Galway Hurling thread

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Lol that is some interpretation right there. I'm a hurling man katser, from a long lineage of hurling blood. But your reply is what I expected, you didn't name any places with flags."
I had to deliver stuff out to the lads in Eyrecourt and onto Portumna back down through Killimor into Mullagh over to Cappataggle and onto Loughrea and there are some support out there for Galway!
Was over South Galway way and seen more yellow and blue flags than Galway flags in Gort!
Loughrea had a Ukrainian flag out in the lake and replaced it with a Galway flag!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/07/2022 12:05:28    2428972

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Both Shefflin and Joe Canning are in the papers to day blowing up Limerick, as you would expect them to do. No problem there. It will be all be taken wit large quantities of Saxa."
You know where ye can stick your saxa salt!!!
Hon Galway....can't wait!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/07/2022 12:07:54    2428973

Replying To katser:  "You know where ye can stick your saxa salt!!!
Hon Galway....can't wait!!"
Twill come soon enough for you.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 01/07/2022 14:39:11    2429008

all the flags i want are green and white flags for Galway you know the ones for goals and points . Galway 2-18 Limerick 1-19

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 01/07/2022 15:03:22    2429020

I don't know why your giving out about interviews,they are the norm before any match.do you feel that there should be no comments until day of match??ill settle for another 1 point win for limerick and another shot at an all ireland title after it..I do fear Galway and feel there must be one huge performance in them,hoping it won't be enough..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 01/07/2022 17:01:05    2429064

Galway are a team more suited to "masters" hurling. Limerick are class..They could be annihilated!!

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 01/07/2022 21:39:11    2429113

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "Galway are a team more suited to "masters" hurling. Limerick are class..They could be annihilated!!"
Go home to bed.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 02/07/2022 12:09:31    2429153

Replying To katser:  "Go home to bed."
I think most neutrals would like to see a repeat of the Munster final again in AI final. We are lucky to have a class football team that can go all the way.

If it weren't for the Mountain South land purchase financial debacle - brought about by the hurling fraternity, Galway football would be in an even better place. Instead, the debt was shared crippling all.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 02/07/2022 13:56:26    2429184

On his chips?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 02/07/2022 14:07:23    2429190

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "I think most neutrals would like to see a repeat of the Munster final again in AI final. We are lucky to have a class football team that can go all the way.

If it weren't for the Mountain South land purchase financial debacle - brought about by the hurling fraternity, Galway football would be in an even better place. Instead, the debt was shared crippling all."
Nice to see a united front as our county teams head into croke park.Mountain south was bought with the full backing of your football county delegates, unless you were all absent the night if was passed.Exactly the kind of supporter we don't need.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 02/07/2022 19:20:51    2429284

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "I think most neutrals would like to see a repeat of the Munster final again in AI final. We are lucky to have a class football team that can go all the way.

If it weren't for the Mountain South land purchase financial debacle - brought about by the hurling fraternity, Galway football would be in an even better place. Instead, the debt was shared crippling all."
You're intoxicated on Munster Final hype.

I'm delighted KK are in the final, when their victory was so emphatic. Ideally, you want the best sides going at it on final day.

Leave the 'great Munster hurling mythology' for the Munster championship. I'm sure a day will come again, when 2 Munster sides prove themselves to be the best in the country, but today didn't support any such notion of it being the current state of affairs. Nor did Cork's capitulation 2 weeks ago indeed. Limerick are handy enough in fairness!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 02/07/2022 19:58:32    2429303

As my predictions have been so accurate this year(not) I have a real fear today's match will be as one sided as yesterdays. Limerick will be every bit a ruthless today as Kilkenny were yesterday and I just don't think Galway will live them. Limerick will probably score at least 2-25 today, the question is are Galway capable of scoring more against the best team in the country. Please don't mention the league performance against them. Everyone knows league and championship is totally different. Look at the difference in Kilkenny between the shadow boxing in Salthill and yesterday. Galway will need that and more today.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 03/07/2022 08:21:01    2429349

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "As my predictions have been so accurate this year(not) I have a real fear today's match will be as one sided as yesterdays. Limerick will be every bit a ruthless today as Kilkenny were yesterday and I just don't think Galway will live them. Limerick will probably score at least 2-25 today, the question is are Galway capable of scoring more against the best team in the country. Please don't mention the league performance against them. Everyone knows league and championship is totally different. Look at the difference in Kilkenny between the shadow boxing in Salthill and yesterday. Galway will need that and more today."
Will be even more surprising, if we're as bad as Clare. Our team is honed from playing KK regularly. Clare, on the other hand got excited, after they beat up on a bunch of teams having very poor championship seasons. The 'great' Munster Championship 2022 got unveiled as the emperor with no clothes yesterday evening.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 03/07/2022 10:34:43    2429362

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "As my predictions have been so accurate this year(not) I have a real fear today's match will be as one sided as yesterdays. Limerick will be every bit a ruthless today as Kilkenny were yesterday and I just don't think Galway will live them. Limerick will probably score at least 2-25 today, the question is are Galway capable of scoring more against the best team in the country. Please don't mention the league performance against them. Everyone knows league and championship is totally different. Look at the difference in Kilkenny between the shadow boxing in Salthill and yesterday. Galway will need that and more today."
I'd generally agree with you re shadow boxing but I don't think I've ever seen Cody so animated on the sideline, and so bull thick after a game, than he was in salthill that day.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 03/07/2022 10:45:55    2429364

While form current suggests a win for Limerick, yesterday's game should give a boost to Galway, if only in confirming that the favourite doesn't always win and on the day, anything can happen. Good luck to Galway and Henry today.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 03/07/2022 10:58:18    2429368

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Nice to see a united front as our county teams head into croke park.Mountain south was bought with the full backing of your football county delegates, unless you were all absent the night if was passed.Exactly the kind of supporter we don't need."
Agree, he should change his name to An Crúiscín Folamh!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 03/07/2022 11:06:12    2429369

One thing Brian Cody doesn't do is shadow boxing - you should know that by now!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 03/07/2022 11:07:29    2429370

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Nice to see a united front as our county teams head into croke park.Mountain south was bought with the full backing of your football county delegates, unless you were all absent the night if was passed.Exactly the kind of supporter we don't need."
No more than the hurling fan who wasn't too complimentary about the footballers last weekend.....

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 03/07/2022 17:14:06    2429442

Don't understand this antipathy between supporters of either codes. Where's the love lads? Will no one think of the children? Can we not all just get along? Does it really matter as long as Mayo aren't lifting Sam, or Tipp Liam?

(Apologies to Mayo fans. No apologies whatsoever to you Tipp boys).

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/07/2022 17:37:21    2429458

Replying To baire:  "Agree, he should change his name to An Crúiscín Folamh!"
Novel name for a pub!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 03/07/2022 20:57:45    2429511