Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath lads

Do you honestly believe you gave your best tonight?"
It wouldnt have mattered if they did, the outcome was inevitable. Taking the fact that Im a Meath man out of context for a minute Jimbo, congrats on another Leinster, but I really think this game could be a final straw for many in Meath. Many players and clubs have hung onto their naivety for too long. This season and the last year or so, pale a comeback for Meath as it might have been, has been completely jettisoned by this game. I really struggle to see how this Meath team will recover.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 21/11/2020 21:27:45    2312316

Replying To bert09:  "Nail on the head. Tuning in at the end of that game you would have no idea who actually won."
If you tune in and watch the 70 minutes it was obvious.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/11/2020 21:30:08    2312318

20 years of the back door system and the false sense of security that led to today's 00-20 defeat.

The stubbornness of some to refuse to see the damage that that the back door system is doing and has done to gaelic football since it's inception.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 21/11/2020 21:31:10    2312320

Replying To traleegerry:  "It is a complete joke I've been a gaa man all my life but our game is now a one county game and that includes my own county of kerry. It is a ptofessional team dublin versus an amateur team in meath anthe other 30 amateur counties as well I will say again it is a complete joke. Hats off to the guys in croker who made the dubs what they are the best team of any era"
81 munster titles
37 All Ireland titles
Cute Kerry Hoorism :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/11/2020 21:33:12    2312321

Have to say Dublin's workrate was exceptional. Ok slacked off a little near end, but so often 3 Dublin men descending like horse flies on the poor Meath lad trying to get out. Though when we did that in 03 it was puke football lol. Meath looked naive though. They seemed bewildered that they not getting time on the ball. Their positional awareness is 30 years out of date. They have good individual players, but the collective is not at the races.

Best way to balance up the GAA is to have central funding of fitness and strategy coaches. Then we'd see who really had the best individuals. Worth considering; can't go on like this. Some counties just have retro coaches and managers who just are no longer able to cut it.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/11/2020 21:33:54    2312322

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "As good as Dublin are, and they are wonderful, it does make you wonder if Leinster championship is worth continuing. This is utterly predictable. The whole farce of having a draw, playing the games and knowing the outcome in advance of all of that is demoralising for anyone outside of Dublin surely. It's at the point that I can't see any team beating Dublin in Leinster for the next 20 years"
Same could be said of the all ire series. What's the point ?? We all have to keep going. However I do think their is now a very serious argument for Dublin not to compete in Leinster and they given a bye to super 8s.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/11/2020 21:34:54    2312324

Replying To greysoil:  "Considering we watched the commemoration of Bloody Sunday before this & heard about the beautiful humility of the GAA & the supporters back then - an amateur sport of rawness, equality & unity.
And then we watch yet another attack on the essence of what our GAA tradition is - that amateurism & equality.
Gaelic football got another wound today. Can any true Gael's really celebrate what happened in Croke park tonight?"
Ah give us a break, Ballybay's 2nd team would have done better than Meath tonight, that Meath team are not great and on the night they were particularly rubbish

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 21/11/2020 21:39:51    2312329

Replying To royaldunne:  "Congratulations to Dublin. That is the best I have ever seen you play. I don't think the 6 in a row is in much doubt. But you never know.
As for Meath. ? Well we can only hope for better days ahead. Hard luck lads. It's a tough lesson.
We move on and I look forward to the start of the obc. (If it is to proceed. ) Otherwise it's the league.
Hon the royal"
Fair play royaldunne

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/11/2020 21:40:45    2312330

Replying To Young_gael:  "It wouldnt have mattered if they did, the outcome was inevitable. Taking the fact that Im a Meath man out of context for a minute Jimbo, congrats on another Leinster, but I really think this game could be a final straw for many in Meath. Many players and clubs have hung onto their naivety for too long. This season and the last year or so, pale a comeback for Meath as it might have been, has been completely jettisoned by this game. I really struggle to see how this Meath team will recover."
The same way as wicklow are expected to recover from their annihilation at the hands of Meath or Galway at the hands of Mayo or even Dublin at the hands of Kerry. Its sport. How do you think counties like Leitrim or Louth feel year in year out. No disrespect intended.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 21/11/2020 21:42:04    2312331

Anyway look, when it's all said and done, I still think we'll beat the Dubs next year lads.

So good night, god bless (even though he doesn't exist) and we'll see yous all next year.

