Is It Time To Be More Careful Of The Language We Use?

Replying To Htaem:  "Well this is it yew_tree, I think we're living in a time that rewards outrage and punishes any opinion that strays from the mainstream.

'Tolerance' is undoubtedly the latest form of intolerance.

Anyway I think the bar on 'offending' someone is very low these days, simply 'misgendering' someone is enough to get the job done. Also, there's a large cohort of people out there who have no problem dishing out the abuse but cry foul immediately when shots are fired back, it's gas stuff (ps, before I offend anybody, that's a general point, it's not aimed at any particular poster)."
I would draw a distinction between somebody being actually outraged and somebody just asking questions. The funny thing is people are actually angry at the fact that somebody just asks a question and they start trotting out terms like "snowflake", "watchdog" and "quick to take offence" etc. Interesting.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 12:21:25    2316868

Replying To cavanman47:  "A litany of recycled jokes that the English made up about the Scots. How witty!"
Well, that idea of the origin of the Cavanman stereotype makes manifest sense.

However, there's another origin story which I like as a tale but is probably BS. Basically, back in the 1500s, Cavan was a lot more economically advanced than surrounding areas. So much so, it had its own currency which in turn created a nice side business for some lads to make their own counterfeit coins. These lads would melt the official coins, mix with some other metals and create good fakes. This in turn have the perception that Cavan people were good at saving their money.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 30/11/2020 12:21:28    2316869

Replying To avonali:  "I would draw a distinction between somebody being actually outraged and somebody just asking questions. The funny thing is people are actually angry at the fact that somebody just asks a question and they start trotting out terms like "snowflake", "watchdog" and "quick to take offence" etc. Interesting."
I agree, it's important to ask questions and to have the freedom to do so.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2020 13:00:50    2316897

Replying To avonali:  "Says the chap who ran several accounts here but couldn't keep track of them."
Howya avonali iv only 1 account thanks for asking, and jimbo admitted to beelzedub being 1 of his other accounts on here last year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 13:22:03    2316909

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Howya avonali iv only 1 account thanks for asking, and jimbo admitted to beelzedub being 1 of his other accounts on here last year."
I actually admitted that years ago man and have been open about it from the start

I'm having problems signing in as Jimbo at the minute

Works one minute and doesn't the next

I've not posted under Beelzedub for years though man and I'm not pretending to be from somewhere else..

So what exact relevance does it have in relation to anything?

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 30/11/2020 13:30:46    2316913

Replying To avonali:  "I've noticed terms freely used in the forums that are highly questionable.
In one county forum -not difficult to guess which one- Dublin fans are players are referred to as 'The Huns.' I would have thought that such a term, with all its sectarian and historical associations, has no place in a forum like. this. In Scotland usage of this term can get you into serious trouble...it is deemed sectarian and divisive. I am mystified as to why a county supporter would resort to borrowing a word from used by one Glasgow soccer club to describe their rivals.
I've also noticed usages like "True Gaels"??? How does that speak to the many sons and daughters of immigrants who now play GAA?
The old cliche that Dublin people reside in "The Pale" and are somehow less Irish that those outside, -despite many having parents from outside Dublin-is still wheeled out. The point is that a barely concealed hostility for anything having a remote association with Britain -whether that association with Britain be real or imagined- lurks just beneath the surface, ready to be deployed when somebody wants to lob a mindless insult. I thought we had settled our differences with Britain when we welcomed members of the Royal family into Croke Park?
Then we have usages like "feral" "flat dwellers" etc etc. to refer to Dubliners.Again the lazy association . Dublin has social problems like any major city but what does it say about the values of the person who uses these terms to insult others. Since when was it wrong to be poor, or wrong to live in a flat complex."
The Huns were an nomadic war tribe from Asia that came to Europe in the 4 and 5th century. Attila being the most famous. The term Hun in a derogatory sense is used to mean savage or barbaric. There is nothing sectarian about the term. But it is a nickname used by Celtic. No worse than a Dub calling someone a culchie.

bugsie (Leitrim) - Posts: 199 - 30/11/2020 14:01:26    2316931

I think I'm offended at some of the comments on this thread. Is there someone I can confirm this with or should I just see how I feel later ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/11/2020 14:16:22    2316939

Replying To Beelzedub:  "I actually admitted that years ago man and have been open about it from the start

I'm having problems signing in as Jimbo at the minute

Works one minute and doesn't the next

I've not posted under Beelzedub for years though man and I'm not pretending to be from somewhere else..

