Tyrone Vs Cork

Replying To HokeyPokey:  "Kerry who also beat Cork by 3 points?"
Look at how Kerry were written off after that. If Cork got near them they must be bad. Well maybe we are not that bad. They destroyed a very fancied Mayo. I think Kerry will maybe be the best of the rest after Dublin but that remains to be seen.
I think the result was ultimately the right one. More experienced team that have played at this level for a while have come through. You should not be able to come from as low a base as Cork and get to the level that wins these games. Tyrone had that bit of quality when they upped it and Cork were found wanting a little at the back. That has to be where Cork need to bring lads into the panel.
Point is, this is definitely improvement. Surely the players will now see that there is not a big gap between teams when Dublin are taken out of the picture and drive on.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 20/07/2019 21:48:07    2213721

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte were superb and dragged us over the line"
Wee Peety didn't get a black card either.
He must be learning his lessons.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/07/2019 22:45:33    2213756

Surely diving = cheating?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 20/07/2019 23:01:49    2213766

Not a great showing from Tyrone , fantastic second half to see them through though.

Why are cork getting so much sympathy this year? Twice now they showed they can't play for any longer than about 40-50 mins , they should've won today and it's their own fault for not putting Tyrone to the sword with how bad they were at times.

Any other team does that and they're looked upon as wasteful and such but with cork this year it's all "oh well fair play cork they made a good go of it and were brilliant" if anything it's bordering on patronizing on cork.

I didn't see any coverage today as was in croker, so the tune May have changed but from looking at social media it hasnt

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 20/07/2019 23:13:25    2213775

Replying To bert09:  "Surely diving = cheating?"
Indeed. Did you see the video doing the rounds on Twitter of a Tyrone player throwing himself to ground having barely been touched about 2 seconds of a delay too. Awful stuff. That said they were the better team in the second half which is usually when you want to be at your best.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 20/07/2019 23:15:28    2213778

Replying To catch22:  "Wee Peety didn't get a black card either.
He must be learning his lessons."
Lol

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/07/2019 00:08:43    2213800

What reason has he to dive he was caught in face and he was clear but it clearly affected him and what am told accidentally the hand touched corner of eye .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/07/2019 00:10:01    2213801

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "What reason has he to dive he was caught in face and he was clear but it clearly affected him and what am told accidentally the hand touched corner of eye ."
I was told he didn't touch his eye at all.

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 21/07/2019 00:45:27    2213812

Tyrone were quite efficient when it mattered at the end to be fair to them, which is promising, but that is a game that Cork could have won.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 21/07/2019 00:46:54    2213813

Replying To Highandmighty:  "Not a great showing from Tyrone , fantastic second half to see them through though.

Why are cork getting so much sympathy this year? Twice now they showed they can't play for any longer than about 40-50 mins , they should've won today and it's their own fault for not putting Tyrone to the sword with how bad they were at times.

Any other team does that and they're looked upon as wasteful and such but with cork this year it's all "oh well fair play cork they made a good go of it and were brilliant" if anything it's bordering on patronizing on cork.

I didn't see any coverage today as was in croker, so the tune May have changed but from looking at social media it hasnt"
Those comments are being made based on how bad Cork have been in recent years, this is the first time in a few seasons where they actually looked like troubling the big Top 4 sides. They are a work in progress, but are going in the right direction.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1110 - 21/07/2019 01:11:02    2213816

Replying To lilylanger:  "Indeed. Did you see the video doing the rounds on Twitter of a Tyrone player throwing himself to ground having barely been touched about 2 seconds of a delay too. Awful stuff. That said they were the better team in the second half which is usually when you want to be at your best."
They were the better side in the 2nd half, and just about the better team overall. Do they look like potential All Ireland winners? No they don't.

Tyrone don't seem settled on which system they are playing, and I just don't think they have it this year. They are in an All Ireland semi final now, they could reach another All Ireland final, but can they beat Dublin when it matters? I don't see it.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1110 - 21/07/2019 01:26:56    2213818

The number 13. Honestly the soccer lads would love that dive

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 08:53:30    2213840

Replying To royaldunne:  "The number 13. Honestly the soccer lads would love that dive"
No all-stars for Tyrone this year but they gonna clean up at the oscars.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 21/07/2019 10:12:31    2213857

Replying To Commodore:  "Those comments are being made based on how bad Cork have been in recent years, this is the first time in a few seasons where they actually looked like troubling the big Top 4 sides. They are a work in progress, but are going in the right direction."
Oh surely they've had brilliant improvement, even from the disappointing league campaign to now. Just thought the whole thing of saying they did great against Dublin even though they got hammered is just patronizing to the players if anything else. They want to win, if they give a crap performance and win they'll still be happier than a good performance and losing, so the comments being made were insulting in that "oh well we never thought cork would even compete but fair play to them for turning up" unreal sickening.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 21/07/2019 11:57:55    2213903

Replying To bert09:  "No all-stars for Tyrone this year but they gonna clean up at the oscars."
Lol love posts like this. Against cavan and rossies tyrone had two players clearly punched in the head off the ball.. not one word said. A Tyrone player goes down and the whole word is in uproar. Class.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 21/07/2019 12:54:26    2213916

Replying To bert09:  "No all-stars for Tyrone this year but they gonna clean up at the oscars."
We will get more all-stars than Meath what a terrible game today

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/07/2019 14:55:30    2213959

Replying To dawals:  "I was told he didn't touch his eye at all."
You believe everything your told

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/07/2019 14:56:35    2213960

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "You believe everything your told"
Do you?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 21/07/2019 15:14:45    2213970

Replying To lilylanger:  "Do you?"