Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To royaldunne:  "Same could be said of the all ire series. What's the point ?? We all have to keep going. However I do think their is now a very serious argument for Dublin not to compete in Leinster and they given a bye to super 8s."
Dublin will want games ! To say give them a bye is ridicalous ! Even if they win easily games are what players want ! It gives farrell a chance to play around with his squad !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 21/11/2020 21:57:45    2312352

Replying To royaldunne:  "Same could be said of the all ire series. What's the point ?? We all have to keep going. However I do think their is now a very serious argument for Dublin not to compete in Leinster and they given a bye to super 8s."
Do you not think dublin were let play tonight royaldunne, like a poster said earlier every time a meath lad had the ball dublin jumped on us, meath lads barely toached dublin, no aggression what so ever, but that's a very young meath team and they will recover, but next year if they do play dublin they need to grow a pair.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 21/11/2020 22:00:32    2312353

The league must become a priority for all Leinster teams as it's clear they have no interest in the championship. At least teams in other provinces have a chance at winning something in the championship.
Meath shouldn't be ashamed at getting beat by Dublin as they are an inferior team but the manner was embarrassing. At least get stuck into them, start a row, take all kick outs long to make the middle a battle ground where physicality and determination can overcome ability, anything!
Instead they went short and allowed Dublin to make them back pedal then by some miracle if Meath did get up the field they didn't commit the defenders or draw fouls, nothing.
Dublin may win 6 in a row as they are a fantastic team and one I love to watch playing but if my own County gets a chance to play them I'd expect we'd at least make it such a battle that the Dublin players remember it even if they do come out on top.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 21/11/2020 22:03:07    2312357

Replying To Saynothing:  "What are you on about, of course their buzzing, Leinster champions again. Listening to Meath all week about what they were going to do might have put doubts in Dubs minds. And yes sports about winning. Again classy from Dean remembering young lad going through Chemo."
Not to mention such a classy gesture by the Dublin players after the game remembering Bloody Sunday 100yrs on, and laying that wreath. It was such a poignant moment on a night of Remembrance. and will live long in my memory....

These guys are pure gentlemen, and the most humble role models both on and off the pitch.

So very proud of them all. And never prouder than tonight..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 21/11/2020 22:03:35    2312358

Sorry RD

That's not true

Teams have absolutely competed in the AI series

There's been draws, loses, 1 pt wins and massive opportunities not taken

What Meath brought tonight was nothing. It's not comparable whatsoever

Meaths performance from the sideline and on the pitch was quite frankly brutal.

Embarrassing.

The worst Meath performance I've ever witnessed

I've seen Dublin better..

Meath absolutely did roll over tonight. No doubt about it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/11/2020 22:04:29    2312359

so lets just think here, are Kildare in a better place tonight or offaly for that matter having avoided playing dublin? if that is the case then we have something seriously wrong. I remember coming out of pearse park in longford in 2017 after meath were beaten by longford knowing we didnt have to go through the match with dublin actually relieved. saying thank god for that. on the same day carlow beat kildare , kildare eneded up having a decent year and improved.

So moral is in Leinster get knocked out avoid the dublin massacre then look at the qualifiers and hope to g on a run their. it really is wrong that meath westmeath, kildare etc have to go through this farce every year. like what would dublin have done to kildare tonight? 7-8 goals?

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 21/11/2020 22:05:21    2312360

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I disagree meath stood of that dublin team and never got in there faces, I'm sick of the usual excuses of population and money being blamed when the real reason is meath didn't lay a glove on them, if you stand of teams especially a five in row team what do you expect, We got what we deserved, congratulations to dublin and best of luck for the rest of the year."
Absolutely spot on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/11/2020 22:07:19    2312361

Replying To supersub15:  "20 years of the back door system and the false sense of security that led to today's 00-20 defeat.

The stubbornness of some to refuse to see the damage that that the back door system is doing and has done to gaelic football since it's inception."
Nothing to do with the backdoor. This is all to do with the GAA doping Dublin and ignoring the plight of other counties.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 21/11/2020 22:08:51    2312362

No, same cannot be said of the All Ireland series. Kerry, Donegal or Mayo aren't losing by over 20 points to Dublin.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 21/11/2020 22:16:49    2312367