So what exact relevance does it have in relation to anything?"
But why would you even bother to setup this account if not to go causing mischief and with over 450 posts I'd say you did the devil, how do you even remember the password? I'm logged in as Kingdomboy1 and I don't ever logout.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 14:30:23    2316949

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "But why would you even bother to setup this account if not to go causing mischief and with over 450 posts I'd say you did the devil, how do you even remember the password? I'm logged in as Kingdomboy1 and I don't ever logout."
Heheheee ! Of course you don't , sure you didn't even set up your account. Your childlike and lovely and such a decent old sod.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/11/2020 14:37:29    2316953

Replying To catch22:  "I think I'm offended at some of the comments on this thread. Is there someone I can confirm this with or should I just see how I feel later ?"
Goaway ya big yankie. Ah no me own wife is from denver so can't be at that, sorry. One q I always have for those who write Usa or UK, why no county affiliation ? Is the home county that bad ?

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 30/11/2020 14:41:09    2316956

Replying To catch22:  "Heheheee ! Of course you don't , sure you didn't even set up your account. Your childlike and lovely and such a decent old sod."
Go clean your nose WUM.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 17:32:54    2317048

Is It Time To Be More Careful Of The Language We Use?

No.

The overwhelming majority of us posters on here are white and male and we should be allowed use whatever terms we like for people no matter how hurtful and derogatory they are to others. I really don't care and it would be very mildly inconvenient for me to learn so I won't bother. I'll just invent scenarios where I've been insulted and ram that false equivalence down people's throat. I'm very clever.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/11/2020 18:30:40    2317081

Replying To Breffni40:  "Is It Time To Be More Careful Of The Language We Use?

No.

The overwhelming majority of us posters on here are white and male and we should be allowed use whatever terms we like for people no matter how hurtful and derogatory they are to others. I really don't care and it would be very mildly inconvenient for me to learn so I won't bother. I'll just invent scenarios where I've been insulted and ram that false equivalence down people's throat. I'm very clever."
That's the spirit Breff :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2020 18:39:55    2317087

No.

The overwhelming majority of us posters on here are white and male and we should be allowed use whatever terms we like for people no matter how hurtful and derogatory they are to others. I really don't care and it would be very mildly inconvenient for me to learn so I won't bother. I'll just invent scenarios where I've been insulted and ram that false equivalence down people's throat. I'm very clever."
How did you ever get out of Father Jack's underpants hamper in the end?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 30/11/2020 18:54:59    2317099

No.

I'm sorry if I offended you :-D.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 19:56:54    2317129

No.

ah OK. so as long as you are in the majority you can say and do what you like ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/12/2020 01:24:50    2317204

Replying To jimbodub:  "No man

He called me Tonto..

Because I called him chief.. which is just an every day term used all the time which he seemingly had some sort of problem with.. funny that
Offside decided to take the Native American route with it.. which in itself is enough to land you on trouble these days"
Just catching up this morning. Again people making assertions or assumptions on what my feelings are. You're reading way to much in to the Chief/Tonto thing - in my neck of the woods using Chief and the retort Tonto is as you would say, an every day term that has been used as far as I can remember (prob due to the Lone Ranger being popular back then) so no, I don't have any problem with you using that. I actually found it amusing.

But I am happy for people to continue sharing their psychoanalysis of me - another source of amusement to help pass the day. Just don't get too offended by any response you might get...... lol

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/12/2020 12:08:46    2317281

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Just catching up this morning. Again people making assertions or assumptions on what my feelings are. You're reading way to much in to the Chief/Tonto thing - in my neck of the woods using Chief and the retort Tonto is as you would say, an every day term that has been used as far as I can remember (prob due to the Lone Ranger being popular back then) so no, I don't have any problem with you using that. I actually found it amusing.

But I am happy for people to continue sharing their psychoanalysis of me - another source of amusement to help pass the day. Just don't get too offended by any response you might get...... lol"
Answering simple questions put to you isn't one of them anyway.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/12/2020 13:06:50    2317299

Replying To jimbodub:  "Answering simple questions put to you isn't one of them anyway."
Hey Jim I see you sorted out your account.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2020 14:16:38    2317319

Replying To GameofTyronesIsBackhere:  "Goaway ya big yankie. Ah no me own wife is from denver so can't be at that, sorry. One q I always have for those who write Usa or UK, why no county affiliation ? Is the home county that bad ?"
I always figured them fellas that put USA or UK and don't identify their home county are a bit weird, then again they might not be Irish and be from the UK or USA.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 01/12/2020 20:39:12    2317451