Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Replying To yew_tree:  "Cillian watching the Ireland game tonight on tv as per his Instagram post…Mayo train Tuesday so that puts that mad rumour to bed. The Telegraph really is a joke at this stage."
Great detective work Columbo :)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/09/2021 12:23:23    2378747

Replying To essmac:  "It is true, isn't it, that Tyrone have never beaten Mayo in a championship match?"
Beat them in 2008 in Croke park by a point

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/09/2021 12:26:23    2378748

Replying To essmac:  "It is true, isn't it, that Tyrone have never beaten Mayo in a championship match?"
No. Tyrone beat Mayo in 2008 Championship.

But it's true to say we have usually been beaten by Mayo.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 08/09/2021 12:38:17    2378754

Replying To Pericles:  "Would it be mischievous to ask who these tools are who'll handle Aidan? On his day he's made no lesser defenders than the Donegal McGees look like a man against boys! That's the Aidan enigma... people say he can be handled and though he never played well against Philly and Johnny, on other days he's been completely unmarkable. I'm sure Tyrone will have plans but we all know what happens after the ball gets thrown in.

Fair play to Dooher and Logan btw, they've got the Tyrone team playing proper football and not just a system of football by numbers which Mickey, as great as he was, unfortunately clung to for too long. I won't be happy if Mayo lose on Saturday, but I'm sure whichever team wins will have played decent football to do it. That said I'll gladly take a win on any terms:)"
Don't get me wrong I think Aidan O Shea has been a fantastic servant for Mayo and carried them on his back many a time. When he went off against Dublin I thought Mayo went up a gear and blew Dublin away. The days of a big full forward causing havoc are rare ( Clifford the exception), if Aidan is played in midfield I think Tyrone will bottle him up and slow the game down which will suit Tyrone. I think his best position from a Mayo point of view might be at centre half back to block the Tyrone runners and contest Morgan's kickoits if Tyrone are forced to go long . Hoping that both teams put on a show . Knowing my luck O 'Shea will probably get " man of the match" lol.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 273 - 08/09/2021 12:39:21    2378755

No.
Read pericles response to my post on page 17 - Instead of wasting your time with the RTE version of events! ;-)

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 08/09/2021 12:45:30    2378758

Nah, ye beat us in the qualifiers by a point prior to winning the All-Ireland in 2008.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/09/2021 12:50:24    2378762

Tyrone beat Mayo in 2008. havent beaten them since in championship. I believe Mayo haven't lost to ulster opposition since Donegal 2012?

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 08/09/2021 13:38:14    2378776

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The pressure is ALL on Mayo. Tyrone have drank from the All Ireland well and have nothing to prove. It's a tough one to predict. Dublin should have buried Mayo in the first half in a 35 mins that showed the vulnerable side of the men from the West. Can Mayo do pressure? That's the big question. If Tyrone are within 2 or 3 of Mayo with 10/15 mins to go I would strongly fancy the Red Hand fellas. Mayo need a massive 45/50 mins. A lot of folk are strongly backing Mayo but beware!!! I remember a few years back when Donegal beat Dublin in the All Ireland semi final and simply didn't turn up against Kerry in the final. Have Mayo already played their final? It remains to be seen."
It's an all Ireland final ffs, pressure is never "ALL" on one team,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1696 - 08/09/2021 14:00:38    2378784

Since they lost to " Kerry" in 2014 Mayo have only been beaten by Dublin & Kildare in actual KO football. And the year Kildare beat them they themselves had just been beaten by Carlow - props to Carlow. So what does all this mean - 'tifino.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 08/09/2021 14:02:58    2378785

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Tyrone beat Mayo in 2008. havent beaten them since in championship. I believe Mayo haven't lost to ulster opposition since Donegal 2012?"
Yeah, that sounds right. Think since then we've beaten Donegal, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh and Down in the championship. Have only played Monaghan and Cavan in the league (think Cavan might have beaten us in the NFL down in McHale Park one year?)

I can't ever remember Mayo playing Antrim at senior level. Although we played Kilkenny away in the league at one point in the early 90s!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/09/2021 14:12:32    2378796

Think Tyrone win it by a point or 2

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 08/09/2021 14:18:06    2378802

Tyrone have beaten Mayo in 2001 under 21 final and in the minor final of 2008 after reply.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 08/09/2021 14:46:50    2378808

Replying To TYE08:  "Met 5 times I think. Mayo won 4 while tyrone won 1. Tyrone won during the 00s. The more recent games in 2013 and 2016 were closer than people think. Mayo got a right few favourable calls in those 2 games including a tackle outside the box which was given as a penalty in 2013."
2013: Alan Freeman scored a perfectly good goal which was disallowed in favour of giving Mayo a free in (which was missed), so even breaks there.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/09/2021 16:02:54    2378830

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".
Since they lost to " Kerry" in 2014 Mayo have only been beaten by Dublin & Kildare in actual KO football. And the year Kildare beat them they themselves had just been beaten by Carlow - props to Carlow. So what does all this mean - 'tifino."
The last time mayo lost in a championship game in crew park to a team other than Dublin was 2012

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 08/09/2021 16:14:27    2378832

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The pressure is ALL on Mayo. Tyrone have drank from the All Ireland well and have nothing to prove. It's a tough one to predict. Dublin should have buried Mayo in the first half in a 35 mins that showed the vulnerable side of the men from the West. Can Mayo do pressure? That's the big question. If Tyrone are within 2 or 3 of Mayo with 10/15 mins to go I would strongly fancy the Red Hand fellas. Mayo need a massive 45/50 mins. A lot of folk are strongly backing Mayo but beware!!! I remember a few years back when Donegal beat Dublin in the All Ireland semi final and simply didn't turn up against Kerry in the final. Have Mayo already played their final? It remains to be seen."
If you're referring to Donegal in 2014 Ulsterman, my recollection is that the game unfolded exactly as Donegal wanted and was there for them until the kickout error. That gaff gift wrapped the title for The Kingdom and Kerry even got another bit of luck near the end when a McFadden goal effort hit the post. So Donegal did show up but the Gods of football had Kerry jerseys on that day and that year generally.

Speaking of Gods, we're apparently putting our faith in the cast of some Aussie soap... not sure what sort of influence they might have? Time will tell. Tyrone have no one.... no friends, wouldn't fit in with the siege mentality:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/09/2021 17:26:25    2378847

Think its anyones game. Cant wait!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11698 - 08/09/2021 17:55:42    2378855

Replying To Pericles:  "2013: Alan Freeman scored a perfectly good goal which was disallowed in favour of giving Mayo a free in (which was missed), so even breaks there."
Hardly. Nothing controversial about it The ref blew it up before he entered the box, the commentators even said so. Happened in the 24 min. You can see deegan having his arm in the arm to signal the free

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VPfo27aYL0Q

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 08/09/2021 19:29:39    2378877

Prediction: Mayo 0-17 Tyrone 0-14

Feel Mayo will finally get over the line and end the pain. Don't buy the line about all the pressure being on Mayo, this Tyrone team don't have All Ireland medals in the bag either. In that regard this really will be hard fought and frantic at times. I just feel Mayo are further down the line on their journey and ready to be champions.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 08/09/2021 20:28:36    2378886

Delighted one of these will win. Both serial losers the past few years so one of them deserves their day in the Sun.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1135 - 08/09/2021 21:20:08    2378907

Prediction Tyrone 2-13 v Mayo 0-15. Tyrone have more goal power in McKenna, McCurry, McShane.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 08/09/2021 21:42:50    2378912