Galway Hurling thread

Replying To katser:  "Well from one stanch hurling stalwart to another....the answer is yes!
Whats Plan A...hit them with everything, Plan B....hit them harder with everything and an intensity that will absolutely smother them."
thats my problem katser, we launched everything at Cork and very little stuck... Limericks backs will eat up those aimless balls. I wouldnt rule out a win Sunday & a Whelan hatrick to boot!!

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 30/06/2022 10:46:52    2428771

Miracle needed

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 30/06/2022 10:47:35    2428772

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Looks good on paper but who's going to do all this hitting????"
Agreed for the size of Conor Cooney and a few others they are like sheep in a Galway jersey.

They should be horsing lads out of it, hopefully Shefflin has them raring to go because it will take that and a huge performance to get over this Limerick team.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 30/06/2022 11:03:43    2428776

Replying To CillTormoir:  "thats my problem katser, we launched everything at Cork and very little stuck... Limericks backs will eat up those aimless balls. I wouldnt rule out a win Sunday & a Whelan hatrick to boot!!"
Whelan hattrick has a nice ring to it. About time a hurler of the year trophy comes back to Kinvara!

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 30/06/2022 13:19:14    2428810

Replying To Past hurler:  "Agreed for the size of Conor Cooney and a few others they are like sheep in a Galway jersey.

They should be horsing lads out of it, hopefully Shefflin has them raring to go because it will take that and a huge performance to get over this Limerick team."
Conor Cooney must be the most frustrating hurler in Ireland as he has lots of ability but is too prone to inconsistency or blowing hot and cold a bit like Jason Flynn. Hopefully the next day will be one of his better days because if he is on the periphery of the action again Limerick will win handily enough.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 30/06/2022 13:28:39    2428814

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Looks good on paper but who's going to do all this hitting????"
You've no faith!!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 30/06/2022 14:42:43    2428841

Replying To CillTormoir:  "thats my problem katser, we launched everything at Cork and very little stuck... Limericks backs will eat up those aimless balls. I wouldnt rule out a win Sunday & a Whelan hatrick to boot!!"
We didn't really launch everything at Cork in fact I felt we just prodded along in 3rd gear and got the job done.
HS has being priming the team for this one...he surely set a target of the All Ireland Semi Final from the start.
I reckon Galway are going to hit them with everything and thunder into them.
I expect a red card or two from limrik!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 30/06/2022 14:48:38    2428842

Replying To Kinvara:  "Whelan hattrick has a nice ring to it. About time a hurler of the year trophy comes back to Kinvara!"
I've travelled around a few of the stanch Galway hurling strongholds recently and the amount of Galway flags up is unreal!!!
Alot of the Galway posters on here must be living in coo-coo land the way they have given up on Galway and expect them to lose, because anyone I've been chatting reckon Galway will win!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 30/06/2022 14:53:34    2428843

Replying To katser:  "Well from one stanch hurling stalwart to another....the answer is yes!
Whats Plan A...hit them with everything, Plan B....hit them harder with everything and an intensity that will absolutely smother them."
Very few can sustain that and if a team gets to that level for 60 mins, Limerick eat them alive in the last 10. Looking forward to the weekends hurling though especially looking forward to seeing how the two Galway corner backs get on against Limerick and who picks up who. Both have been excellent. Limericks system may not suit how Burke plays though so that'll be interesting....he can't be dragged too far from goal. A couple of years ago I remember Gillane being really niggly against Galway so expecting some fireworks there too!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/06/2022 15:08:25    2428848

Replying To katser:  "I've travelled around a few of the stanch Galway hurling strongholds recently and the amount of Galway flags up is unreal!!!
Alot of the Galway posters on here must be living in coo-coo land the way they have given up on Galway and expect them to lose, because anyone I've been chatting reckon Galway will win!"
Can you advise us katser of the names of these strongholds where you saw flags??? 3 or 4 please?

