Really don't understand how lads can get to this level of hurling and be as poor with frees.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/05/2021 17:13:08 2344608 Link 0 |
Congratulations Waterford on a good win!!! Bad luck limerick on yet another defeat..don't worry its only the league and form! katser (Galway) - Posts: 2604 - 23/05/2021 17:26:01 2344612 Link 0 |
Great win for Waterford. Cahill has all the credentials needed to bring the big prize to the Deise. catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/05/2021 17:32:18 2344621 Link 0 |
Thanks for that katser,delighted your showing your utter dislike for limerick..won't have any complaints except that discipline is a big problem..against that maybe Daly Waterford number 6 got away with using a very obvious boot..we are not near creating enough goal chances and we are giving away to many goal chances..we play cork in championship and they are one team who will score goals..plenty to work on.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2527 - 23/05/2021 17:50:49 2344630 Link 1 |
Yes a bit easier to watch. Is it not to do with the players actually fouling a little less than the refs letting things go. I would say a little bit of both tbf.
ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 708 - 23/05/2021 17:56:42 2344635 Link 0 |
Yes to a point but has a long ways to go. At least two fair shoulders called. A bare touch out the field is called but in the square all sorts of fouling. This is because the ref is afraid if he calls, it is a penalty. I love Limerick also but Hayes need to stop his antics. Drops the ball in a challenge, snaps his head back without been touched. At least twice. The ref behind the play gives a free. The Waterford players need to stop wrapping their hands around players necks that I criticized all week. They may as well changes the rules. Throw the ball if you like and picking it off the ground is fine. The ref was 3 feet away for this one. All in all Limerick a major force again while missing many players. We seem not to be certain where we want to play players. Prunty by far the best player today when he is allowed to keep his hurley. This Waterford team is built to score goals. Not successful yet but practice makes perfect and they keep going for it. They could have coasted home taking points. The same in the All-Ireland. A five point loss would have been more accurate. Incidentally I prefer to see players stay on the field but I guess it had to be called. Personally I would do it differently. If it is a non provoked strike red, but if the players were jostling reduce to yellow. Also a poke is different than a strike. I don't expect agreement but that is just me. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3078 - 23/05/2021 17:59:08 2344643 Link 1 |
Really don't understand how lads can get to this level of hurling and be as poor with frees."]It's strange when a good few of them rarely miss frees for their clubs.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16067 - 23/05/2021 18:05:54 2344648 Link 0 |
Decent game fair play to Waterford, in the past they may have lost this game. Great to see Pa Curran coming on and getting 3 points, a superb talent on his day. Flanagan was silly to do what he did, cost his team the game really. Pity too as he was showing well. Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2363 - 23/05/2021 18:24:50 2344657 Link 0 |
Didn't realize Kyle Hayes got a red at the end also. Or a second yellow to red. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3078 - 23/05/2021 18:41:49 2344670 Link 0 |
when flanagan got sent off the game was as good as gone as limerick had to face a stiff breeze with 14 men.....you'd have to wonder though how much emphasis john kiely is putting into the league though as with 10 minutes remaining and the game still in the balance he takes off he's 2 best inside forwards in gillane and casey. munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 23/05/2021 18:49:26 2344675 Link 0 |
It seems now it was straight red for Kyle Hayes. Who Knows ? Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3078 - 23/05/2021 18:53:14 2344678 Link 0 |
Congratulations Canuck. I always felt with a full team ye would have won 2017. If we don't do it this year I hope ye do. Ye certainly have the potential to do so.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4500 - 23/05/2021 19:06:09 2344687 Link 0 |
Laois going rapidly backwards under cheddar and the new management team. We were competitive and improving under Brennan but now we are just whipping boys again. - 40 scoring difference after 3 games tells you all you need to know. Cheddar was on about player development before the wexford game that's the same crap he was on about 7 years ago. He also said it would be next year before we could see the benefits. He basically wrote off what Eddie Brennan did the last 2 years. Cheddar is a good hurling man but he is a huge step back from Eddie Brennan Laois are quickly going back to the days when games were over before they even started. Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 23/05/2021 19:35:09 2344705 Link 0 |
It great to go up against this great Limerick team. Our style is different but I would not wager against ye this year. Fergal Hartley made the point after today that this is probable a blessing in disguise for Limerick and will steel their championship resolve. Things come easier to Limerick where as we have to struggle for small things.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3078 - 23/05/2021 20:06:41 2344723 Link 0 |
I dont know the Laois scene but as an outsider looking in I'd say you are being harsh on Cheddar there. If Eddie Brennan's infamous interview is anything to go by, it sounds like it's the county board that have questions to answer, not Cheddar. Given the manner of Eddie's departure, whoever replaced him was going to face a huge task to maintain progress this year, even more so with the problems caused by Covid restrictions. If anything, Covid has brought the yawning gap in resources between the very top counties and the likes of Laois and Westmeath into sharp focus. For one thing, what chance has a county like Laois got with its small playing pool when 7 substitutes can be utilised at the moment? You could bring on 7 fresh players from Limerick, Tipp, Galway, etc and the drop in quality of the team on the field wouldn't be huge. In Laois I would expect your first 15 are massively better than players ranked 16 to 22. But really the biggest issue in this truncated season is the difference in financial resources / level of preparation. All the top teams have very professional S&C programmes and have backroom staff with expertise in all the ancillary areas that help give teams an edge. That requires a lot of investment and again, going on what Eddie had to say, it's been run on a shoestring. Cheddar is a passionate and dedicated hurling man alright but I don't think he's a miracle worker.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2026 - 23/05/2021 21:41:11 2344753 Link 3 |
Imagine if everybody in Laois and the county board pulled together for the greater good what they could achieve. There's a huge amount of talent there but are constantly going to be chasing their tales until they sort it out, which is a crying shame. Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2363 - 23/05/2021 22:49:02 2344783 Link 0 |
Cheddar was asked after Brennan quit would he do it and he said his time was gone he wasn't the man for the job. I said it then that he'd end up getting it and he did. I disrespect to him but it's probably down to finances as much as anything else. I'm also not sure Eddie is the messiah and was probably lucky for his own cv that he left when he did. I'd really hate to see Laois going backwards but it's a small hurling county and it's going to be difficult for them to compete year in year out. However all counties are still only back a short period of time. I'd have great respect for cheddar but I'm not sure he was picked for the betterment of Laois hurling unfortunately tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/05/2021 07:10:30 2344807 Link 1 |
I think there is definitely too many softfrees in this years games BUT I don't get this talk of it being a free taking competition between the countries top scorers. We have seen Reid and canning get the headlines for years ...0-10,0-12....and when we look they'll be all apart from maybe one from placed balls. These high numbers beside free takers names have been there since shefflin was at his best! Even Gillane who misses a few was scoring 10 from frees in last years league. It's not a new thing and people points are being badly made. A quick check also showed Nolan's scored 0-13 against tipp last year from paced balls tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/05/2021 07:19:38 2344808 Link 1 |
Well done Waterford too! On the Galway front, you can now see how difficult it is to take 2 big scalps in a row ...!! Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 24/05/2021 08:17:42 2344812 Link 1 |
Ya i agree. Any of the substitutions are a clear message that he's using the league to see who'll make the 26. Teams like Galway and Waterford are bursting a gut to beat us now (and fair play on their wins) but things I'd Imagine will be a bit different in 5/6 weeks time Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 24/05/2021 08:23:09 2344813 Link 0 |