All the right things except win games in "Leinster" this year. They are back down because they weren't good enough for the level required, simple.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1633 - 28/05/2024 12:35:20 2547893 Link 4 |
If Henry's time is up, who could replace him? Anthony Daly, Eamon O'Shea, Davy Fitz, Darren Gleeson or will the county board go local with Johnny Kelly or Mathie Kenny. A period of reflection is probably required in order to get the right person.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 776 - 28/05/2024 13:51:23 2547910 Link 1 |
Leinster Council who run the Leinster championship should prioritise the development of the game in Leinster counties whether or not that means marginalising non-Leinster counties, very simple.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 823 - 28/05/2024 13:57:16 2547915 Link 1 |
Oh..so that possibly explains the refereeing we see year in year out at Leinster underage games.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 28/05/2024 14:14:39 2547919 Link 2 |
Would Mattie Kenny even be bothered with it now? I have often questioned why he wasn't given the role years ago. They don't give it to a man of Mattie's caliber, yet complaint vociferously when an outsider is appointed; funny oul' county!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2118 - 28/05/2024 14:17:38 2547920 Link 1 |
Get a Galway man and quit with these mercenary managers. Your biggest rivalry and All_Ireland's coming out their wing wang Kilkenny, will not have any outsider now or ever or ever before. Cork the same. Limerick the same now and we know how that is going. Clare have also learned the lesson.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2903 - 28/05/2024 15:03:34 2547933 Link 1 |
Should give it to Kenneth Burke. He is the right age, has enough experience now, knows how to win, knows the county, lads would respect him. Cannot see why not. He wouldnt have a media circus around him coming in, would just do the job and rebuild. I would think he would be very similar to Michael Donohue in a lot of ways.
clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 441 - 28/05/2024 15:06:17 2547935 Link 1 |
Get a Galway man and quit with these mercenary managers. Your biggest rivalry and All_Ireland's coming out their wing wang Kilkenny, will not have any outsider now or ever or ever before. Cork the same. Limerick the same now and we know how that is going. Clare have also learned the lesson.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2903 - 28/05/2024 15:16:15 2547944 Link 1 |
Yeah that's very smart, develop the game in Leinster by removing the stronger teams that play against. That'll work. "Very simple" fact is Leinster need Galway as much as Galway need Leinster, it's a two way relationship.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1633 - 28/05/2024 15:18:37 2547946 Link 3 |
I know you are only new into Leinster but this post shows you really don't understand Leinster hurling. My kids are born and brought up in Wexford. If any of them were asked to referee a Galway team against Offaly, Dublin, or Kilkenny they would definitely favour Galway. They don't seem to have the same dislike for Carlow, Laois or Westmeath though.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14233 - 28/05/2024 15:31:44 2547950 Link 1 |
Mention of Christy Ring and suspect referees. reminds me of the infamous mauling Mickey Burke got at Rings hands/hurley in the all Ireland final of 1953. A Leinster ref then named O'Connol (or O'Connor). Yes I am that old; Then the infamous Hopper McGrath sending off by the Wexford guy Deegan? Its not sour grapes but can anyone on here point out an occasion when any Galway team or player got off with blue murder. I agree we must start breeding a few more Silvie Linnanes or Brendan Lynskys who can dish it out as well as take. Galway have always been too nice. What a shame to have to say that about amateur players. Galliamh Abu waterside4 (Galway) - Posts: 34 - 28/05/2024 15:56:43 2547960 Link 2 |
Does the Galway supporters need to have a look at themselves? 1shot (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 28/05/2024 15:57:56 2547961 Link 3 |
Deegan was from Laois
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14233 - 28/05/2024 16:03:07 2547964 Link 1 |
Maybe we need Galway but maybe not. It could be near time for a reassessment of what is best for the Leinster counties and the Leinster Council must not forget that fulfilling the wishes of the Leinster counties is their "raison d'etre" and not the welfare of Galway/Antrim hurling.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 823 - 28/05/2024 16:58:48 2547979 Link 2 |
Denton he ment....never to be forgotten.
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 28/05/2024 17:21:43 2547983 Link 1 |
Déjà vu, so I won't repeat anymore of what we already aired weeks ago.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 28/05/2024 17:52:33 2547991 Link 2 |
Fair play to any supporter who 'jumps on a bandwagon' before you play Limerick!
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 28/05/2024 18:14:41 2547994 Link 2 |
If Galway left Leinster the current provincial system would be scrapped entirely. So, Leinster need Galway. Congrats to Dublin, hope ye win it now. I support Galway, not Leinster. maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 28/05/2024 18:54:02 2548002 Link 4 |
I wouldn't be calling O Shea an outsider. He has lived and worked with galway hurling fir years at different levels be it with his club salthill and recently at County level. thecut (Galway) - Posts: 335 - 28/05/2024 19:04:53 2548007 Link 0 |
So if Galway were relegated in Leinster the current provincial structure would be "scrapped entirely". Maybe we'd have a preliminary Leinster final with the winners playing relegated Galway in the real final. I don't know, reading all the whinging posts here from Galway fans about the game on Sunday maybe they'd be happier back playing with themselves in Connacht. sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 823 - 28/05/2024 19:56:32 2548022 Link 0 |