Mayo V Kerry

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ugh....such arrogance."
In your opinion....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2019 16:19:51    2211431

Replying To Condorman:  "Spillane is so biased it's untrue.Mayo were rubbish yesterday and would have lost to any of the other Super 8 teams.
Dubs hit 5-18 in a great exhibition of open football and he say SFA about it."
You've just accused someone of being bias and then launched straight into your own Dublin bias. Hilarious

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 15/07/2019 16:36:48    2211442

Hon D Kingdom! Great day yesterday in Killarney. You couldn't have asked for better weather or a better venue and when the sun is shinning on a Kerry team's back and they are playing like that honestly, where else in the wide world would you rather be?
Mayo were poor or were they made to look poor - time will tell!
Moran was unbelievable - some of those high catches were breathtaking. We have to ensure this wonderful art is kept in our game.
Our defence has taken a lot of slack (looking at you Mr Cavanagah) but they answered a few critics yesterday with some great performances.
Up until 4pm yesterday we were being dismissed as an also ran. Now it seems we're predestined to topple the Dubs. I'll take the "experts" views with a pinch of salt.
Down here we were all saying this young team needed to show us their potential yesterday, I think they did that pretty well!
Great momentum now heading into Croker. Another though assignment but we can relish the challenge.
Mayo should be able to regroup on Sunday and you can't rule them out just yet.
Finally congratulations to COC on becoming the all time top scorer in Championship history.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2019 17:24:09    2211474

Replying To grodzilla:  "As a neutral at the game the referee made alot of errors in Kerrys favour for the most part"
Haven't watched back yet but from the terraces it looked like he was on a mission to get mayo back in to it in the second half. No major decisions but he ignored lots of blatant fouls and gave several marginal calls to them. I didn't think he was a big factor in the result either way it seems after every Kerry game this is thrown out there.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/07/2019 18:01:56    2211494

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Haven't watched back yet but from the terraces it looked like he was on a mission to get mayo back in to it in the second half. No major decisions but he ignored lots of blatant fouls and gave several marginal calls to them. I didn't think he was a big factor in the result either way it seems after every Kerry game this is thrown out there."
Yep in first half I think he gave a few strange decisions to Kerry but you are right, he seemed to try and over-balance in the second half for Mayo! As some have mentioned, he seemed to bring every single free forward and the Mayo players were certainty let take much more the the allowed distance.
But overall he did ok and the game was not decided by any refereeing decision.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2019 18:12:17    2211504

Terrible day at the office for Mayo, Kerry had a plan to attack our kickouts and executed it perfectly (Donie Buckley coming back to haunt us). TBF Kerry's shooting was imperious in the first half, compounded by the concession of several frees in front of the posts by our lads.

Mayo battled in the second half but were clearly low on juice, with Kerry seemingly satisfied to protect the lead. Cilian's missed penno and one on one may be vital come the conclusion to the group, huge difference in being beaten by ten as opposed to four or five.

Must give a special mention to David Clifford, top class display all round.

Meath game next week takes on huge significance, if the sight of the Royals doesn't stir the blood then we may as well take up tiddlywinks.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/07/2019 18:39:08    2211514

Kerry get the majority of the 50/50 calls and have been getting them for donkeys years now. Referees are afraid they will get down graded by the powers that be if they don't tow the line. It's a bit like Manchester United under Alex Ferguson where a ref was afraid to blow a game up if they needed a goal.The referees are under serious pressure I tell you , serious pressure.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/07/2019 19:15:13    2211543

Poor show by Mayo, I bet Horan regrets saying they should have beaten Kerry by 10 or 12 points in the league, the league is long forgotten now, nobody really cares who wins it as long as you don't get relegated, saying that a season in div 2 done out young players good,
how good are Kerry or did Mayo just make them look better than they are? Mayo are gone as Brolly said, bringing on old players to try and bail out a sinking ship, a football lesson in Killarney was what Mayo got.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 15/07/2019 20:08:56    2211570

Replying To catch22:  "Kerry get the majority of the 50/50 calls and have been getting them for donkeys years now. Referees are afraid they will get down graded by the powers that be if they don't tow the line. It's a bit like Manchester United under Alex Ferguson where a ref was afraid to blow a game up if they needed a goal.The referees are under serious pressure I tell you , serious pressure."
Hah hah good one boss, some people just hate to see Kerry winning don't they ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2019 20:21:13    2211579

