NFL Div 2

Seems as all the other divisions have a thread why not ours ?? In the southern part it's hard to see past cork and Kildare getting to semifinals.
In nothern part I'd say mayo and Meath (we must hit the ground running) as we have two very tricky away games against Down and mayo , so a win against the exiled west is a must on Sunday.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2021 16:13:37    2341304

Should be good games , vey important to get of to a good start with the new layout.
would have been bit easier to try out lads in the normal league, try lads in the first few games and then come strong and maybe sneak into a semi final but now if teams want to get promoted they cant be taking any risks really

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 12/05/2021 16:25:33    2341305

I'm thinking that Kildare and Cork are both potentially capable of inconsistency to the extent that I can see Clare sneaking past one of them into the semis. I don't know how Laois are fixed tbh so don't want to rule them out out of ignorance.

In the northern half I wouldn't be surprised if Mayo's younger crew start slowly and are taken advantage of by Down this weekend. I think Westmeath will go down to the neighbours and will find the going tough after. I fancy Down to get to the semis along with Meath or Mayo.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/05/2021 20:33:19    2341346

Difficult to get promoted this year more than others because of the fact you have to play a knock out semi final game to get promoted. It's a strange year so there will be shock results. Mayo looking to get promoted but honestly it won't be a disaster if we don't...it's all about championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 12/05/2021 23:08:12    2341375

Overall:
Winners: Cork
Runners up: Mayo
Relegated: Westmeath and Laois

This weeks predictions:
Mayo v Down.................Mayo
Cork v Kildare.................Cork
Clare v Laois....................Clare
Meath v Westmeath........Meath

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 13/05/2021 10:53:48    2341423

Looking forward to this starting. Great to see some football back on.

The North / South split is definitely a bit lopsided here. I guess the real game to focus on is the round 4 game that decides if you go up or down. I'm not sure that's a great way of doing it. A team could win 3/3 and lose to a team who won 1/3 but its how it is. At that stage having been in what looks like the tougher North part of the split might stand to those teams better. So I see 2 teams from the north split going up with 2 from the south split going down.

As for this weekend:

Mayo V Down - Mayo
Cork V Kildare - Kildare
Meath V Westmeath - Meath
Clare V Laois - Laois

Promoted - Mayo, Meath
Relegated - Clare, Laois

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 278 - 13/05/2021 14:39:01    2341490

Mayo V Down…Mayo

Cork V Kildare…Cork

Meath V Westmeath…Meath

Clare V Laois…Clare

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2111 - 13/05/2021 16:33:18    2341527

For this weekend I'm going with the below

Mayo V Down - Mayo
Cork V Kildare - Kildare
Meath V Westmeath - Meath
Clare V Laois - Clare.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2021 16:57:24    2341538

Mayo
Cork
Meath
Laois

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 13/05/2021 18:32:14    2341557

Mayo
Kildare
Meath
Laois

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2134 - 13/05/2021 19:21:21    2341566

Mayo V Down - Mayo by 4 points
Cork V Kildare - Cork by 3 points
Meath V Westmeath - Meath by 3 points
Clare V Laois - Clare by 2 points

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1902 - 14/05/2021 17:06:12    2341726

Mayo by 6 points
Kildare by 3 points
Meath by 10 points
Clare by 3 points

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 312 - 14/05/2021 20:05:47    2341756

Replying To thestrapper49:  "Mayo by 6 points
Kildare by 3 points
Meath by 10 points
Clare by 3 points"
Mayo by 13 points
Cork by 3 points
Westmeath by 10 point
Clare by 3 points

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1760 - 15/05/2021 14:45:48    2341877

Tommy goals or Tommy assists ?

Kind of player Mayo exactly needed.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/05/2021 15:35:17    2341890

Cork
Mayo
Meath
Laois

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 15/05/2021 15:43:59    2341897

Mayo 2-21 Down 1-11. Mayo in truth are on a different level to Down. Tommy Conroy very good and linked well with Ryan O D who also had a great game. Matthew Ruane in midfield and Oisin Mullen were stand out. I thought Mayo got very sloppy in the 2nd half which won't have pleased Horan who could be heard on the sideline. Barry O Hagan with some lively scores for Down who looked to be in the game until the Conroy goal.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 15/05/2021 15:58:11    2341912

Mayo look awesome. Fair play to them.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2111 - 15/05/2021 16:10:08    2341920

Mayo faced a team today that had no kick out strategy or strategy for the Mayo kick outs so when you face a team at this level with these issues then result is only going one way. I think Mayo are good but I would not say awesome.

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 15/05/2021 17:08:58    2341964

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo 2-21 Down 1-11. Mayo in truth are on a different level to Down. Tommy Conroy very good and linked well with Ryan O D who also had a great game. Matthew Ruane in midfield and Oisin Mullen were stand out. I thought Mayo got very sloppy in the 2nd half which won't have pleased Horan who could be heard on the sideline. Barry O Hagan with some lively scores for Down who looked to be in the game until the Conroy goal."
Great win today, same again next week and then rest first 15 for championship, even that might not be enough for us.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2134 - 15/05/2021 17:35:37    2341979

I think even this early it's clear to see mayo will be promoted. There is a almighty scramble though who will go up with them and who will go down with any of the other 7 counties in contention for both.
I'm hopeful it will be Meath who join them, however until after tomorrow it's all only guessing and looking through green and gold eyes.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2021 17:55:01    2341994