El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan

Great win for Cavan after last weeks disappointment of relegation. Took a lot of character for them to pull that win out of the bag, away to Monaghan 7 points down at half time, few expected them to win.

2nd year in a row they have beaten Monaghan, hopefully we can do likewise against Mayo next Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 31/10/2020 16:26:41    2303410

A shameful day for Monaghan football and the players and management should hold their heads in shame for the mess we have become. I wouldn't be so scathing if this was a once off but it's a continuous trend. Did anyone not think that Cavan was going to push up and put pressure on ?
What idiot actually thought that would work.

County board need to step in here and get rid of this management team. Any management team who endorses that kind of play and style will never change and going nowhere. We are the laughing stock of Gaelic football at the moment and for a county and team to lower our standards and play to that level we seen today is beyond shocking.

For us to go forward we need a few big names to walk away and take their egos with them and let us build from scratch. We had enough egos on the team before we added the biggest one of all on the sideline.
How Conor Laverty and Peter Donnelly stood up and watched that today is beyond belief.

Time for change, time to step away, time to reflect and time to do what is right for the supporters and the youth coming through.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 31/10/2020 16:35:26    2303419

Well done Cavan. Great championship game. Showed great determination and belief.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 31/10/2020 16:38:44    2303421

Replying To Htaem:  "What a finish to the game, great points by Beggan and Galligan to win the match, also the Cavan no. 5 (can't think of his name) kicked a peach to level up the game in normal time.

That's knockout footballnat it's best, I know the absence of crowds is not great but I'm happy with the absence of the backdoor and the ridiculous super 8s!"
Well done to Cavan, championship football at its best just like the old days with everything on the line the way it should be.

Feck the super 8 backdoor crap.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/10/2020 16:39:40    2303423

Replying To ponger:  "Beyond chuffed for our lads.. galligan came on against roscommon and immediately made an impact too.. was immense today. Thought we held the ball better overall and some of them young lads that came in for us will learn loads from that. We somehow never seemed to panic. Our heads won that game..

Being realistic Monaghan threw that away.. I'm not even sure they knew what they were trying to do. Neither Hughes got a kick at it. Absoutely leaderless. Maybe a complete refresh needed"
Hopefully that will be banty gone now, i don't think 1 supporter wanted him anywhere near management team and today shows why

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 31/10/2020 16:54:17    2303432

Delighted for Cavan fully deserved, played the game with great spirit, good play and determination. Some of the
turnovers were a joy to behold pure hunger, really deserved victory. Thought the ref did them no favours. Heads never dropped really impressive stuff.

Monaghan got tactics, game plan and game management all wrong. Robbed themselves of momentum trying to close the game out. Cavan hungry in the tackle and bet the pocession game and refused to have it imposed on them. Monaghan will be disappointed to go out in Clones against near neighbours, first year under Banty (again), Cavan looked fitter and hungrier.

Brilliant contest well done to both teams, if only all provinces were as competitive. Ulster Championship is a treat.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/10/2020 17:02:33    2303436

Really felt like a Halloween horror show. Ruined my birthday was planning a lovely evening now I'll head for a early night. All we need now is Ireland to win the six nations to rub salt in the wounds. Banty deserves another year to make it right

bomber123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 65 - 31/10/2020 17:04:32    2303437

What a finish! Well done Cavan.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 31/10/2020 17:05:40    2303439

Replying To bomber123:  "Really felt like a Halloween horror show. Ruined my birthday was planning a lovely evening now I'll head for a early night. All we need now is Ireland to win the six nations to rub salt in the wounds. Banty deserves another year to make it right"
I have to take exception. A bad day for Monaghan and unfortunate that it spoilt your birthday. I cant imagine many will join you in wishing Banty to stay on.
But why some people can't or won't get behind the national rugby team I'll never understand. I have my suspicions, but ill keep them to myself.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 31/10/2020 17:10:35    2303442

Replying To Young_gael:  "Sickened for Monaghan, delighted for Cavan. Lets hope for a few more games like this. What a great spectacle. The joys of knockout football, it simply means more.
Cavan are far better than league form suggests. Having seeing them a number of times over the last 3/4 years, a dark horse on their day who can rise to the occassion and dart any team.
Monaghan; a sad day for a massive force in the recent game. Surely a culmination of the slow decline over the last 12/18 months. Still, a hard working, likable team and they'll be absolutely gutted. I have to row in behind criticising their 2nd half and their management on field and on the sideline.
Another great chapter to a great Ulster Rivalry! From one of your royal neighbours."
How did that Monaghan team stay up ahead of Mayo. Seen it over and over again , when they're under pressure they bottle it and that was a home match. They go to Croke Park they bottle it. Safety first when your winning instead of ploughing.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 31/10/2020 17:18:40    2303449

