Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Realistically it's impossible to predict, I don't really see mayo winning it but that's just gut instinct, two epic semi finals, mayo have had a longer lay off which isn't ideal but tyrone squad was hit by covid last month which going by some of the posters on here means that by right they shouldn't even be able to train.
Ulster teams generally have that bit more steel about them when it comes to the big occasions compared to their more historically pampered southern cousins, I expect them to bring their A game while I wouldn't be shocked if mayo have an off day.

I'll go with tyrone.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 08/09/2021 21:51:45    2378917

Replying To TYE08:  "Hardly. Nothing controversial about it The ref blew it up before he entered the box, the commentators even said so. Happened in the 24 min. You can see deegan having his arm in the arm to signal the free

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VPfo27aYL0Q"
Not with you there Tye. The mistake by Deegan in not allowing an advantage denied Freeman the goal he got or at the very least that chance if you want to say that the Tyrone defenders stopped playing. From the Cusack stand it looked perfectly good and was a break that went against Mayo. Mayo won by 6 anyway, so we're really debating about the margin, whether 3, 6 or 9.

How do you think it'll go on Saturday? Personally I think Tyrone have a lot of momentum coming into the final with the perfect two week interval from the semi-final. This is going to give ye a 3 point start over Mayo and our lads have been slow starters the last two games anyway. Mayo will perform, but hopefully not after too much damage is done. We don't want a repeat of the final of 2012 where Mayo played well enough but couldn't shake Donegal from their comfort zone.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/09/2021 21:53:47    2378918

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Delighted one of these will win. Both serial losers the past few years so one of them deserves their day in the Sun."
Haven't there been 31 serial losers the past few years?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 08/09/2021 21:54:55    2378920

Mayo - - - 1 - 14

Tyrone - - - 2 - 11

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 08/09/2021 22:03:38    2378924

Tyrone 2-12 Mayo 1-14

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/09/2021 22:10:41    2378929

Mayo are 4/6 in the outright betting with PP, think I'll have a few bob on them and then I'll be happy whatever the result. A Lot depends on whether big O'Shea starts and where they play him if he does,
I suppose I'd be surprised if Horan doesn't play him, leave him out and Mayo have a real chance, if he plays he'll bog down Mayo's attack. Speed is the key nowadays, the days of cart horses are gone.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/09/2021 22:23:27    2378933

Replying To MayoDan:  "Haven't there been 31 serial losers the past few years?"
For sure but only 30 after next weekend!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 09/09/2021 07:35:11    2378955

Very hard to call but the head tells me Tyrone. I think maybe stylistically Mayo's running style will play into their hands. As we saw with Kerry if you run down the middle of that Tyrone defence you'll get swallowed up. I can't see McCurry being shutout again either and I think with McShane getting fitter and young Canavan to come off the bench Tyrone will have enough scoring power.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 09/09/2021 09:27:05    2378968

Replying To Pericles:  "Not with you there Tye. The mistake by Deegan in not allowing an advantage denied Freeman the goal he got or at the very least that chance if you want to say that the Tyrone defenders stopped playing. From the Cusack stand it looked perfectly good and was a break that went against Mayo. Mayo won by 6 anyway, so we're really debating about the margin, whether 3, 6 or 9.

How do you think it'll go on Saturday? Personally I think Tyrone have a lot of momentum coming into the final with the perfect two week interval from the semi-final. This is going to give ye a 3 point start over Mayo and our lads have been slow starters the last two games anyway. Mayo will perform, but hopefully not after too much damage is done. We don't want a repeat of the final of 2012 where Mayo played well enough but couldn't shake Donegal from their comfort zone."
Really hard to call. Think it could go either way. I would say it will come down to which ever team makes the least mistakes.

Against monghan and Kerry tyrone made mistakes which thankfully did not cost them too much. They seemed to sit back when they got on top which ymthry cannot afford to do especially against mayo. If you are on top you must mmpush forward and put the team away.

Against Galway and Dublin mayo had poor first half's. Dublin should have been out of sight at the first half but once they got a few points in front them seemed happy to pass the ball about, luckily for mayo.

It will come down to taking any goal chance which may arise and shot selection.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 09/09/2021 10:05:35    2378976

Replying To Pericles:  "If you're referring to Donegal in 2014 Ulsterman, my recollection is that the game unfolded exactly as Donegal wanted and was there for them until the kickout error. That gaff gift wrapped the title for The Kingdom and Kerry even got another bit of luck near the end when a McFadden goal effort hit the post. So Donegal did show up but the Gods of football had Kerry jerseys on that day and that year generally.

