What's People's Predictions For The Football Semi Finals This Weekend!

Replying To CC2020:  "Just a wee poem for you Tonguey! Good luck tomorrow!

I knew a passionate young man from Cavan,
No BS from Kilkenny footballers he was having,
Seventy years since John Joe was about,
But this young ho*r had no doubts,
His boys the Dubs they would ravage 'em."
There was a cheeky young Cat called CC2020,
Of skills with the big ball, he could boast aplenty,
But a mane Cavan hoor,
Told him Kilkenny football was manure,
Now he dreams of the days when he vanquished the Cockney.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/12/2020 19:26:38    2318302

Replying To avonali:  "There was a cheeky young Cat called CC2020,
Of skills with the big ball, he could boast aplenty,
But a mane Cavan hoor,
Told him Kilkenny football was manure,
Now he dreams of the days when he vanquished the Cockney."
Ha ha!! Excellent. I love it! You need a bit of craic!

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 19:45:40    2318307

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Are you finally admitting you're wrong? You said that multiple times even when you were told otherwise. It's ok, you can say you're wrong"
Come on now. You're equating a win over London in 2013 with an All Ireland win in 1952. Ye played Kerry next day out..

Look your experience in Croke Park is minimal. At least Leinster teams have that advantage over ye. You're in the same ball park as Laois, Westmeath. (The only difference between Cavan and Laois is ye have more blue in the jersey) They have one provincial title in 20 years also. But ye think ye're better men than them. Nostalgia from over half a century ago will mean nothing. Pointing out this fella will mark O'Callaghan, this fella Kilkenny. Won't mean anything. I know they are all fine footballers on your team. But this is a team at home that they are against. With unlimited great players. With conditioning you don't have. These Dubs will match your heart. Take your best hits. If you're lucky the game won't be over after 25 min and you'll last till 60.

You are just second rate mullockers to them. Your Ulster title will mean nothing to them. It does to the rest of the country as you are a small county who have brought great enjoyment this year.

Henry Shefflin on peak Kilkenny years 'we didn't want to just beat teams, we wanted to knock hurling out of their minds for years'. This is Dublin too.

If you win Ulster or do well and get to the Super 8s next year your team will gain experience. That's why Donegal, Mayo, Kerry were held up as hopes. They had experience and talent. Ye need more experience. Good team Cavan, but questions yet on if they can progress to All Ireland challengers i.e. beat Dublin in championship.

No one is questioning the Ulster triumph. But all provincials are rendered second rate until Dublin are beaten in championship.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 19:48:02    2318310

Tomás O'Se predicting Mayo to win this Sunday should leave plenty of Mayo supporters nervous.

2016, 2017, 2018 he predicted Mayo to beat Galway they lost all 3 games

2019 he predicted Mayo to beat Roscommon and they lost. He predicted Galway to beat Mayo and they won.

This year he predicted Mayo to lose against Roscommon and Galway and they won both matches.

Like a broken clock he might be right once?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 04/12/2020 19:52:47    2318314

Dublin by 9
Mayo by 5

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 04/12/2020 20:02:51    2318321

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Cavan might have played their best football in the second halves but if they play like they did in the majority of their first halves they will be 40 points behind at that stage. I am not trying to belittle Cavan they have done exceptionally well to win out Ulster but Dublin are at another level and if Cavan faced Donegal tomorrow I would expect Donegal to win.

Cavan are on a similar enough level to ourselves and Meath and we seen what the Dubs done to Meath last day out and us in recent years."
Sour grapes, you'll find out Cavan are a far better team than poor Meath and yourselves.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 04/12/2020 23:05:35    2318376

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Cavan might have played their best football in the second halves but if they play like they did in the majority of their first halves they will be 40 points behind at that stage. I am not trying to belittle Cavan they have done exceptionally well to win out Ulster but Dublin are at another level and if Cavan faced Donegal tomorrow I would expect Donegal to win.

