Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "I wouldn't deny it, if i'm honest. I never claimed to know much, but in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king, as they say.

But in my defence, I'm not hogging every thread under the sun spouting ***** like some others I could mention."
Ah there is no need to pick on poor Katser, Tommy K and Baire. They can comment anywhere they like as its a forum

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 04/04/2023 15:03:04    2468814

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/joe-canning-galway-minors-hurling-gaa-549081?utm_content=buffer3493b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&fbclid=IwAR0eZSgYWHuHO60V9aqHpFYkZf24VbqENiXGm4csvUTIPqBD-YA3XfUK_KM

Who thought this nonsense was a good idea, and why??

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 06/04/2023 09:52:31    2469197

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "https://www.balls.ie/gaa/joe-canning-galway-minors-hurling-gaa-549081?utm_content=buffer3493b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&fbclid=IwAR0eZSgYWHuHO60V9aqHpFYkZf24VbqENiXGm4csvUTIPqBD-YA3XfUK_KM

Who thought this nonsense was a good idea, and why??"
It's unbelievable. Lads that age wouldn't even be doing exams.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 06/04/2023 11:30:05    2469234

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "https://www.balls.ie/gaa/joe-canning-galway-minors-hurling-gaa-549081?utm_content=buffer3493b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&fbclid=IwAR0eZSgYWHuHO60V9aqHpFYkZf24VbqENiXGm4csvUTIPqBD-YA3XfUK_KM

Who thought this nonsense was a good idea, and why??"
There's the national u16 competition starting up May 20th will be Galways first game in it. U17 All Ireland is down for July 2nd. For the sake of the competition I don't think it's fair to let one county pull in a few u17s to play the remaining u16 games when knocked out, when the like of Clare, Dublin for example (who are in same group) might not have same quality and we run away with competition or vice versa. keep the u16 competition as outlined from start and no additional players later on and let those lads at it. IMO the training alone those u16s on minor squad are getting compared to those onu16 development squads outweighs joes mention of '5 minutes game time'

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 07/04/2023 09:05:28    2469357

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Yeah good player , but if his surname wasn't Canning and he wasn't from Portumna there wouldn't be any talk about him. People really do need to let go of the expectation that they have that because a fella " has the genes" he should automatically make it onto the county panel."
Fair point but the lad scored 2 goals in an All Ireland Final so it's more than just name and genes I'd say. Either way best of luck to him whatever sport he plays.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 07/04/2023 14:17:19    2469414

Great win for the Galway Minors over Kilkenny. That Niland lad had another great game. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 07/04/2023 18:24:42    2469460

Another handy win for the minors down in Nowlan Park this evening. Didn't really get going in the first half or else they could have won by 20+ points. Niland as usual a pleasure to watch with 1-13. Jason Rabbitte excellent but of course he didn't lick it off the ground either. Gearoid King probably the pick of the back line but they are all very strong. Still a few of the main lads to come back in like Killeen, Counihan and Fallon who haven't seen any action yet with injury. Straight into the semi final now. It will take an exceptional team to beat them.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 07/04/2023 18:28:37    2469462

Replying To CillTormoir:  "There's the national u16 competition starting up May 20th will be Galways first game in it. U17 All Ireland is down for July 2nd. For the sake of the competition I don't think it's fair to let one county pull in a few u17s to play the remaining u16 games when knocked out, when the like of Clare, Dublin for example (who are in same group) might not have same quality and we run away with competition or vice versa. keep the u16 competition as outlined from start and no additional players later on and let those lads at it. IMO the training alone those u16s on minor squad are getting compared to those onu16 development squads outweighs joes mention of '5 minutes game time'"
Yeah but in that case you'd make the same argument to retain the 'seniors can't play U20' rule, and they weren't long getting rid of that, because it was a nonsense, how is this any different?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 07/04/2023 19:59:07    2469477

Why were the Galway minors wearing gold/yellow coloured shirts against Kilkenny the other day, instead of the usual maroon ones?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 09/04/2023 08:47:39    2469670

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why were the Galway minors wearing gold/yellow coloured shirts against Kilkenny the other day, instead of the usual maroon ones?"
Ha ha. I listened to it online on Clubber so I didn't see that. That's a great question. Maybe I would understand if they were playing against Westmeath as the colors would clash but against KK?!? Strange.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 09/04/2023 12:32:35    2469738

I'll be expecting Galway to sail through Leinster and straight through to the All Ireland Semi Finals........Dublin, Wexford and Kilkenny are woeful!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 09/04/2023 16:22:19    2469811

Replying To katser:  "I'll be expecting Galway to sail through Leinster and straight through to the All Ireland Semi Finals........Dublin, Wexford and Kilkenny are woeful!!!"
Jaysus don't jinx us please….nothing is ever easy for Galway! Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 09/04/2023 17:39:29    2469827

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Yeah but in that case you'd make the same argument to retain the 'seniors can't play U20' rule, and they weren't long getting rid of that, because it was a nonsense, how is this any different?"
I think development of a 15 year old is more on the agenda that letting u20s play both, I don't see the comparison you speak of.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 10/04/2023 11:26:18    2469974

Replying To katser:  "I'll be expecting Galway to sail through Leinster and straight through to the All Ireland Semi Finals........Dublin, Wexford and Kilkenny are woeful!!!"
Everything will go exactly as you expect, as usual. No stopping Galway. They have just to show up and collect the cup, as you say!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 10/04/2023 13:55:21    2470009

Replying To Trump2020:  "Jaysus don't jinx us please….nothing is ever easy for Galway! Galway Abu!"
Roll on the Championship....feel very confident about Galway this year!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 10/04/2023 15:11:46    2470038

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why were the Galway minors wearing gold/yellow coloured shirts against Kilkenny the other day, instead of the usual maroon ones?"
Wow, were they really? I was at the game and I didnt notice that .....if I was asked to recall the colour of their jerseys after the game I'd have said mainly white with maroon.i must be colour-blind!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 10/04/2023 22:05:18    2470105

Replying To katser:  "Roll on the Championship....feel very confident about Galway this year!"
That was another good bet of yours: Galway to be leading at 6 at half time in Birr and Dublin to win by 2.

I took your advice and had three monkeys on at 125/1 :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 11/04/2023 08:15:40    2470115

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Everything will go exactly as you expect, as usual. No stopping Galway. They have just to show up and collect the cup, as you say!"
Fair play to you youngeen but after seeing the awesome Limerick last Sunday ye don't even have to show up to collect it - ye have it already! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 11/04/2023 09:21:37    2470129

Replying To tommy k:  "Fair play to you youngeen but after seeing the awesome Limerick last Sunday ye don't even have to show up to collect it - ye have it already! lol"
Well looking at Katser's post above he thinks it's Galways year too

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 11/04/2023 10:44:21    2470159

Replying To CillTormoir:  "I think development of a 15 year old is more on the agenda that letting u20s play both, I don't see the comparison you speak of."
It's the same difference though. You either have the rule in place for both or for neither.

Why does one have to be 'more on the agenda' than the other, that doesn't make any sense. Surely the 'development of a 15 year old' would be aided by being allowed to play minor and U16 in the same year, not hindered?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 11/04/2023 12:35:36    2470222