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 30/06/2022 15:33:51    2428860

Replying To Kinvara:  "Whelan hattrick has a nice ring to it. About time a hurler of the year trophy comes back to Kinvara!"
Has Kinvara had a hurler of the year previously? Your comment seems to indicate that it has.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 30/06/2022 16:08:44    2428867

Replying To katser:  "I've travelled around a few of the stanch Galway hurling strongholds recently and the amount of Galway flags up is unreal!!!
Alot of the Galway posters on here must be living in coo-coo land the way they have given up on Galway and expect them to lose, because anyone I've been chatting reckon Galway will win!"
I am sure no other team has put your innovative suggestions into place against this Limerick team over the past five years. If what Mike Casey had to say in the Irish Independent yesterday is anything to go by, himself and his Colleagues would relish the challenge.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 30/06/2022 16:18:33    2428872

Jesus lads. Just to win on Sunday. Just to get back into the final. Just to get that 2 week build up of excitement/nervousness/craic in the village. Just to get out on the batter after we win the final and spend the rest of the summer touring the parishes with the cup. just to believe... just get it done Sunday.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 30/06/2022 16:21:53    2428873

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Can you advise us katser of the names of these strongholds where you saw flags??? 3 or 4 please?"
I'm not talking to a lad who basically said that Galway footballers are rubbish....like you did say football is boring?
So if something is boring it's no good, useless!
I'm a hurling stalwart put I'd still watch and support the Galway footballers!
You obviously don't realise football is harder to play than hurling!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 30/06/2022 16:25:03    2428876

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Can you advise us katser of the names of these strongholds where you saw flags??? 3 or 4 please?"
Don't be asking him tough questions like that!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11857 - 30/06/2022 16:32:18    2428877

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I am sure no other team has put your innovative suggestions into place against this Limerick team over the past five years. If what Mike Casey had to say in the Irish Independent yesterday is anything to go by, himself and his Colleagues would relish the challenge."
As it stands "yer crowd " are doing all the talking and interviews with Casey in the paper and Kiely blowing how the team are in great shape with no injuries and almost a full squad! The way "they" are talking We might aswell stay at home!
No chat or interviews out of the Galway lads...everything is low key nice and quiet, the calm before the storm one expects.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 30/06/2022 17:44:04    2428892

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Has Kinvara had a hurler of the year previously? Your comment seems to indicate that it has."
Of course not, I mean Conor Whelan will be heading up to Dublin without one and I hope he brings one back!

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 30/06/2022 17:51:51    2428896

Replying To katser:  "I'm not talking to a lad who basically said that Galway footballers are rubbish....like you did say football is boring?
You obviously don't realise football is harder to play than hurling!"
Lol that is some interpretation right there. I'm a hurling man katser, from a long lineage of hurling blood. But your reply is what I expected, you didn't name any places with flags.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 30/06/2022 21:42:32    2428918

Replying To katser:  "As it stands "yer crowd " are doing all the talking and interviews with Casey in the paper and Kiely blowing how the team are in great shape with no injuries and almost a full squad! The way "they" are talking We might aswell stay at home!
No chat or interviews out of the Galway lads...everything is low key nice and quiet, the calm before the storm one expects."
Both Shefflin and Joe Canning are in the papers to day blowing up Limerick, as you would expect them to do. No problem there. It will be all be taken wit large quantities of Saxa.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/07/2022 10:51:19    2428949

Replying To katser:  "I'm not talking to a lad who basically said that Galway footballers are rubbish....like you did say football is boring?
You obviously don't realise football is harder to play than hurling!"
Fair play Katser. As the great Joe Connolly said once 'whether hurling or football we are Galway' or words to that affect. As I said previously I respect the Clare Sparrow academic knowledge of hurling but certainly have no time for the code narrow mindness. That maroon jersey either code does it for me and it is the narrow mindness imo that often holds us back. Every Galway person who can go on Sunday or on Saturday week should go and support the massive efforts made by our troops. For the record I think we will win on Sunday once we block the channels where Limerick have been most effective.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/07/2022 11:31:00    2428960