Cavan are on a similar enough level to ourselves and Meath and we seen what the Dubs done to Meath last day out and us in recent years."
Sour grapes, you'll find out Cavan are a far better team than poor Meath and yourselves.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 04/12/2020 23:06:09    2318378

A few Cavan lads having a go at the Kilkenny fella over the fact that he is from Kilkenny and therefore his views on football is irrelevant. You can have passionate football people in Kilkenny and passionate hurling people in places where hurling isn't strong, like Cavan. If you find his views ridiculous thats fine, say why you think so. There is no need to bring Kilkenny into it. Even if you think he is being disrespectful or abusive towards Cavan, there is no reason to respond in kind towards Kilkenny. He is one person who does not represent the whole of Kilkenny. You see it all the time here, someone says something that another person doesn't like and instead of tackling what was said, they'll just have a go at that posters county.

Some Cavan lads also seem to be taking people's honest views that Dublin will win very well awfully personal. People are entitled to that viewpoint and it is not an utterly ridiculous viewpoint to hold. Cavan folk might feel different and that is absolutely fine but it doesn't mean that everyone is out to get ye or want ye to lose. Sure if ye do manage to pull it off won't ye be able to tell us all that you told us so!

My own views of the two games. Dublin v Cavan. At the risk of being attacked and some Cavan lads asking what would I know, sure aren't Mayo just a bunch of bottlers, I think there is next to no chance of Cavan winning. I fully expect Dublin to win by at least 12 points and it could easily get towards the 20 point mark. I'd love to be wrong but I really don't think we will. Dublin won't take their foot off the pedal or take their eye off the ball, they will give Cavan full respect and approach the game in the right manner. They are the 5 in a row All Ireland champions and seem just as fully focused on making it 6 as they were on making it 5 last year. Cavan struggled past Antrim and managed to go 10 points behind against Down. In fairness credit has to go for turning that around but Down are a mediocre team and any team capable of beating what is probably the greatest team ever to play the game shouldn't be be going 10 points down to Down. They did fully deserve to beat a much talked about Donegal and their performance on the day was a credit. Having said that, the game was in the mixer right until the awful mistake from Patton for the goal. And as well as Cavan played I really think Donegal took their eye of the ball and played very poorly. Of course Cavan folk will say that was down to Cavan but in my view Donegal coughed up a huge amount of possession through sloppy passes and unforced turnovers. All things being equal, Donegal are a much better team than Cavan in my view and I would expect Dublin to beat Donegal comfortably enough also. Now again lads, this is all only my opinion, it is absolutely nothing against Cavan, it's just how I honestly see things. As I say, if you guys are right and end up beating Dublin, you will all be able to tell us we clearly didn't have a notion what we were talking about!

Mayo v Tipperary. Mayo are favourites and rightly so. It's definitely not the lock that the other game is and Tipperary absolutely can win the game. I don't think they will though. Tipp squeezed past Limerick after extra time and needed a wonder strike in injury time to force extra time. Like Cavan they fully deserved to beat Cork but if Mayo were playing Cork this Sunday, I'd be fully expecting a Mayo win there also. Mayo by at least 4 or 5 for my money.

And for the record, if it is a Dublin Mayo Final, I'd be fully expecting a Dublin win and unfortunately a pretty comfortable win. I'd actually be a little nervous that it could get really messy. We are in transition and have a lot of very promising young lads coming through but I think it would be a year too soon to get near Dublin. I would obviously, dearly love to be wrong and if it is Dublin Mayo, I'm sure I'll have talked myself into believing that we are going to do it. Mayo for Sam :)

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 04/12/2020 23:56:06    2318386

Replying To CC2020:  "Come on now. You're equating a win over London in 2013 with an All Ireland win in 1952. Ye played Kerry next day out..

Look your experience in Croke Park is minimal. At least Leinster teams have that advantage over ye. You're in the same ball park as Laois, Westmeath. (The only difference between Cavan and Laois is ye have more blue in the jersey) They have one provincial title in 20 years also. But ye think ye're better men than them. Nostalgia from over half a century ago will mean nothing. Pointing out this fella will mark O'Callaghan, this fella Kilkenny. Won't mean anything. I know they are all fine footballers on your team. But this is a team at home that they are against. With unlimited great players. With conditioning you don't have. These Dubs will match your heart. Take your best hits. If you're lucky the game won't be over after 25 min and you'll last till 60.

You are just second rate mullockers to them. Your Ulster title will mean nothing to them. It does to the rest of the country as you are a small county who have brought great enjoyment this year.

