GAA Speeches

At least he didn't say hip hip hooray

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 13/12/2020 20:04:33    2322087

Maybe times for speeches to go but there were some great ones like Anthony Daly s in 95 and the greatest of them all in 1980 Joe Connolly.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 13/12/2020 20:13:46    2322097

Replying To Viking66:  "Tbh I'd hate to have to do it. Even the odd wedding speech was a nightmare. I'd guess alot of the lads who had to give one weren't overjoyed about it but it's a tradition at this stage. Was it always the case? Or if not when did it start?"
Not sure tbh,, I've been following gaa for 22 years and they've been around for as long as I can remember,, would be a good one to check out,, in fairness they're pretty unique in some ways,, I can't think off hand of any other team sports where the winning captain addresses the stadium.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 13/12/2020 21:01:25    2322136

Speeches in Croke Park after big wins are cery special for all concerned with the winning team.
They are unique to GAA and should be retained.
Its a good thing to say thanks and for Declan Hannon today even in an empty stadium, its special.
To win an All Ireland is very special and it gives a lot of people a massive.lift.
Fair play to Hannon today he said it all, and why not ! He has a lot of people to thank. And it's great to be able to thank ALL of the people who have helped them achieve.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 13/12/2020 21:51:16    2322157

Replying To Galway9801:  "Crowd or no crowd it makes no difference tbh,, by the time the captain has thanked his 17th person everyone just wants it to be over"
The place was nearly full of Galway people after the speeech in 17 so I don't agree! Yes I agree when you don't have a crowd it make the speech seem long but I'm sure it was not long for limerick people. Next ye will want rid of the parade and have players walking out together.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 13/12/2020 22:21:48    2322165

Replying To ecad123:  "The place was nearly full of Galway people after the speeech in 17 so I don't agree! Yes I agree when you don't have a crowd it make the speech seem long but I'm sure it was not long for limerick people. Next ye will want rid of the parade and have players walking out together."
No don't want to get rid of either of those things,, avd again I'll say that speeches have the potential be brilliant,, they can be inspiring and rousing,, but just thanking people ad nauseum?
Not for me,, its very polite,, no question,, but I find it boring and bland.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 13/12/2020 22:40:42    2322167

[url=]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jF-Nk66P5OQ

Joe Connolly 1980

legend

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 13/12/2020 23:36:50    2322177

I find them boring in general except if it's my club or county captain. I'll happily listen to them thank their 10th cousin once removed. The speech is for the winning team and their supporters no one else and sometimes they do mention people who may not know how important or how appreciated they are by the players

You can always leave or turn the channel if you dont like it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 14/12/2020 02:07:07    2322186

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "At least he didn't say hip hip hooray"
ah but it is lovely too,as Storeysstash said it made him feel better after losing a county final! :)
anyone know when this started?I know joe conollly gave limerick 3 cheers in 1980.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/12/2020 07:46:20    2322198

Replying To Galway9801:  "No don't want to get rid of either of those things,, avd again I'll say that speeches have the potential be brilliant,, they can be inspiring and rousing,, but just thanking people ad nauseum?
Not for me,, its very polite,, no question,, but I find it boring and bland."
If only you had a remote control to switch channel for the five minutes of the speech.

Maybe next year ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 14/12/2020 08:48:27    2322204

They should get rid of the speeches and the captain's prepped for their post match victory 'performance'. Maybe a few words for their backroom team and their supporters and then some entertaining routine like a song and dance routine, a magic show, some escapology, a feed of trampolining, or some snake charming. Jesus wept. It's a speech. Som people who were thanked felt appreciated, no matter how boring it sounds. If you don't like it turn it off rather than endure it so you can whinge about it. It's nearly Christmas, it's been an awful year for many and we're complaining about someone offering some gratitude. A nice gesture. We should count our blessings for our first world problems and that the GAA managed to hold the championships at all.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7353 - 14/12/2020 08:50:42    2322205

Bloody hell, what a bunch of thankless whingers.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/12/2020 10:02:36    2322222

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They should get rid of the speeches and the captain's prepped for their post match victory 'performance'. Maybe a few words for their backroom team and their supporters and then some entertaining routine like a song and dance routine, a magic show, some escapology, a feed of trampolining, or some snake charming. Jesus wept. It's a speech. Som people who were thanked felt appreciated, no matter how boring it sounds. If you don't like it turn it off rather than endure it so you can whinge about it. It's nearly Christmas, it's been an awful year for many and we're complaining about someone offering some gratitude. A nice gesture. We should count our blessings for our first world problems and that the GAA managed to hold the championships at all."
Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.,(and I note that you haven't disagreed with my opinion that the speeches are boring)

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 14/12/2020 11:24:22    2322246

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Bloody hell, what a bunch of thankless whingers."
If I'd known ye were gonna get so sore Ida kept my bloody mouth shut.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 14/12/2020 11:26:43    2322247

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I dunno, I lost a county final a few years ago and the three cheers made me feel a million times better."
Hahaha brilliant.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 14/12/2020 11:31:32    2322250

speeches are brilliant.......its the three cheers hip hip hurrays that should be forgotten about.....rather patronizing.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 14/12/2020 11:34:29    2322251

Replying To Galway9801:  "If I'd known ye were gonna get so sore Ida kept my bloody mouth shut."
They're the kind of thoughts you keep to yourself really, who sits down and listens to speeches anyway unless you have an interest, just switch channel or whatever.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/12/2020 12:19:15    2322261

Replying To perfect10:  "there is probably a speech writer as part of the backroom team."
Don't laugh - I bet there is. Any captain who has a speech prepared is over-confident in GAA, remember.
I bet the speech is pre-written by some member of the back-room team in the event the team wins.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1735 - 14/12/2020 12:33:43    2322264

Replying To perfect10:  "ah but it is lovely too,as Storeysstash said it made him feel better after losing a county final! :)
anyone know when this started?I know joe conollly gave limerick 3 cheers in 1980."
The first known presentation speech was given by Jim Smith, the Cavan captain, after their win over Galway in 1933. This started the tradition of giving speeches.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 14/12/2020 13:54:57    2322291

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The first known presentation speech was given by Jim Smith, the Cavan captain, after their win over Galway in 1933. This started the tradition of giving speeches."
Thanks I was just wondering. If it goes back to 1933 that's an 87 year old tradition and should then be kept.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12000 - 14/12/2020 14:30:16    2322309