Question For Mayo Fans

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "Having a quick look through the comments on this thread and its noticeable how horrible some posters are on the subject of Aidan O Shea. I mean whats the problem? Anytime I watch him play,I see him put in a honest shift even if it doesnt always work out ,and you could'nt classify him as being dirty or sneaky, yet any amount of people both here and that I talk to in general cant wait to lay into him . I remember asking a workmate of his,who is from Galway, a few years ago about this and he couldnt understand it either.He told me he was a quiet ,all round sound fella ,who showed up to work in the morning and went training in the evening ,and rightly or wrongly thats the impression I've had of him ever since.
To be fair I would have good time for Mayo people in general, friendly and hospitable if ever your down there, and many of them that move to Galway and I'm sure elsewhere as well,are quick to get involved with their local clubs and help out, even if they do get a hard time now and again"
I think it's more the media and maybe some mayo fans(some, not all) make him out to be an awful lot better then he is, darragh maloney kept asking if we'd see him again after being took off on Saturday..did he not see how he played? Why would he be brought back on! He's an average enough player no need to go on about him like he's special..

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 15/08/2021 21:17:25    2371706

Replying To Mayfair:  ""But he lacks the pace now to play out the field and his shooting is not good enough for in front of the posts" - seriously, how he is going to be an impact coming off the bench? What role do you see him playing as a sub?"
Stick a straw hat on him and he could be a water boy.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/08/2021 21:36:01    2371715

Replying To Mayfair:  ""But he lacks the pace now to play out the field and his shooting is not good enough for in front of the posts" - seriously, how he is going to be an impact coming off the bench? What role do you see him playing as a sub?"
If we need a goal in the closing stages he will draw in more than opposition defender. Even playing badly yesterday he won a fair amount of ball close to goal.

By criticizing his shooting I meant specifically for points, he has gotten goals for us in the past.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/08/2021 21:41:30    2371718

He no longer has the legs for the full 70 minutes but I think he could have a major impact if brought on as a sub for the last 20 minutes or so. He did not play well yesterday and deserved to be taken off but he has been the subject of a huge amount of undeserved and mean-spirited criticism over the years. I don't think he should start the final but he probably will.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 15/08/2021 23:35:19    2371779

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Would sentimentally prefer Mayo to win.

Be hard to want anything good for some of the ones sitting in lower Davin I'm afraid.

No wonder it's hard to like the team on the pitch."
A few bad eggs no doubt.
I have had to endure many of these matches v Dublin. Sometimes ye have good craic, sometimes you sit near a pack of ****holes. They are in every county.

A lot of hurt built up in Mayo which can overflow when Mayo pull out a match they looked like losing, especially when Dublin lose their discipline and get away with it.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1108 - 16/08/2021 07:54:59    2371815

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Think that's what turned me off Mayo, some of their fans and then the hype and bs around the likes of Aidan O'Shea, etc. celebrity losers Brolly labelled them, he wasn't too far wrong either.
Some say it's all the bad defeats down the years but I don't know some of them are as thick as that Mayo Mick fella that they had to drag of the Gaelic grounds in Limerick."
I was in the big tree after the 2012 final. The Donegal fans in there that day were the worst winners I ever encountered.
That being said, I work with 100's if Donegal people and they are all 100%.
Only a foolish man would judge an entire county based on the behaviour of a few boozed up people at a GAA match

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1108 - 16/08/2021 07:59:09    2371816

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I was in the big tree after the 2012 final. The Donegal fans in there that day were the worst winners I ever encountered.
That being said, I work with 100's if Donegal people and they are all 100%.
Only a foolish man would judge an entire county based on the behaviour of a few boozed up people at a GAA match"
Indeed, I encountered a few leibides from the Hills also that day. To be fair, I also attended that final with a Donegal man and his family, all of whom were gentlemen.

