Monaghan

What were you thinking banty ?? Surely those who have done this after the dubs got caught should have stopped immediately (btw I'm waiting on Meath to be next knowing our luck )

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2021 12:54:32    2336303

Replying To royaldunne:  "What were you thinking banty ?? Surely those who have done this after the dubs got caught should have stopped immediately (btw I'm waiting on Meath to be next knowing our luck )"
By all accounts it was done before the Dubs got caught. Wondering why no pics were published?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/04/2021 13:17:56    2336308

Replying To royaldunne:  "What were you thinking banty ?? Surely those who have done this after the dubs got caught should have stopped immediately (btw I'm waiting on Meath to be next knowing our luck )"
Maybe it is an epidemic of irresponsibiliuty in the GAA, maybe years of administering the games under the counter is coming home to roost. Years of turning the blind eye etc If GAA doesn't impose some order on this it will be imposed from outside and rightly so on the entire organisation. If we cannot operate the organisation obeying rules, laws or regulations we really need to have some outside sanctions on the organisation, removal of charity tax free status on the basis we cannot administer rules never mind the law of the land. Time for kid gloves to come off.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 08/04/2021 13:18:55    2336310

Replying To lilylanger:  "By all accounts it was done before the Dubs got caught. Wondering why no pics were published?"
Would say no pics as was sent anonymously to the minister for justice - would have seriously questionable had she leaked. She sent to the Gardai, hence how it out & I am sure pics will follow. Disgraceful carry on yet again & yet again county board deciding the punishment which isn't nearly enough IMO.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 08/04/2021 13:27:14    2336313

Replying To lilylanger:  "By all accounts it was done before the Dubs got caught. Wondering why no pics were published?"
If it was done before the Dubs got caught it makes a bit of sense I still don't condon it.but I thought it was insane that a team would do this after the Dubs were named and shamed in the media. just because I am glad they got caught and punished does not mean I agree with the media reaction , given how the rte presenters preaching to the nation broke lockdown and the taoiseach went to a boxing match and barely a peep out of the media it was a disgrace. Something very wrong with the journalists in this country.

I think the GAA needs to come out and say there will be more severe punishment than a manager ban. Theres a light at the end of the tunnel for these teams. Media can maybe point their fingers at the correct people (I wont hold my breath)

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 08/04/2021 13:38:40    2336318

We've all heard rumours of who else is training too so there will be a lot of ex players & managers with egg on their faces if the truth comes out. My county wouldn't do that type of nonsense. Not just football either. Not agreeing with it but it's happening all over the country so the GAA need to deal with it.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/04/2021 13:56:13    2336321

I think it's safe to say everyone's at it, it's just who is unlucky enough to get caught.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/04/2021 13:59:38    2336322

I'd say a lot of intercounty teams have been training and breaching the lockdown rules to varying degrees, it's pretty much a case now of who gets caught and who doesn't.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/04/2021 14:02:42    2336324

Anyone following the media (not all need I say being Ireland) last year or so will know there may be other personal elements against McEneaney at play here (rightly or wrongly is another debate), a bit strange the information was sent directly to the Department of justice..why would anyone go that far..tell the GAA county board and at a push the Gardai, but reporting the matter to the Dept of justice directly is big step..I think his reporting was linked to an externa businessl matter but regardless of why, they were caught, and must pay the price, I hope the GAA now in their wisdom dont penalise all GAA or indeed underage GAA in Monaghan...like most commentators I think the restrictions were way too severe on our young people...training at least with protocols worked well last year and helped most people cope...no training at all is a disgrace considering so called elete sports are back..GAA and soccer underage managed very well last year...banning the manager (only) I dont know..players have to accept responsibility too along with other team personnel...a bit like the lad driving home from the pub every night full of porter, the ones that are caught are the ones we only hear about..I would think alot of counties (not all) are training away discreetly...I actually like Monaghan as a team and county and hope they get over this as quickly as possible..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/04/2021 14:03:27    2336325

Replying To arock:  "Maybe it is an epidemic of irresponsibiliuty in the GAA, maybe years of administering the games under the counter is coming home to roost. Years of turning the blind eye etc If GAA doesn't impose some order on this it will be imposed from outside and rightly so on the entire organisation. If we cannot operate the organisation obeying rules, laws or regulations we really need to have some outside sanctions on the organisation, removal of charity tax free status on the basis we cannot administer rules never mind the law of the land. Time for kid gloves to come off."
I think you've hit the nail on the head.