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "A terrible night for Meath and another good night for Dublin. For me Meath played with a fear factor which did nt help but fair play to Dublin. A masterclass again. On the scoreline I have been at many games when teams got destroyed but things turn around very quickly if teams believe. I was in pairc Uí Caoimh when Cork beat us by 15 points in 1990.Spectatorscsaid we won't beat Cork for years. Cork were all ireland Champs and went on to win it again. Following year in Killarney Kerry win. I was in Croker 2009 Kerry hammer Dublin by 17 points and the dubs were favourites. I listened to dub fans saying twas a disgrace and Gilroy has to take the blame. 2 years later under Gilroy Dublin are all ireland Champs. What I'm trying to say is at the moment Dublin are the top dogs and probably there to stay for another year anyway but instead of making excuses let's get up to their level of skill and workrate etc. No team or person is infallible. Congrats to Dublin and commiserations to Meath."
Getting up to their level and skill would require a lot of money. Donegal took out a 2 million loan and raised over a 1 million from the clubs to help pay for the new centre of excellence. Easier to do when your competing at the top and some would question whether that is appropiate for an amateur game.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 21/11/2020 22:17:00    2312368

Replying To lilylanger:  "The same way as wicklow are expected to recover from their annihilation at the hands of Meath or Galway at the hands of Mayo or even Dublin at the hands of Kerry. Its sport. How do you think counties like Leitrim or Louth feel year in year out. No disrespect intended."
Well said lily

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 21/11/2020 22:21:04    2312374

Replying To Htaem:  "Anyway look, when it's all said and done, I still think we'll beat the Dubs next year lads.

So good night, god bless (even though he doesn't exist) and we'll see yous all next year.

UP DA ROYAL!!! :-)"
Maybe lay off the Porter for a while.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/11/2020 22:21:12    2312375

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I disagree meath stood of that dublin team and never got in there faces, I'm sick of the usual excuses of population and money being blamed when the real reason is meath didn't lay a glove on them, if you stand of teams especially a five in row team what do you expect, We got what we deserved, congratulations to dublin and best of luck for the rest of the year."
Royal.Legend , fair play to you , just like to add What in the name of god was Meaths kickout strategy ?It was a mess !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/11/2020 22:21:16    2312376

I agree with this, take Dublin out of Leinster and give the other teams a cup to play for. Its demoralising at the moment. Dublin are just incredible, they have Howard and Mannion on the bench, two of the best players in the country these past few years.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 21/11/2020 22:22:44    2312377

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There is nothing wrong with the leinster championship if you take dublin out of it."
Nothing wrong with the Munster championship if you take Kerry out of it
81 Munster titles -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/11/2020 22:23:58    2312378

This thread reminds me of the documentary Prince Naseem did before he got pummelled by Barerra

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 21/11/2020 22:27:43    2312379

Replying To Crinigan:  "I agree and I know a good few of the people involved in it. They've thrown everything at it and have as good a setup as they will ever have again (as generous as sponsors as we'll get too).

I actually think it's time to withdraw from the championship for a few years. Work on our club setup and invest in that. Keep participation up and make club scene as good as it can be. Intercounty is an absolute waste of time and money and is counter productive at this stage."
Or how about actually showing up..

That was embarrassing tonight from Meath

Missing sitter frees, no kick out strategy, miles off their men, no intensity, tactically non existent, dropping balls short time and time again, the platform Meath handed Dublin tonight was honestly like nothing I've seen before it.

Dublin brough their usual game. Meath brought nothing.

It's not rocket science.. Meath bear a massive brunt of the blame for the level of defeat.

Worst Meath performance I've ever seen.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/11/2020 22:27:54    2312380

Congrats to Dublin on another inevitable provincial title. The pace, power, precision, hunger and work rate really is a sight to behold. Plus that cute cynicism that you need to be a top side.

As for Meath they certainly didn't help themselves. The goalkeeper position has been an ongoing problem and was badly exposed again tonight. The Dubs dined on the Meath kickouts which was always going to be a recipe for disaster. Another don't do against Dublin or any of the top sides is carrying the ball into contact. All too often numerous Meath players got themselves isolated into the Dublin defensive web and getting turned over. There was a correlation between the this and the kickouts but also poor decision making. I agree with the previous poster who said Meath played as individuals rather than a team. The other old issue with Meath is having the necessary forward power. There seemed to be optimism over the young lads that came in but to me despite some promise they are a bit off when you want to compete with the Dubs of this world.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 21/11/2020 22:28:27    2312382

Replying To Crinigan:  "I agree and I know a good few of the people involved in it. They've thrown everything at it and have as good a setup as they will ever have again (as generous as sponsors as we'll get too).

I actually think it's time to withdraw from the championship for a few years. Work on our club setup and invest in that. Keep participation up and make club scene as good as it can be. Intercounty is an absolute waste of time and money and is counter productive at this stage."
That's a more than decent suggestion. It could apply to every county in Leinster.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 21/11/2020 22:29:51    2312383

Replying To winatallcost:  "Worst Leinster Final performance ever by a Meath team."
Maybe Furlong can confirm lol

I've never seen a Meath team perform as bad

Think the hyperbole reaction of the usual posters is blatantly ignoring just how below standard Meath were tonight

Just plain rubbish

Dubs played against nothing there tonight

Very bad preparation imo for the next day out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/11/2020 22:35:47    2312387