Every county has its gombeens.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2021 20:38:44    2372859

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Brolly has Mayo connections and loves the attention. I honestly think he's jealous of the media adulation that modern athletes get. Look at me I'm Joe Brolee! No doubt if Aidan was 5 foot 6 and a butty ugly corner back there'd be less people bothered by the attention he gets. No more than any Mayo player he hasn't a Celtic cross yet. He's not at the Cavanagh, Murphy, or Donaghy level, never has been been but he's a sound man and one of our own so we'll always stick up for him. He' s not an intercounty forward for me but luckily the sideline made a good call. Put him back between the 40s and throw him up front the odd time. But the man will run until he falls down for the jersey. I wouldn't stick up for anyone that's abusive at a match, whether they're from Mayo or Malaysia. Especially bucks with a few pints on board that think they're hilarious when there's a crowd around. They need to cop on to themselves or be asked to leave."
Joe Brolly is a mouth piece, who along with Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourke, lacks a proper understanding of the tactical side of the modern game. I prefer watching matches on Sky Sports or BBC NI, because usually they actually analyze the game in an unbiased manner and focus on where it is tactically going wrong. On RTE Sport they rarely just focus on the game tactically, it turns into a "Whats wrong with the game or the GAA rules".

Regarding Aidan O'Shea, I disagree with you on that he is not at Cavanagh, Murphy or Donaghy level, he was never a natural insider forward, although he could still do serious damage when placed there, at his natural berth out the field he rivals many of his peers who hold a Celtic Cross. Personally I hold him in high regard, like many of the other Mayo players.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1112 - 19/08/2021 09:53:53    2372942

For me he is more likely to start than not. He has plenty credit in the bank but it will depend on his attitude in the next few weeks. Horan picks on form, always has.. Being subbed might actually be a blessing in disguise for O Shea and for Mayo going into the final

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 19/08/2021 10:49:02    2372964

Replying To Commodore:  "Joe Brolly is a mouth piece, who along with Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourke, lacks a proper understanding of the tactical side of the modern game. I prefer watching matches on Sky Sports or BBC NI, because usually they actually analyze the game in an unbiased manner and focus on where it is tactically going wrong. On RTE Sport they rarely just focus on the game tactically, it turns into a "Whats wrong with the game or the GAA rules".

Regarding Aidan O'Shea, I disagree with you on that he is not at Cavanagh, Murphy or Donaghy level, he was never a natural insider forward, although he could still do serious damage when placed there, at his natural berth out the field he rivals many of his peers who hold a Celtic Cross. Personally I hold him in high regard, like many of the other Mayo players."
I would kinda worry though that Aido has lost a yard of pace and that has not been lost on opposition managers. Certainly, he got burned for pace by J McCarthy for the goal at the start of last year's All-Ireland and it also happened in the Galway match where he started centre-field, until he was moved to full-forward, where he actually played quite well.

The tactic of bringing him in for the throw-ins has been neutralised also, as often an opposition midfielder steps across him, and the refs are usually following the ball in the air and miss it.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2021 11:03:12    2372968

I think he just about squeezes into the starting team for the final, i reckon 14 of the starters are nailed on and its probably one of McHale/AOS/Carr who will get that final spot,in which case AOS will probably get the nod.

He really was awful on saturday, the transformation when he went off was like night and day. I know everyone has the occasional off day but there are dozens of examples now of him not doing the business against the top 4-5 teams in big games. Its definitely a trend for a number of years now

Seems like there are always excuses made for him too,"they dont know his best position","the ball into him is bad etc". Cant use that excuse after saturday as the whole gameplan was built around him in first half with loads of ball going into him. The occasional winning of a throw in or turnover really arent enough when you look at what newbies like ryan o'donoghue and conroy are contributing (tackles, turnovers, scores, speed)

I think he will start the final and actually should do ok against Jason Foley who is a major weak link in that kerry backline but will be interesting to see what they do with him next season with cillian o'connor back in the team, i dont think horan will play both together as he seems to be favouring sheer pace above all else at the minute. Both lads slow it down far too much

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 19/08/2021 11:15:33    2372975

I would have Darren Coen in ahead of Carr or McHale. Very underrated player who can kick from distance and did score a massive point v Dublin to our us two up. Very much a confidence player.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 19/08/2021 11:38:32    2372991

Replying To yew_tree:  "I would have Darren Coen in ahead of Carr or McHale. Very underrated player who can kick from distance and did score a massive point v Dublin to our us two up. Very much a confidence player."
So would i but i dont think Horan sees it that way at all, his accuracy is unreal and would be a nice counterbalance to the all action approach from Conroy/ROD.
As you say though, he blows hot and cold, he definitely needs the first shot to go over if he is to have a good day.

