Kerry V Galway

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The whole point of it is if you miss a free to win you have another chance. If you miss a free to level it up you lose. Its basic common sense really. Ray Cosgrove will tell you. Cluxton said himself he did nt feel that pressurised as it was a free shot and if he missed the game Dubs still had another day. He said he might have felt different if he had to save a game."
Still think it depends on the context, if Cillian O' Connor had a free to win the title for Mayo, I don't believe the pressure would be less because a replay beckoned, different for Rock, a chance to win would be easier than an opportunity to equalise. As for Clucko, just watched him puffing out his cheeks as he placed the ball in 2011, no pressure, he's taking the p***.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 21/05/2021 16:10:55    2343957

Replying To sligo joe:  "Still think it depends on the context, if Cillian O' Connor had a free to win the title for Mayo, I don't believe the pressure would be less because a replay beckoned, different for Rock, a chance to win would be easier than an opportunity to equalise. As for Clucko, just watched him puffing out his cheeks as he placed the ball in 2011, no pressure, he's taking the p***."
Puffing out his cheeks
Sure he often did that for kickouts lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 21/05/2021 18:09:13    2343988

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Maurice fitzs sideline v dublin in Thurles 20 years ago (multiple username could look it up on YouTube) where Maurice first met the dublin welcoming party and then had Tom Carr roaring into his face while he was kicking the equaliser now that was pressure, I think it was voted the best score in football a few years back."
100% kingdomboy , unbelievable kick under the most extreme pressure ,broke my heart Maurice did that day
But driving home i said to the family , that equaliser was the best i had ever seen .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/05/2021 21:54:43    2344055

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Lads, can you please let this thread disappear down the page :) A separate O'Shea vs Clifford thread can be set up if ye feel very strongly about that debate. The game was painful enough, without having to be reminded of it every time I open the main forum!"
Just bumping her up for you lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 27/05/2021 18:25:54    2345968