Henry Shefflin on peak Kilkenny years 'we didn't want to just beat teams, we wanted to knock hurling out of their minds for years'. This is Dublin too.

If you win Ulster or do well and get to the Super 8s next year your team will gain experience. That's why Donegal, Mayo, Kerry were held up as hopes. They had experience and talent. Ye need more experience. Good team Cavan, but questions yet on if they can progress to All Ireland challengers i.e. beat Dublin in championship.

No one is questioning the Ulster triumph. But all provincials are rendered second rate until Dublin are beaten in championship."
Simple facts. You said no win in 68 years, and that's not true. Whether it's London or whoever, you're still wrong. It was a championship win. Can you still not admit it?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2382 - 05/12/2020 00:05:46    2318388

Dublin by 12
Mayo by 4

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/12/2020 00:15:00    2318390

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Tomás O'Se predicting Mayo to win this Sunday should leave plenty of Mayo supporters nervous.

2016, 2017, 2018 he predicted Mayo to beat Galway they lost all 3 games

2019 he predicted Mayo to beat Roscommon and they lost. He predicted Galway to beat Mayo and they won.

This year he predicted Mayo to lose against Roscommon and Galway and they won both matches.

Like a broken clock he might be right once?"
He predicted Monaghan, Down and Donegal to beat us this year.

Monaghan to beat us last year, and Armagh to beat us in both games last year.

I make it a 25% hit rate for him on our last 2 ulster campaigns. You'd wonder why RTE keep asking for his predictions.

As unlikely a win today is, he's given us a glimmer of hope by going for Dublin ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/12/2020 09:17:07    2318411

Was thinking Dubs by 7 and Mayo by 2 but I'd be happy enough this morning if Dublin, Cavan and Mayo could name teams.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 05/12/2020 10:11:57    2318427

Replying To the_walls:  "A few Cavan lads having a go at the Kilkenny fella over the fact that he is from Kilkenny and therefore his views on football is irrelevant. You can have passionate football people in Kilkenny and passionate hurling people in places where hurling isn't strong, like Cavan. If you find his views ridiculous thats fine, say why you think so. There is no need to bring Kilkenny into it. Even if you think he is being disrespectful or abusive towards Cavan, there is no reason to respond in kind towards Kilkenny. He is one person who does not represent the whole of Kilkenny. You see it all the time here, someone says something that another person doesn't like and instead of tackling what was said, they'll just have a go at that posters county.

Some Cavan lads also seem to be taking people's honest views that Dublin will win very well awfully personal. People are entitled to that viewpoint and it is not an utterly ridiculous viewpoint to hold. Cavan folk might feel different and that is absolutely fine but it doesn't mean that everyone is out to get ye or want ye to lose. Sure if ye do manage to pull it off won't ye be able to tell us all that you told us so!

My own views of the two games. Dublin v Cavan. At the risk of being attacked and some Cavan lads asking what would I know, sure aren't Mayo just a bunch of bottlers, I think there is next to no chance of Cavan winning. I fully expect Dublin to win by at least 12 points and it could easily get towards the 20 point mark. I'd love to be wrong but I really don't think we will. Dublin won't take their foot off the pedal or take their eye off the ball, they will give Cavan full respect and approach the game in the right manner. They are the 5 in a row All Ireland champions and seem just as fully focused on making it 6 as they were on making it 5 last year. Cavan struggled past Antrim and managed to go 10 points behind against Down. In fairness credit has to go for turning that around but Down are a mediocre team and any team capable of beating what is probably the greatest team ever to play the game shouldn't be be going 10 points down to Down. They did fully deserve to beat a much talked about Donegal and their performance on the day was a credit. Having said that, the game was in the mixer right until the awful mistake from Patton for the goal. And as well as Cavan played I really think Donegal took their eye of the ball and played very poorly. Of course Cavan folk will say that was down to Cavan but in my view Donegal coughed up a huge amount of possession through sloppy passes and unforced turnovers. All things being equal, Donegal are a much better team than Cavan in my view and I would expect Dublin to beat Donegal comfortably enough also. Now again lads, this is all only my opinion, it is absolutely nothing against Cavan, it's just how I honestly see things. As I say, if you guys are right and end up beating Dublin, you will all be able to tell us we clearly didn't have a notion what we were talking about!

