Question For Mayo Fans

Never understood the hype around him. Poor form coming on the field to join in the Dubs melee.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 15/08/2021 10:28:56    2371372

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "If Tyrone don't field I give Mayo a squeak in the Final… but if there is a game and Kerry progress they will have no bother beating this Mayo team in the Final…. I would be saying the same if Dublin had won as well…. Kerry are at the moment a long way ahead of the rest…. And by the way I hope Mayo win"
We've as good a chance at beating Kerry in the final, if they get there, as we had of beating Dublin finishing the first half yesterday.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 15/08/2021 10:30:17    2371374

Replying To yew_tree:  "Play him full back. I'm only a fan but I want us to run over Kerry with no mercy....F@uk them. The Dublin win is only a stepping stone..this is our year and fu@k anyone in our way...get out of our way...I'm fed up of runners up...I want us to kill Kerry...."
You're not the only one let me assure you!! :)

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 15/08/2021 11:42:39    2371412

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Would sentimentally prefer Mayo to win.

Be hard to want anything good for some of the ones sitting in lower Davin I'm afraid.

No wonder it's hard to like the team on the pitch."
Think that's what turned me off Mayo, some of their fans and then the hype and bs around the likes of Aidan O'Shea, etc. celebrity losers Brolly labelled them, he wasn't too far wrong either.
Some say it's all the bad defeats down the years but I don't know some of them are as thick as that Mayo Mick fella that they had to drag of the Gaelic grounds in Limerick.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 15/08/2021 11:52:00    2371416

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Think that's what turned me off Mayo, some of their fans and then the hype and bs around the likes of Aidan O'Shea, etc. celebrity losers Brolly labelled them, he wasn't too far wrong either.
Some say it's all the bad defeats down the years but I don't know some of them are as thick as that Mayo Mick fella that they had to drag of the Gaelic grounds in Limerick."
Brolly has Mayo connections and loves the attention. I honestly think he's jealous of the media adulation that modern athletes get. Look at me I'm Joe Brolee! No doubt if Aidan was 5 foot 6 and a butty ugly corner back there'd be less people bothered by the attention he gets. No more than any Mayo player he hasn't a Celtic cross yet. He's not at the Cavanagh, Murphy, or Donaghy level, never has been been but he's a sound man and one of our own so we'll always stick up for him. He' s not an intercounty forward for me but luckily the sideline made a good call. Put him back between the 40s and throw him up front the odd time. But the man will run until he falls down for the jersey. I wouldn't stick up for anyone that's abusive at a match, whether they're from Mayo or Malaysia. Especially bucks with a few pints on board that think they're hilarious when there's a crowd around. They need to cop on to themselves or be asked to leave.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 15/08/2021 12:28:38    2371441

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Think that's what turned me off Mayo, some of their fans and then the hype and bs around the likes of Aidan O'Shea, etc. celebrity losers Brolly labelled them, he wasn't too far wrong either.
Some say it's all the bad defeats down the years but I don't know some of them are as thick as that Mayo Mick fella that they had to drag of the Gaelic grounds in Limerick."
Brolly has Mayo connections and loves the attention. I honestly think he's jealous of the media adulation that modern athletes get. Look at me I'm Joe Brolee! No doubt if Aidan was 5 foot 6 and a butty ugly corner back there'd be less people bothered by the attention he gets. No more than any Mayo player he hasn't a Celtic cross yet. He's not at the Cavanagh, Murphy, or Donaghy level, never has been been but he's a sound man and one of our own so we'll always stick up for him. He' s not an intercounty forward for me but luckily the sideline made a good call. Put him back between the 40s and throw him up front the odd time. But the man will run until he falls down for the jersey. I wouldn't stick up for anyone that's abusive at a match, whether they're from Mayo or Malaysia. Especially bucks with a few pints on board that think they're hilarious when there's a crowd around. They need to cop on to themselves or be asked to leave.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 15/08/2021 12:40:52    2371451

Replying To realdub:  "Not a Mayo.man I know but I would not play him, against a good team like Kerry.

there are better footballers than him there

Just bring that desire and you never know."
Horses for courses. I would play Aidan. He never seems to play well v Dublin but always plays well v Kerry. (presuming Tyrone are gone)

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 15/08/2021 13:09:15    2371474

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Brolly has Mayo connections and loves the attention. I honestly think he's jealous of the media adulation that modern athletes get. Look at me I'm Joe Brolee! No doubt if Aidan was 5 foot 6 and a butty ugly corner back there'd be less people bothered by the attention he gets. No more than any Mayo player he hasn't a Celtic cross yet. He's not at the Cavanagh, Murphy, or Donaghy level, never has been been but he's a sound man and one of our own so we'll always stick up for him. He' s not an intercounty forward for me but luckily the sideline made a good call. Put him back between the 40s and throw him up front the odd time. But the man will run until he falls down for the jersey. I wouldn't stick up for anyone that's abusive at a match, whether they're from Mayo or Malaysia. Especially bucks with a few pints on board that think they're hilarious when there's a crowd around. They need to cop on to themselves or be asked to leave."
I have no time for Joseph Umbrella. He is a total spoofer. He lives up the North bit he seems to meet an awful lot of people down South when he's out walking his dogs. He just likes to associate himself with winners. He wrote terrible sh*t about Mayo players but watch if they win. He'll be fawning all over them.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/08/2021 13:33:19    2371491

He's struggled against the Dubs a lot…start him in the final

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 828 - 15/08/2021 14:13:25    2371509

Replying To avonali:  "I have no time for Joseph Umbrella. He is a total spoofer. He lives up the North bit he seems to meet an awful lot of people down South when he's out walking his dogs. He just likes to associate himself with winners. He wrote terrible sh*t about Mayo players but watch if they win. He'll be fawning all over them."
It's already started, alas. No doubt his knives will be out if we lose the final.

