Galway Hurling thread

Good win for Kinvara. Sylane not too interested in hurling, few dirty late hits.

11 points probably flattered them, Whelan with a few bad wides in the first half and the Sylane keeper was excellent to keep them in it

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 174 - 06/10/2024 18:17:16    2573293

Replying To Kinvara:  "Good win for Kinvara. Sylane not too interested in hurling, few dirty late hits.

11 points probably flattered them, Whelan with a few bad wides in the first half and the Sylane keeper was excellent to keep them in it"
Kinvara going well this year, i hear its not whelo driving it on but yere younger players have massively stepped up young martyn in particular, id suspect ye to get into the final providing ye avoid TAD

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 105 - 06/10/2024 20:38:08    2573341

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Always the excuses. Turloughmore not able to get the job done and got plenty of soft frees in the second half"
Same old Turlough always find wanting when it comes to the crunch cant get over the line. Thomas`s just always find a way.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 294 - 07/10/2024 09:42:03    2573403

Replying To Eire89:  "Same old Turlough always find wanting when it comes to the crunch cant get over the line. Thomas`s just always find a way."
I suppose going a man down didn't help much. They fought well. Fair play to them.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2235 - 07/10/2024 11:13:52    2573431

Replying To Trump2020:  "I suppose going a man down didn't help much. They fought well. Fair play to them."
And who's fault is that?

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 205 - 07/10/2024 13:34:36    2573462

Replying To Trump2020:  "Clarinbridge v Loughrea
Cappataggle v St Thomas'

Great matches ahead!!!"
Don't you know everyone are probably expecting St Thomas' v Loughrea Co.Final.......but could We possibly see Clarinbridge v Cappataggle Final!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2454 - 07/10/2024 17:37:34    2573512

Replying To TanCanRan:  "And who's fault is that?"
Wasn't a red card.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 07/10/2024 20:38:45    2573537

Replying To Kinvara:  "Good win for Kinvara. Sylane not too interested in hurling, few dirty late hits.

11 points probably flattered them, Whelan with a few bad wides in the first half and the Sylane keeper was excellent to keep them in it"
If Kinvara put in a first half like that the next day they may as well tog in at halftime and head home.

TBF when the chips were down the attitude was very good but they'll need to bring it from the throw in next time

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 894 - 07/10/2024 20:49:29    2573539

Replying To TanCanRan:  "And who's fault is that?"
Honestly I didn't see the match as I was working but listened to quite a bit of it. I don't know how bad the offense was. I'm very happy for Thomas's but Turloughmore gave them quite a fright.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2235 - 08/10/2024 01:30:59    2573572

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "If Kinvara put in a first half like that the next day they may as well tog in at halftime and head home.

TBF when the chips were down the attitude was very good but they'll need to bring it from the throw in next time"
Absolutely. Seemed to be a few nerves but after 10 mins it always seemed like they had a bit of control over the game. When Whelan came into it , it wasn't really a contest

I'd say that could be as far as they go, but great promise in some of the young lads. Impressed by Martyn and O'Connor in particular

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 174 - 08/10/2024 08:58:19    2573592

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Wasn't a red card."
It was a second yellow though, which it was. Not a straight red.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 205 - 08/10/2024 09:19:40    2573600

Replying To Trump2020:  "Honestly I didn't see the match as I was working but listened to quite a bit of it. I don't know how bad the offense was. I'm very happy for Thomas's but Turloughmore gave them quite a fright."
Time for Turlough to be giving more than frights given they were favourites over the county and All-Ireland champs.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 205 - 08/10/2024 09:20:27    2573601

Who wins the senior B final. Athenry already beat portumna in the groups stage but hard to call.

2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 73 - 08/10/2024 09:34:15    2573606

I have a feeling the Intermediate Semi Final Draw will be......
Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry v Kinvara
Meelick-Eyrecourt v Killimor.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2454 - 08/10/2024 10:44:08    2573620

Replying To TanCanRan:  "It was a second yellow though, which it was. Not a straight red."
Very very soft.Saw Thomas getting away with alot more.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 08/10/2024 11:33:44    2573634

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Very very soft.Saw Thomas getting away with alot more."
Refereeing not great in any of the 4 games.
Both Thomas' and Loughrea got the breaks.
Bizarre carry-on from the ref in the Sarsfiels Cappy game.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 325 - 08/10/2024 11:40:13    2573638

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Very very soft.Saw Thomas getting away with alot more."
St Thomas got two frees late on in the game, both dives. Not impressed tbh.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 08/10/2024 11:52:29    2573640

I didn't see any Thomas lads belt an opposition player on the head while on a yellow. FYI, best look back on where all Turlough's second half points came from. Oh soft frees.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 205 - 08/10/2024 12:18:14    2573643

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "St Thomas got two frees late on in the game, both dives. Not impressed tbh."
Turlough got more than their share in the second half. Have a look at the free count.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 205 - 08/10/2024 12:18:42    2573644

hi all..
i was in athenry sunday and had a brill day..
brilliant too see such a great crowd which added to the atmosphere..
im delighted like so many others that both county finals are not in pearse stadium..
the atmosphere created in tuam/athenry/ballinasloe CANNOT BE CREATED IN PEARSE STADIUM at club
level withen the county..i undertstand pearse stadium is the county ground well id leave it for the county teams then..

on another note does anyone no if duggan park will be getting a facelift..
it certainly needs it...new stand on either side of the pitch...its got the floodlights but the grounds needs a serious
makeover and i hope this happens going forward and its a brill location and a great pitch like athenry..

hard luck to turlough..sending off was a massive turning point..
we are in for two very good semi finals are there both hard too call so looking forward to it..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 264 - 08/10/2024 13:15:42    2573659