Replying To Young_gael:  "I have to take exception. A bad day for Monaghan and unfortunate that it spoilt your birthday. I cant imagine many will join you in wishing Banty to stay on.
But why some people can't or won't get behind the national rugby team I'll never understand. I have my suspicions, but ill keep them to myself."
It is my Birthday today and Cavan winning made mine.

rahanman (Cavan) - Posts: 127 - 31/10/2020 17:19:52    2303450

Any footage of the head butt?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 31/10/2020 17:21:26    2303451

Replying To Saynothing:  "How did that Monaghan team stay up ahead of Mayo. Seen it over and over again , when they're under pressure they bottle it and that was a home match. They go to Croke Park they bottle it. Safety first when your winning instead of ploughing."
Thanks for your reply. I have to agree with you. I also think its too early to be dissecting the Monaghan team and I hate to be annoying further our Monaghan posters on the forum.
All ill say is that I think that has always been an underlying issue with Monaghan, history. They just don't have the history. I remember watching them at their peak a few years back blowing a match v.Kerry in the super 8's in the dying seconds to a dodgy goal. You could sense the team was in shock in the dying minutes up until the score. Since then I personally felt they weren't a team for the big day, for handling pressure, but still I rate them very highly and they can return in a very big way in the future.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 31/10/2020 17:27:36    2303456

What in the name of jasus is your man talking about not wanting Ireland to win the six nations? That's an all ireland team free from division. Isn't that what we all want?
Monaghan followers reservations about Banty held through in the end.
The lads still had to kick the points in the second half though. Fair play to them. I've been saying it this long time. Championship football should be straight knockout. Far better.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 31/10/2020 17:31:57    2303459

Turth be told two bad teams today just hoping the wind was going to get them over the line and it got cavan over it best of luck in the championship lads

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 31/10/2020 17:34:21    2303461

Replying To Young_gael:  "I have to take exception. A bad day for Monaghan and unfortunate that it spoilt your birthday. I cant imagine many will join you in wishing Banty to stay on.
But why some people can't or won't get behind the national rugby team I'll never understand. I have my suspicions, but ill keep them to myself."
Young_Gael I don't mind rugby myself but I can see why a lot of people don't like it. Rugby was always associated with the upper class especially around Dublin 4 area. It became really popular during the Celtic times especially at the provinces matches. Also that Irelands Call is a piece of crap.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 31/10/2020 17:34:43    2303464

Replying To Saynothing:  "How did that Monaghan team stay up ahead of Mayo. Seen it over and over again , when they're under pressure they bottle it and that was a home match. They go to Croke Park they bottle it. Safety first when your winning instead of ploughing."
We deservedly went down...the league table does not lie. I've always felt though Monaghan are a better league team than championship and when McManus is off top form they are average enough. Banty though is a big downgrade from Malachy.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 31/10/2020 17:39:39    2303466

Replying To Saynothing:  "Any footage of the head butt?"
if you look at a recording @ 4:01 in the first half of extra time in the bottom lefthand corner you will see it. Amazing spot by the officials.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 31/10/2020 17:46:34    2303473

Beating Mayo by a bit to spare would be your answer. Monaghan was extremely lucky to stay up last year, basically a bit of Niall Morgan gamesmanship in the Tyrone v Roscommon match kept them up.

Well done to Cavan, a super win against the odds.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 31/10/2020 17:47:28    2303474

Replying To Ollie2:  "Young_Gael I don't mind rugby myself but I can see why a lot of people don't like it. Rugby was always associated with the upper class especially around Dublin 4 area. It became really popular during the Celtic times especially at the provinces matches. Also that Irelands Call is a piece of crap."
Good lad Ollie, yeah I agree with all of the above myself however I think those reasons are the tip of the iceberg for many, and I dont want to be dragging this thread into the depths with another political discussion! Too many threads have devolved to it lately. On a side note, good win for the Wee County last week, and good luck v. Longford. Will be an interesting match.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 31/10/2020 17:51:51    2303477