More fool the Mayo clubs that invited him to their fundraisers, a move I will never fathom.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/08/2021 14:17:12    2371511

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Brolly has Mayo connections and loves the attention. I honestly think he's jealous of the media adulation that modern athletes get. Look at me I'm Joe Brolee! No doubt if Aidan was 5 foot 6 and a butty ugly corner back there'd be less people bothered by the attention he gets. No more than any Mayo player he hasn't a Celtic cross yet. He's not at the Cavanagh, Murphy, or Donaghy level, never has been been but he's a sound man and one of our own so we'll always stick up for him. He' s not an intercounty forward for me but luckily the sideline made a good call. Put him back between the 40s and throw him up front the odd time. But the man will run until he falls down for the jersey. I wouldn't stick up for anyone that's abusive at a match, whether they're from Mayo or Malaysia. Especially bucks with a few pints on board that think they're hilarious when there's a crowd around. They need to cop on to themselves or be asked to leave."
The attention he gets? Or the attention he craves. Like encroaching onto the pitch after being subbed off to fight with Dublin players.

Still not sure how he got away with that. He should be banned from the final. And if he was that would be his own fault. Not a paranoid media campaign against him

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 15/08/2021 14:28:55    2371516

Replying To avonali:  "I have no time for Joseph Umbrella. He is a total spoofer. He lives up the North bit he seems to meet an awful lot of people down South when he's out walking his dogs. He just likes to associate himself with winners. He wrote terrible sh*t about Mayo players but watch if they win. He'll be fawning all over them."
Spot on Avon. He dines with the winners all the time and some of his jibes were totally out of order like his comments about Sean Cavanagh and Marty Morrissey a few years back.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 15/08/2021 14:36:48    2371519

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "The attention he gets? Or the attention he craves. Like encroaching onto the pitch after being subbed off to fight with Dublin players.

Still not sure how he got away with that. He should be banned from the final. And if he was that would be his own fault. Not a paranoid media campaign against him"
Bang in but it won't happen. Mayo would be making a mistake playing him in the final anyway. Horan has done a brilliant job building a new team regardless of they suffer another final loss.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/08/2021 17:01:39    2371591

Careful now, I was saying something similar here a few weeks ago and got attacked from all angles..

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 15/08/2021 18:32:42    2371622

Ah I've had bad days in the stands with some Mayo fans, the wet day in Castlebar for the super 8s was atrocious but I have to say that the good far outweighs the bad. All day in Castlebar the craic was mighty and only had positive experiences then on to Westport afterwards as well, a few eejits causing ructions at full time in McHale Park with too many pints in them, sure we all have those in amongst our fans unfortunately. I've had one or two run ins telling Donegal lads to hauld their whisht after big wins over Tyrone as well. It's a streak in plenty fans around the country unfortunately and I wouldn't hold it against any county no matter how bad my own experience might be.

I've a soft spot for Kerry, I always have had so I will be cheering them in the final, but I wouldn't begrudge any Mayo person winning Sam this year. They bring a lot to the championship every year.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 15/08/2021 18:41:53    2371628

Replying To Galway9801:  "I know it's early days but does AOS start the final?"
Injuries dictate he will, but doesn't have a mental block with other teams like he does with Dublin .

He lost the plot yesterday and owes himself and the team a big performance against the winners of the other semi.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/08/2021 19:09:07    2371643

Having a quick look through the comments on this thread and its noticeable how horrible some posters are on the subject of Aidan O Shea. I mean whats the problem? Anytime I watch him play,I see him put in a honest shift even if it doesnt always work out ,and you could'nt classify him as being dirty or sneaky, yet any amount of people both here and that I talk to in general cant wait to lay into him . I remember asking a workmate of his,who is from Galway, a few years ago about this and he couldnt understand it either.He told me he was a quiet ,all round sound fella ,who showed up to work in the morning and went training in the evening ,and rightly or wrongly thats the impression I've had of him ever since.
To be fair I would have good time for Mayo people in general, friendly and hospitable if ever your down there, and many of them that move to Galway and I'm sure elsewhere as well,are quick to get involved with their local clubs and help out, even if they do get a hard time now and again

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 15/08/2021 19:20:24    2371652

Thing with Aidan is that he's been a hugely influential player for Mayo over the years, certainly, we wouldn't have won some of those games during our long runs in the qualifiers. He offers a lot in terms of fielding ability, turnovers, laying ball off etc.

But he lacks the pace now to play out the field and his shooting is not good enough for in front of the posts. IMO the role for him may be that of an impact sub.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/08/2021 19:32:20    2371661

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "The attention he gets? Or the attention he craves. Like encroaching onto the pitch after being subbed off to fight with Dublin players.

Still not sure how he got away with that. He should be banned from the final. And if he was that would be his own fault. Not a paranoid media campaign against him"
Agreed it was a stupid thing to do but is there a rule for subs encroaching onto the field getting involved in a row that means he could be suspended?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 15/08/2021 20:17:30    2371681

Replying To Gleebo:  "Thing with Aidan is that he's been a hugely influential player for Mayo over the years, certainly, we wouldn't have won some of those games during our long runs in the qualifiers. He offers a lot in terms of fielding ability, turnovers, laying ball off etc.

But he lacks the pace now to play out the field and his shooting is not good enough for in front of the posts. IMO the role for him may be that of an impact sub."
"But he lacks the pace now to play out the field and his shooting is not good enough for in front of the posts" - seriously, how he is going to be an impact coming off the bench? What role do you see him playing as a sub?

Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 15/08/2021 20:48:43    2371696