Speaking of Gods, we're apparently putting our faith in the cast of some Aussie soap... not sure what sort of influence they might have? Time will tell. Tyrone have no one.... no friends, wouldn't fit in with the siege mentality:)"
You're being generous to us there Pericles, I'd agree we weren't far away that day but we definitely didn't perform anywhere near the levels we could hit at that time... however as you say the key moments swung Kerry's way on the day, that's just how it goes sometimes (on top of the moments you mention, young Jigger O'Connor had a big goal chance in the first half that was inches away).

I change my mind every couple of hours about who will win on Saturday. I am leaning towards Tyrone but then I think, sure wouldn't the Mayo defence be well able for Tyrone's scoring power. But then is Mayo's running game something that Tyrone will welcome? It's hard to know. I do come back to Cillian being out, I think Mayo have been brilliant this year without him but he is one of the top forwards in the country, surely his absence will be felt at some point and I wonder whether it will be this weekend, especially with frees.

It may sound cynical but I wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone intentionally foul around the 30/35 metre mark early on and see how the free taker for Mayo gets on. One that wouldn't be far out enough to bring Hennelly up. Tbh it's something I'd want Donegal to do if we were there on Saturday.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/09/2021 10:44:22    2378991

Very hard to call this, i keep swinging in different directions but based on all known evidence im predicting...

Mayo 0-15
Tyrone 0-13

Mayo to come through a slugfest with a last quarter power surge, i dont think there will be any goals with defences on top and shootout between the goalkeepers ensuing. A lot of matchups cancelling each other out with the lesser lights standing up as star performers.
MOTM to be one of those hard running defenders Mayo specialise in, im going to say Paddy Durcan (who doesnt get half enough credit)

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 09/09/2021 11:00:33    2378997

Strange vibe this close to the big day. The pandemic doesn't help. The fact that the pairing was not predicted by many also plays a part. But I for one can't wait. There are so many what ifs. I just hope both teams do themselves credit and we get a classic. Either that or Croke Park is hit by a meteor just before kick off, leaving Kerry to duke it out with Dublin.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 09/09/2021 11:07:34    2379001

Replying To TYE08:  "Really hard to call. Think it could go either way. I would say it will come down to which ever team makes the least mistakes.

Against monghan and Kerry tyrone made mistakes which thankfully did not cost them too much. They seemed to sit back when they got on top which ymthry cannot afford to do especially against mayo. If you are on top you must mmpush forward and put the team away.

Against Galway and Dublin mayo had poor first half's. Dublin should have been out of sight at the first half but once they got a few points in front them seemed happy to pass the ball about, luckily for mayo.

It will come down to taking any goal chance which may arise and shot selection."
Your right about mistakes, don't know how many times against Kerry I said, feck they got away with that. Cut out silly mistakes and I think they'll win. Also can Mayo reproduce the long range points they scored against Dublin, great points but when shots start going wide the pressure builds.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 09/09/2021 11:40:19    2379018

Replying To JoeSoap:  "You're being generous to us there Pericles, I'd agree we weren't far away that day but we definitely didn't perform anywhere near the levels we could hit at that time... however as you say the key moments swung Kerry's way on the day, that's just how it goes sometimes (on top of the moments you mention, young Jigger O'Connor had a big goal chance in the first half that was inches away).

I change my mind every couple of hours about who will win on Saturday. I am leaning towards Tyrone but then I think, sure wouldn't the Mayo defence be well able for Tyrone's scoring power. But then is Mayo's running game something that Tyrone will welcome? It's hard to know. I do come back to Cillian being out, I think Mayo have been brilliant this year without him but he is one of the top forwards in the country, surely his absence will be felt at some point and I wonder whether it will be this weekend, especially with frees.

It may sound cynical but I wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone intentionally foul around the 30/35 metre mark early on and see how the free taker for Mayo gets on. One that wouldn't be far out enough to bring Hennelly up. Tbh it's something I'd want Donegal to do if we were there on Saturday."
30/35 metres, I'd wouldn't like Tyrone to be giving up tap overs like that. Mayo will score them all day long.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 09/09/2021 11:47:47    2379020

Just caught up on this thread. Think some people are off their head if they think O'Shea won't start. Sure he wasn't great against Dublin, but we've often seen him raise things after a poor game, and come on, it's the All Ireland final here. He was taken off due to the tactics needed against Dublin at that time, but his skills will be very much in use against Tyrone. He'll start.