Mayo v Tipperary. Mayo are favourites and rightly so. It's definitely not the lock that the other game is and Tipperary absolutely can win the game. I don't think they will though. Tipp squeezed past Limerick after extra time and needed a wonder strike in injury time to force extra time. Like Cavan they fully deserved to beat Cork but if Mayo were playing Cork this Sunday, I'd be fully expecting a Mayo win there also. Mayo by at least 4 or 5 for my money.

And for the record, if it is a Dublin Mayo Final, I'd be fully expecting a Dublin win and unfortunately a pretty comfortable win. I'd actually be a little nervous that it could get really messy. We are in transition and have a lot of very promising young lads coming through but I think it would be a year too soon to get near Dublin. I would obviously, dearly love to be wrong and if it is Dublin Mayo, I'm sure I'll have talked myself into believing that we are going to do it. Mayo for Sam :)"
Good summation.

What is annoying me about some Cavan posters is that they think they are better than the Leinster teams in division 2 (Meath were 1 this year) and insulting them. We won't roll over BS. Leinster teams have tried every approach against Dublin. John O'Loughlin, Laois, did gave MDMA a serious box in the face in 2016. He was sent off. You can mix it with them but they won't get rattled. You can mass defence and you'll get bet by 11 points. You can play football and they have superior players and get opened up.

Cavan would have to make a leap from the level of Antrim and Down to Mayo 2016/17. And there is no way they can or have made that leap since October.

Tipp have a 50/50 chance of beating Mayo. But realistically Mayo are the only team that have a slight chance against the Dubs. Keegan, AOS, McLoughlin, Barrett, the O'Connors etc are the only players who have been at that altitude with Dublin. They are seasoned div 1. Down to 2, but not by much this year.

Dublin have been in division 1 since 1995. Don't tell me league doesn't matter.

And lads can slag all they like about Kilkenny football. It's my first game, I hurled second. The Railyard, Muckalee, Glenmore all great football areas. DJ Carey turned out in the O'Byrne cup in the 90s. He was very good, and if it was his first game he'd have no problem competing with the best. Henry Shefflin scored 2-3 from play v Laois minor footballers in 1997. KK were beaten by 3 pts and Laois went on to beat Tyrone in the All Ireland final.

Another Cavan fella said we're no good at hurling now and won't be for a long time. We're at a low at the moment. Yet we're provincial champions like you in football. We haven't won at underage in a while at all Ireland level, 2014 minor, 2008 U21. But we'll sort underage. For a county of 99,000 population, even if we concentrate on one game, to lead the AI role of honour by 6 is a great achievement.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/12/2020 10:41:05    2318435

Dubs by 17 or so, mayo draw and then to win aet by 4 or 5.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/12/2020 10:43:17    2318439

Dublin 4-17 to Cavan 1-09
Tipp 1-14 mayo 17 points
Mayo to win by 5 aet.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/12/2020 10:56:35    2318444

Dublin by 10+
Mayo by 5+

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 05/12/2020 10:57:00    2318445

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Dubs by 17 or so, mayo draw and then to win aet by 4 or 5."
Same as when ros played them So. Only difference is they won't have their second string out against us.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 05/12/2020 14:25:50    2318508

Replying To tonguey:  "Same as when ros played them So. Only difference is they won't have their second string out against us."
Sure our 2nd string put ye into division 3

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/12/2020 15:56:03    2318533

Replying To tonguey:  "Same as when ros played them So. Only difference is they won't have their second string out against us."
I don't know what your getting upset about the bookies have it a 15 point handicap, let your team prove me and them wrong I would actually love to see ye put it up to them but seen the games up to game v Donegal since the lockdown ye are wide open down the middle of defence.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/12/2020 16:16:01    2318541

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Sure our 2nd string put ye into division 3"
The romantic in all of us would obviously love to see a Cavan v Tipp final.

They won't happen. Dublin will win by whatever score they want but the Mayo/Tipp game could be closer then many predict.

I'm going for a repeat of 1920. History to win over.

MartinEgan (UK) - Posts: 80 - 05/12/2020 16:21:10    2318543