Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care.

I really hope Tyrone followers don't embarrass themselves by bringing this banner to the Ulster final at the weekend.
It's hard to fathom the mentality behind it.
I believe Millwall soccer hooligans were the first one's to use it.
I can only surmise that the majority of Tyrone men and women like myself cringe when they see it at the matches.
I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties. If that's the case it's unfortunate. I hope it doesn't continue. As irish people we should be trying to distance ourselves from that type of attitude.
It doesn't belong at GAA games. Let the hooligans across the water use slogans like that but don't let it into our games and our culture. There's no place for it here.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 28/07/2021 20:03:59    2365248

Replying To thegadfly:  "I really hope Tyrone followers don't embarrass themselves by bringing this banner to the Ulster final at the weekend.
I can only surmise that the majority of Tyrone men and women like myself cringe when they see it at the matches.
I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties. If that's the case it's unfortunate. I hope it doesn't continue. As irish people we should be trying to distance ourselves from that type of attitude.
It doesn't belong at GAA games. Let the hooligans across the water use slogans like that but don't let it into our games and our culture. There's no place for it here."
Maybe the GAA could come up with a specified list of what you can and cannot say on banners for championship games. They should stop them singing certain songs, maybe eject anyone singing a Take That tune in preference to Westlife's songbook. But they'll probably think that people have enough to be worrying about these times, even if many seem to get offended by other people's business, that bothering about a banner is a complete waste of time.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 28/07/2021 21:01:39    2365267

Replying To thegadfly:  "I really hope Tyrone followers don't embarrass themselves by bringing this banner to the Ulster final at the weekend.
It doesn't belong at GAA games. Let the hooligans across the water use slogans like that but don't let it into our games and our culture. There's no place for it here."
Jesus but Cavan people are obsessed with Tyrone.

I have never seen so many Tyrone related threads or posts either being started by Cavan folk or regularly commented on by the Cavan clan.

Its flattering lads, but seriously, what is the obsession about?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 28/07/2021 21:09:26    2365275

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Maybe the GAA could come up with a specified list of what you can and cannot say on banners for championship games. They should stop them singing certain songs, maybe eject anyone singing a Take That tune in preference to Westlife's songbook. But they'll probably think that people have enough to be worrying about these times, even if many seem to get offended by other people's business, that bothering about a banner is a complete waste of time."
Agreed. It's not in any way offensive even in this PC age.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11852 - 28/07/2021 21:09:46    2365277

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Maybe the GAA could come up with a specified list of what you can and cannot say on banners for championship games. They should stop them singing certain songs, maybe eject anyone singing a Take That tune in preference to Westlife's songbook. But they'll probably think that people have enough to be worrying about these times, even if many seem to get offended by other people's business, that bothering about a banner is a complete waste of time."
I never mentioned anything about the GAA banning anything. I don't know where you got that from.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 28/07/2021 21:13:13    2365279

I don't think its the most offensive banner a person could bring to a game!
May be a little contradicting. If they don't care that nobody likes them then why feel the need to point say it?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/07/2021 21:13:31    2365280

Catch yourself on.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 28/07/2021 21:18:26    2365282

Maybe, maybe, it's a few Tyrone people taking the proverbial??? Humour deficit is rife among us.

(And I say that as someone who doesn't like them!! Only joking i only dislike them when they beat us :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 28/07/2021 21:21:33    2365283

Don't see the problem.

They are right.

Nobody likes them.

Comon Monaghan.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 28/07/2021 21:52:54    2365301

You're at it.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 28/07/2021 22:13:22    2365313

A pretty lame stupid banner, no surprise there though. I thought banners where banned from inside grounds? In this case on taste grounds alone should be enough.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/07/2021 22:32:11    2365316

"I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties"

Absolutely ridiculous and low attack on your fellow Irish and Ulster men and women. Imagine Cavan fans had some sort of a banner that I took exception to wondered aloud if it was because of Cavan's proximity to the border and by extension proximity to "British" influence. It would be equally as daft. You are flat out questioning the Irishness of Tyrone folk and folk from the rest of the 6, that they are in some way adopting British culture that the rest of us aren't. It's low, particularly coming from a GAA fan.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 28/07/2021 22:36:59    2365319

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Maybe, maybe, it's a few Tyrone people taking the proverbial??? Humour deficit is rife among us.

(And I say that as someone who doesn't like them!! Only joking i only dislike them when they beat us :-)"
Barney, I am over 70 and of course a perfect gentleman. However ever since I was little I have hated every shower of h***s that ever beat us- well at the time anyway. You are perfectly entitled to hate Tyrone any time they ever beat the Dubs.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 28/07/2021 23:00:17    2365327

When you're a winner in this country nobody likes you, when your down on your luck you'll have plenty of 'friends'
seems to be an Irish thing.
Cracker of a game to look forward to on Saturday, very hard to call but I think Tyrone will shade it. could be an extra time job, or does it go to a replay?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 28/07/2021 23:03:50    2365328

You may be reading too much into it ...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 29/07/2021 02:06:20    2365345

Replying To arock:  "A pretty lame stupid banner, no surprise there though. I thought banners where banned from inside grounds? In this case on taste grounds alone should be enough."
It could be worse I suppose, they could be doing soccer chants like some of the Dublin fans ;)

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 29/07/2021 06:37:54    2365349

Replying To DLlegends:  "Don't see the problem.

They are right.

Nobody likes them.

Comon Monaghan."
Do you want a sweet for that bitter taste in your mouth

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 29/07/2021 06:39:10    2365350

Is there anything left that doesn't offend somebody? If Tyrone lads want that on a banner good luck to them.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 29/07/2021 07:06:30    2365352

The banner is correct. I watched the 2005 final on eir last night and I dunno how you could like Tyrone after it. A disgusting style of football. Pretty effective all the same. Thankfully they seem to be moving away from that pulling dragging diving kicking cynicism, but it'll take a while for people to forget what they were about for nearly 20 years

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 29/07/2021 07:34:21    2365354

I think the OP is stirring the pot.

Purely on a personal level I dont particularly like banners, flags other than county flags, slogans, chants, acting the maggot etc. Im not into it. I agree it is a part of another sport. However we are living in changing times and in an ever increasing time of social change in Ireland, so I dont care if other people enjoy these things once nobody is getting hurt in the process. Not trying to be smart but perhaps the OP is just a bit stuck in the past and a bit set in their ways.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 29/07/2021 08:38:56    2365361