And my 2 cents on the game. I just can't see past Mayo. On many levels. They've literally just beaten the best team of all time, and so many here don't fancy them? Tyrone were outscored by what many are calling a poor Kerry team (who were biggest up based on not very much at all) who had no defence and 2 forwards, but Tyrone got over the line with goals at important times. I cannot see this Mayo team giving them those opportunities, and then not getting enough scores themselves. What worked for Tyrone against Kerry will not work very well against Mayo unless they have something else up their sleeve. No doubt it'll be tight, and Tyrone love a chip, a dogfight, and everyone against them, but what Mayo have should temper more than what Tyrone will bring.

I usually cheer for my Ulster brethren (despite what I've just said above), but also wouldn't begrudge Mayo winning, so win-win for myself as a neutral in Saturday. Just think if things play out as you'd expect with the talent and potential on either side, then Mayo will win this. And best of luck to them if they finally do, they'll deserve it.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 09/09/2021 12:31:23    2379035

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Very hard to call this, i keep swinging in different directions but based on all known evidence im predicting...

Mayo 0-15
Tyrone 0-13

Mayo to come through a slugfest with a last quarter power surge, i dont think there will be any goals with defences on top and shootout between the goalkeepers ensuing. A lot of matchups cancelling each other out with the lesser lights standing up as star performers.
MOTM to be one of those hard running defenders Mayo specialise in, im going to say Paddy Durcan (who doesnt get half enough credit)"
Looking at the scoreline predictions I wouldn't disagree with the general trend, 14 - 16 pts apiece or thereabouts.
However our friends the bookies (who don't know much) have the under/over at 37.5.
If the agg score is less you double your money (Well 10/11).
What are they or we missing? Both teams have a tendency to kick wides.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 09/09/2021 12:41:56    2379039

Closer it's getting to the final, I'm seeing a Tyrone victory.
I think their forward line will overcome the Mayo back line, and if the game is close and Darragh Canavan is introduced, I can definitely see a Tyrone win.

I hope Mayo win though just for the pain of losing so many, and for the little Mayo lad who got his All Ireland ticket from his Uncle's chip bag yesterday.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 09/09/2021 12:48:39    2379043

Replying To TYE08:  "Really hard to call. Think it could go either way. I would say it will come down to which ever team makes the least mistakes.

It will come down to taking any goal chance which may arise and shot selection."
Fully agree about the mistakes. I re-watched the Dublin/Mayo game back last week and it was riddled with them too. I think this is because teams are trying to play at a million miles an hour at full peak and some players are simply physically operating at the edge of their skills aptitude. They're all under serious pressure from super-fit markers too and find themselves rushing things and making passing, handling and other mistakes. I think we'll have the same again on Saturday, since both teams hound and harry. Definitely the team who gives least away will win.

I can suggest one difference Tyrone will have to cope with which will be different from the Kerry game. Kerry are a bit obsessed with 6 scoring forwards and they tried to leave at least D Clifford and sometimes a couple of others up. Each of the Mayo forwards will follow his marker right back to their own goal line if necessary, so there won't be the same potential for Tyrone to find an overlap as there was in the Kerry game. In ways the two teams will be looking to cancel one another out, which is why a tight game seems more likely than a big margin, but it's only when the match-ups face eachother that any cracks will appear. A couple of man-for-man edges will make a huge difference to either team.

The nerves are beginning to kick in thinking about it!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 09/09/2021 14:12:12    2379073

50 hours to go, the nerves will be getting to a few fellas by now but wouldn't you love to be in their shoes, jealous of Tyrone bit wishing them all the best and that they do Ulster football proud,
I can't see Tyrone's kick outs being as bad as the last day, it's going to be hell for leather to the first water break, if Mayo get off to a stinker and concede goals early on as they have a habit of doing in finals then it could be a long road back for them because Tyrone's defence is excellent.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 09/09/2021 15:13:25    2379094

Replying To Byanthon:  "Prediction Tyrone 2-13 v Mayo 0-15. Tyrone have more goal power in McKenna, McCurry, McShane."
Mayo have had more goal power this year. Dublin and westmeath the only teams we didn't score 2 goals against.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 09/09/2021 15:13:37    2379095