Mayo V Kerry

Replying To Rockies:  "A certain Offaly man put paid to that in 1982... otherwise Kerry would have won 8 in a row. Dubs aiming for 5 in a row..,if Donegal hadn't stopped them in 2014. ...,would be heading for 7 in a row. Who will stop them? A team winning first 5 in a row in history? Dubs need to be ambushed!"
Maybe the rebels will start the process on Sat evening, I always think Cork are a sleeping giant, it's amazing to think that apart from us beating them in that 2014 semi final they would be heading for 7 in a row most likely,which was a shock win on the day, many of our own fans myself included thought we wouldn't win that day but Jim and the boys had other plans and their homework done,
I hope the ref in Killarney this weekend is aware of Cillian O'Connor's antics and cracks down on it early on, should be a great game, Kerry's young guns need to make their mark on the big stage.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 11/07/2019 10:48:10    2209387

Rumours of our imminent demise are greatly exaggerated. Very early days in most of their senior intercounty careers but this is the best attack we have had in many's a year where a bit of fearlessness is refreshing after a few anxious years. Our defence is old, creaky, experienced and streetwise. Our midfield is pretty good. Diarmuid O'Connor and Matthew Ruane are rumoured to be on the way back but this Sunday is too soon. David Clarke is a tidy goalkeeper. I have to admit that I doubted that James Horan would give youth it's flibg in 2019, thinking him too conservative, but fair play to him, nothing ventured nothing gaibed. Will be an interesting Super 8s for us.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/07/2019 11:16:47    2209402

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya ye have 4 in a row bought and paid for by the GAA.

Congrats on buying the 5.

Thank god we did the 5 under our own steam."
Are you obsessed with the subject or obsessed with trying to wind up Dublin posters.
Either way, you enjoy it more than sleeping at 10 to 12 on a Tuesday night

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/07/2019 11:18:01    2209403

Mayo are a better team. The outcome will be decide on their mind frame. It will be interesting to see if they can motivate themselves to play kerry after the last couple of weeks. Kerrys season depends on this game they will have to play out of their skin to beat mayo.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 11/07/2019 11:33:09    2209416

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Maybe the rebels will start the process on Sat evening, I always think Cork are a sleeping giant, it's amazing to think that apart from us beating them in that 2014 semi final they would be heading for 7 in a row most likely,which was a shock win on the day, many of our own fans myself included thought we wouldn't win that day but Jim and the boys had other plans and their homework done,
I hope the ref in Killarney this weekend is aware of Cillian O'Connor's antics and cracks down on it early on, should be a great game, Kerry's young guns need to make their mark on the big stage."
Kettle and pot come to mind.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/07/2019 11:58:42    2209426

Replying To keithlemon:  "Are you obsessed with the subject or obsessed with trying to wind up Dublin posters.
Either way, you enjoy it more than sleeping at 10 to 12 on a Tuesday night"
Hes obsessed with anything to do with Dublin

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/07/2019 12:32:22    2209444

Replying To keithlemon:  "Are you obsessed with the subject or obsessed with trying to wind up Dublin posters.
Imagine being awake after 11pm on a school night!

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 11/07/2019 12:36:23    2209448

This is my busy time of the year, not much time for sleeping zzzz.

And I'm not trying to winding up anyone, only telling the truth.

Some people can't handle the truth though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/07/2019 13:56:33    2209501

The headlines on Monday should be great craic, the winner will be All Ireland contenders, the losers will be finished.

As the great line goes, "neither one a hurling stronghold".

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/07/2019 14:20:37    2209514

Replying To TheUsername:  "The headlines on Monday should be great craic, the winner will be All Ireland contenders, the losers will be finished.

As the great line goes, "neither one a hurling stronghold"."
Kerry could be in bother but are capable of beating Donegal in Croke park.

Mayo are defo not finished if they are beaten. They have 2 games left and both are achievible for them.

This group is awfully tight.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/07/2019 14:26:34    2209520

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is my busy time of the year, not much time for sleeping zzzz.

Some people can't handle the truth though."
Lol you cant handle the truth though , its killing you that Kerry are not top dogs anymore

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/07/2019 14:49:41    2209536

Replying To Donegalman:  "Kerry could be in bother but are capable of beating Donegal in Croke park.

Mayo are defo not finished if they are beaten. They have 2 games left and both are achievible for them.

This group is awfully tight."
Would you not be confident of your running game and the Kerry backline. i see the Donegal game as Kerrys trickiest they are strong in all the areas Kerry are at their weakest and your forwards are better in my opinion. The Mayo game will be touch and go.