It's time for the GAA to grow up and start operating everything above board.

The tacit acceptance of payments to managers and coaching staff of teams is wrong. You either decide that we're amateur and it's fine to pay these people legitimately or it's wrong and it's severely punished.

This just attitude of rules being there to be broken and bent in the GAA leads to these situations.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 08/04/2021 14:07:44    2336326

Honestly lads, who cares?

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 08/04/2021 14:08:34    2336329

If someone can produce a dossier on this to provide to the department of justice they've way to much time on their hands.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/04/2021 14:26:38    2336334

Replying To arock:  "Maybe it is an epidemic of irresponsibiliuty in the GAA, maybe years of administering the games under the counter is coming home to roost. Years of turning the blind eye etc If GAA doesn't impose some order on this it will be imposed from outside and rightly so on the entire organisation. If we cannot operate the organisation obeying rules, laws or regulations we really need to have some outside sanctions on the organisation, removal of charity tax free status on the basis we cannot administer rules never mind the law of the land. Time for kid gloves to come off."
I agree with this. Look I do think that majority of counties had a sneaky session (including my own probably) but that doesn't make it right. It's the old Irish trait of a stroke. And unfortunately it's rampant within the gaa.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2021 14:34:26    2336338

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Would say no pics as was sent anonymously to the minister for justice - would have seriously questionable had she leaked. She sent to the Gardai, hence how it out & I am sure pics will follow. Disgraceful carry on yet again & yet again county board deciding the punishment which isn't nearly enough IMO."
I would say Helen has had a very strong telephone conversation with uncle Andy and cousins Shane and James, In Meath instances . Can you imagine the uproar and embarrassment if she had to report family members to gardai. Hopefully Andy and the lads keep to the rules.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2021 14:37:05    2336340

Replying To lilylanger:  "We've all heard rumours of who else is training too so there will be a lot of ex players & managers with egg on their faces if the truth comes out. My county wouldn't do that type of nonsense. Not just football either. Not agreeing with it but it's happening all over the country so the GAA need to deal with it."
I honestly don't think anyone here has said my county isn't doing this or that. Even I have said if they did to stop. I would be shocked if a uncle of the minister for justice took this action and tbh I'd be disappointed if the book wasn't thrown at him. Actually I think it's cause for his dismissal tbh. As yet though nothing has come out and if after dubs any county did it then I'd be extremely disappointed. It's a few weeks more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2021 14:41:21    2336341

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think it's safe to say everyone's at it, it's just who is unlucky enough to get caught."
Doesn't make it right though

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2021 14:41:42    2336342

Is it true that Alan Dillon was the one that raised this with the Justice Department?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 08/04/2021 15:07:41    2336344

Replying To wexico15:  "If someone can produce a dossier on this to provide to the department of justice they've way to much time on their hands."
as I said above, I think its personal relating to something I read sometime back...maybe not of course, but as we both think going directly to the Dept of Justice the complainant doesnt feel the matter will be addressed locally and from what I read its very possible...hopefully Monaghan will over come all this and underage wont be penalised....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/04/2021 15:18:16    2336345

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "Honestly lads, who cares?"
Ask the people who have had relatives and friends die from COVID.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 08/04/2021 15:18:27    2336346

Replying To royaldunne:  "I honestly don't think anyone here has said my county isn't doing this or that. Even I have said if they did to stop. I would be shocked if a uncle of the minister for justice took this action and tbh I'd be disappointed if the book wasn't thrown at him. Actually I think it's cause for his dismissal tbh. As yet though nothing has come out and if after dubs any county did it then I'd be extremely disappointed. It's a few weeks more."
I didn't mean anybody here I meant ex players and managers pontificating in the media about how bad it is and calling for stricter punishments. We all know who they are. Also, regarding your last point, if these allegations are true about Monaghan and they seem to be given Banty has been given a ban already, it is alleged they were training in March which was before the Dubs were caught so your last point wouldn't stand.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/04/2021 15:18:52    2336347