Seems like a throwback forward from the 90s or 00s where the primary job of the inside forward was just scoring and finishing

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 19/08/2021 11:58:27    2373002

Replying To yew_tree:  "I would have Darren Coen in ahead of Carr or McHale. Very underrated player who can kick from distance and did score a massive point v Dublin to our us two up. Very much a confidence player."
He does also lack a bit of pace though Yew Tree. D Coen is one for later in the game when opposition defences get a bit stretched IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2021 15:32:51    2373110

Replying To Bon:  "Careful now, I was saying something similar here a few weeks ago and got attacked from all angles.."
Nope, you claimed that Dublin had bet everyone up a stick for the last 6 years , while joining in the braying form the usual suspects (as you did just now). And when a bunch of posters put you back in your box on that nonsense you backed & admitted that you were upset about people thinking Mayo might give the Dubs a game. And off we go again ;-)

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 19/08/2021 16:04:48    2373122

Replying To Gleebo:  "He does also lack a bit of pace though Yew Tree. D Coen is one for later in the game when opposition defences get a bit stretched IMO."
I don't disagree and Horan favours work rate and running but Conor O Se (while he did force the 45) is not a better option than Coen from the bench when you need a scorer. Scoring Forwards win finals in those clutch moments.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 19/08/2021 17:47:21    2373156

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".
Nope, you claimed that Dublin had bet everyone up a stick for the last 6 years , while joining in the braying form the usual suspects (as you did just now). And when a bunch of posters put you back in your box on that nonsense you backed & admitted that you were upset about people thinking Mayo might give the Dubs a game. And off we go again ;-)"
Ah yes, que exactly what I was talking about ;)

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 19/08/2021 20:44:28    2373196

Replying To HuddHastings:  "I think he just about squeezes into the starting team for the final, i reckon 14 of the starters are nailed on and its probably one of McHale/AOS/Carr who will get that final spot,in which case AOS will probably get the nod.

He really was awful on saturday, the transformation when he went off was like night and day. I know everyone has the occasional off day but there are dozens of examples now of him not doing the business against the top 4-5 teams in big games. Its definitely a trend for a number of years now

Seems like there are always excuses made for him too,"they dont know his best position","the ball into him is bad etc". Cant use that excuse after saturday as the whole gameplan was built around him in first half with loads of ball going into him. The occasional winning of a throw in or turnover really arent enough when you look at what newbies like ryan o'donoghue and conroy are contributing (tackles, turnovers, scores, speed)

I think he will start the final and actually should do ok against Jason Foley who is a major weak link in that kerry backline but will be interesting to see what they do with him next season with cillian o'connor back in the team, i dont think horan will play both together as he seems to be favouring sheer pace above all else at the minute. Both lads slow it down far too much"
There are several questions on the mayo starting line up for the final. I wouldnt say their are 14 nailed on starters.

Keegan, o Hora, Mulin, durcan and coen will all start in the backline. But there is a question over weather Brendan Harrison, Jordan Flynn, enda hession or Plunkett start as the last back.

In the forwards kevin mcghloughlin, O connor, o'donoghue, and conroy will all start. But the other 2 are question marks.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 19/08/2021 21:02:20    2373203

Replying To HuddHastings:  "I think he just about squeezes into the starting team for the final, i reckon 14 of the starters are nailed on and its probably one of McHale/AOS/Carr who will get that final spot,in which case AOS will probably get the nod.

I think he will start the final and actually should do ok against Jason Foley who is a major weak link in that kerry backline but will be interesting to see what they do with him next season with cillian o'connor back in the team, i dont think horan will play both together as he seems to be favouring sheer pace above all else at the minute. Both lads slow it down far too much"
What do you mean O'Shea doesn't do it against the top 4-5 teams in big games? He is man of the match almost every time we play Donegal. Has a good record against Kerry and Tyrone too.

O'Shea will definitely start the final. Darren McHale probably won't after his early substitution last Saturday and Horan won't want to make too many changes. We've already lost one starter (McLaughlin) to injury.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 19/08/2021 22:09:38    2373218

Replying To yew_tree:  "Play him full back. I'm only a fan but I want us to run over Kerry with no mercy....F@uk them. The Dublin win is only a stepping stone..this is our year and fu@k anyone in our way...get out of our way...I'm fed up of runners up...I want us to kill Kerry...."
Stay off the Jamaican woodbine's man....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 19/08/2021 23:44:43    2373231