If i was Donegal i would be delighted with all the attention on the alternate game this week. Its a win/win for them next week regardless of the result.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/07/2019 14:49:44    2209537

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is my busy time of the year, not much time for sleeping zzzz.

Some people can't handle the truth though."
You're not a friend of Gemma O'Doherty's are ya ;-)

Enough about the Dubs KingdomBoy, are you going to the Mayo game?
What you reckon?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/07/2019 15:12:04    2209544

Replying To greatpoint:  "Imagine being awake after 11pm on a school night!"
Imagine being in school in the middle of July :-)

You must be in some posh school I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/07/2019 15:27:14    2209550

If Mayo weren't plagued with injuries I'd give Mayo the nod. They are further down the road but injuries to key men will hamper that advantage

But I can see Kerry winning this one. I feel sorry for the ref before s ball is kicked. Every single possible discrepancy will be pounced on by the usual ref whinge merchants

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 11/07/2019 15:34:26    2209553

Replying To jimbodub:  "If Mayo weren't plagued with injuries I'd give Mayo the nod. They are further down the road but injuries to key men will hamper that advantage

But I can see Kerry winning this one. I feel sorry for the ref before s ball is kicked. Every single possible discrepancy will be pounced on by the usual ref whinge merchants"
Well sure if we had a nice few lads in the middle for games like this who lived in our county, were members of GAA clubs there, who had been brought in to ref Kerry training games during the Championship and who had pictures on their social media of being out celebrating with the county team in the past we wouldn't need to whinge would we ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/07/2019 15:59:14    2209566

Replying To jimbodub:  "If Mayo weren't plagued with injuries I'd give Mayo the nod. They are further down the road but injuries to key men will hamper that advantage

But I can see Kerry winning this one. I feel sorry for the ref before s ball is kicked. Every single possible discrepancy will be pounced on by the usual ref whinge merchants"
I'm not sure if we'll see the same level as what we saw in 2014 between these 2 but both sets of fans are as bad as each other when it comes to this. Up in arms every time a foul is given against them.
I thought Fitzmaurice was right in what he said about Mayo being street smart when it comes to gamesmanship, not in a bad way, just that they know how to play the ref well.

Regardless, I think it all adds to the atmosphere though. Both sets of fans will be so hungry to win it will pour out of them. I expect a good Mayo crowd at this one too

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/07/2019 16:04:52    2209571

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well sure if we had a nice few lads in the middle for games like this who lived in our county, were members of GAA clubs there, who had been brought in to ref Kerry training games during the Championship and who had pictures on their social media of being out celebrating with the county team in the past we wouldn't need to whinge would we ;D"
No I'm pretty sure you'd whinge anyway!!

Kerry people remind me of that Woody Allen joke:
Two elderly women are at a Catskill restaurant. One of them says, 'Boy, the food at this place is just terrible.'
The other one says, 'Yeah I know. And such small portions.'

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/07/2019 16:29:20    2209583

would be concerned about the amount of goals Mayo conceding. 4 in 6 games. could easily ship 3 or 4 goals against Kerry if they don't get it sorted

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2019 17:45:57    2209614

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Rumours of our imminent demise are greatly exaggerated. Very early days in most of their senior intercounty careers but this is the best attack we have had in many's a year where a bit of fearlessness is refreshing after a few anxious years. Our defence is old, creaky, experienced and streetwise. Our midfield is pretty good. Diarmuid O'Connor and Matthew Ruane are rumoured to be on the way back but this Sunday is too soon. David Clarke is a tidy goalkeeper. I have to admit that I doubted that James Horan would give youth it's flibg in 2019, thinking him too conservative, but fair play to him, nothing ventured nothing gaibed. Will be an interesting Super 8s for us."
It's a bit of a myth about giving youth its fling

D Clarke; C Barrett, B Harrison, K Higgins; P Durcan, C Boyle, L Keegan ; D Vaughan, A O'Shea; J Doherty, K McLoughlin, C O Connor, will all start the next day

That dozen have been around a while at this stage.

There are effectively 3 new starters and if D O Connor was fit it would only be 2.
In the Roscommon match Horan only had 1 sub on on 68 mins.
The only reason he has used subs in the quaifiers is because the first choice lads were dropping like flies.
Horan has never trusted his bench and it has cost him in big games V Dublin and Kerry.
I wouldn't be that quick to throw out praise

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 11/07/2019 23:46:28    2209761