UP DA ROYAL!!! :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/11/2020 21:42:51    2312332

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath lads

Do you honestly believe you gave your best tonight?"
Worst Leinster Final performance ever by a Meath team.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 505 - 21/11/2020 21:44:12    2312333

Clinical stuff tonight, Meath were trying to score those 'goals' of theirs from early doors but then realised that they were up against a proper defence and so without any other plan, that I could see, they rolled over.
As for any Meath lads who think it was unsporting of Dublin fans to be 'buzzing' after that, and that sport is not about that, they must not have been born when Meath were actually formidable.
Dublin followers were a little concerned that with Gavin gone, there might not be that same drive or team spirit, so they're perfectly entitled to be happy.
I've already stated that Donegal have every chance of beating us, they're a fine side and have players as good as anyone in the country on their day. This will be a game. (If its Cavan I can only say that I would be very surprised).
As for the little jibe from our Kerry friend/s, well, that's all they have left now I suppose.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 21/11/2020 21:45:34    2312336

Replying To Young_gael:  "It wouldnt have mattered if they did, the outcome was inevitable. Taking the fact that Im a Meath man out of context for a minute Jimbo, congrats on another Leinster, but I really think this game could be a final straw for many in Meath. Many players and clubs have hung onto their naivety for too long. This season and the last year or so, pale a comeback for Meath as it might have been, has been completely jettisoned by this game. I really struggle to see how this Meath team will recover."
You need a kick out strategy for starters

The platform you handed Dublin tonight was quite honestly ridiculous

People can fall over themselves talking but let's analyze what Meath brought tonight

Nothing.

Of course Dublin were going to look good playing absolutely nothing.

It was a shambles. A complete malfunction and serious questions have to be asked not only of the structure of the current chsnlpionship but also the glare of blame has to rest at Meaths complete capitulation

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 21/11/2020 21:49:17    2312339

I agree and I know a good few of the people involved in it. They've thrown everything at it and have as good a setup as they will ever have again (as generous as sponsors as we'll get too).

I actually think it's time to withdraw from the championship for a few years. Work on our club setup and invest in that. Keep participation up and make club scene as good as it can be. Intercounty is an absolute waste of time and money and is counter productive at this stage.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 21/11/2020 21:49:56    2312340

Replying To greysoil:  "Considering we watched the commemoration of Bloody Sunday before this & heard about the beautiful humility of the GAA & the supporters back then - an amateur sport of rawness, equality & unity.
And then we watch yet another attack on the essence of what our GAA tradition is - that amateurism & equality.
Gaelic football got another wound today. Can any true Gael's really celebrate what happened in Croke park tonight?"
Great post. Exactly what I thought. The problem is that real gaa people don't run it anymore and I include the disgusting individual who currently presides over the organisation in that.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 21/11/2020 21:53:04    2312344

The game didn't need to be in Croke Park with no crowds. Neither did Semi.
Leinster has been dead for a long time, so why not try and make it competitive with games in Navan or Parnell. The other Leinster Counties don't have make mutch push in that regard.

Dublin love the wide space of Croker

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 21/11/2020 21:53:30    2312345

Why can't you analyze the actual game without this grandeous waffle..

Meath were embarrassingly poor tonight, Dublin brought what they al ways do.

Meath brought nothing..

Of course Dublin were going to power through nothing

I'm very proud of how Dublin performed tonight on the 100th Anniversary of Bloody Sunday but seriously.. Meath should have just given a walk over

They were abysmal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 21/11/2020 21:54:10    2312346

Provincial championships are crap now, Ulster isnt even as competitive anymore with donegal and tyrone dominating. Whats Pat Spillane raving about saying the Leinster championship is the only provincial championship that isnt competitive?
Kerry were going for their 8th title in a row this yr and won 15/21 since 2000, cork have won the other 6.
Connacht is a throw up between Mayo Galway and Roscommon, connacht final gauranteed for one of them every yr. Leinster is a complete waste of time. Adding to that there is the obvious numerical disparity between each province which has been a big help in many of Kerry, Cork and Galways all Ireland successes.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 21/11/2020 21:55:52    2312347

Replying To royaldunne:  "Same could be said of the all ire series. What's the point ?? We all have to keep going. However I do think their is now a very serious argument for Dublin not to compete in Leinster and they given a bye to super 8s."
Dublin need football too, do what they did with Galway in Hurling, move Dublin to the Ulster Championship and take 2 weaker county's to Leinster. Give Fermanagh a chance of there first title. Wouldn't be hard.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 21/11/2020 21:55:54    2312348

Replying To royaldunne:  "Same could be said of the all ire series. What's the point ?? We all have to keep going. However I do think their is now a very serious argument for Dublin not to compete in Leinster and they given a bye to super 8s."
Dublin need football too, do what they did with Galway in Hurling, move Dublin to the Ulster Championship and take 2 weaker county's to Leinster. Give Fermanagh a chance of there first title. Wouldn't be hard.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 21/11/2020 21:56:34    2312351