agreed. We won't hammer Westmeath. Not sure where 'the Huckle Buck' is coming from here? Westmeath are going to put it up to us, we'll have to be ready. Complacency is the enemy here. We need to keep building a winning culture in Galway football, with no let up. Joyce will want us to maintain high performance and high standards, and not allow for any drop off in hunger or momentum. The competition for places alone in this well bolstered squad should see the hunger and tempo maintained for this one. There hasn't been such a battle in many years in Galway football to get a first 15 or first 26 jersey. Anyone who gets a chance will be champing at the bit to fully take that chance. So tear into Westmeath, lads. Time for this forward unit to fully fire in synch.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 30/05/2023 11:35:45    2482829