Replying To qwerty368:  "It was a pathetic performance from Mayo. Surely Doherty and McLaughlin will be dropped after this? Kerry were far more up for it and played some great football but surely to god, they wont be allowed to get away with their constant cynicism off the ball going forward? Preventing frees from being taken, blocking runs, pulling and dragging...........totally ruins the game as a spectacle in my view."
Doherty immune to getting dropped he's a really average center forward

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 15/07/2019 22:40:05    2211656

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yep in first half I think he gave a few strange decisions to Kerry but you are right, he seemed to try and over-balance in the second half for Mayo! As some have mentioned, he seemed to bring every single free forward and the Mayo players were certainty let take much more the the allowed distance.
But overall he did ok and the game was not decided by any refereeing decision."
The general consensus - certainly among Kerry fans - was that Hurson was poor. He left some outrageous fouls go and did not tick anyone for the numerous Mayo fouls in the first 30 minutes or so. Hard to agree with 'Brian Gavin who says in today's Irish Examiner that 'Sean Hurson had an excellent game'.
Sadly, it is increasingly more difficult to see any connection between the rule book and game as played. Here is an extract from the rule book: A tackler may use his body to confront the opponent but deliberate bodily contact such as punching, slapping, arm holding, pushing, tripping, jersey pulling or a full frontal charge is forbidden.
And, frees should be brought forward by 13 metres - yes, thirteen - not the 30 metres or so that Hurson was allowing.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 15/07/2019 22:45:07    2211660

Replying To Aibrean:  "The general consensus - certainly among Kerry fans - was that Hurson was poor. He left some outrageous fouls go and did not tick anyone for the numerous Mayo fouls in the first 30 minutes or so. Hard to agree with 'Brian Gavin who says in today's Irish Examiner that 'Sean Hurson had an excellent game'.
Sadly, it is increasingly more difficult to see any connection between the rule book and game as played. Here is an extract from the rule book: A tackler may use his body to confront the opponent but deliberate bodily contact such as punching, slapping, arm holding, pushing, tripping, jersey pulling or a full frontal charge is forbidden.
And, frees should be brought forward by 13 metres - yes, thirteen - not the 30 metres or so that Hurson was allowing."
Yep I'd agree with that. It has become unrefereeable almost as much as hurling. However, an individual ref isn't going to take it upon himself on any given day to start reffing as per the rulebook. There would be mayhem and all sorts of abuse thrown at him. The GAA need to take a hold of this and make some systemic changes.

In relation to the 13m advantage, I don't think refs use it half enough. It's clearly stated in the mark rule that the defender must get out of the way but how often do we see them delay that quick free. Make any transgression a 13m free in front of the posts and support refs in implementing it and many of those problems will be fixed. In rugby how often do we see players being penalised for not rolling away! It's a penalty in rugby which even if not scoreable is still a major decision against a team

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 15/07/2019 23:22:00    2211680

Replying To TheHermit:  "In your opinion...."
Well yes....its a forum so all posts are usually a persons opinion & it is my opinion that that post reeks of arrogance.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/07/2019 05:51:39    2211711

Replying To Aibrean:  "The general consensus - certainly among Kerry fans - was that Hurson was poor. He left some outrageous fouls go and did not tick anyone for the numerous Mayo fouls in the first 30 minutes or so. Hard to agree with 'Brian Gavin who says in today's Irish Examiner that 'Sean Hurson had an excellent game'.
And, frees should be brought forward by 13 metres - yes, thirteen - not the 30 metres or so that Hurson was allowing."
Will the cccc cite AOS for kicking Spillane in the back of the head?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/07/2019 09:46:22    2211733

Replying To lilylanger:  "Well yes....its a forum so all posts are usually a persons opinion & it is my opinion that that post reeks of arrogance."
No wonder you're so grouchy when you're up so early to give out.
If you think someone simply saying Kerry have loftier ambitions in a given year than winning a round 1 Q-final than I suggest you know very little about Gaelic football or its history but then again that's just my opinion :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/07/2019 09:55:45    2211737

Replying To lilylanger:  "Well yes....its a forum so all posts are usually a persons opinion & it is my opinion that that post reeks of arrogance."
The same way you said Mayo were better than Kerry and would win. Just an opinion but was completely wrong ofcourse.
You dont hide your dislike for Kerry that's grand out, your opinion is therfore driven by a particular agenda.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/07/2019 10:04:16    2211741

Replying To centerfield:  "Doherty immune to getting dropped he's a really average center forward"
He's a wing forward.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 16/07/2019 10:12:59    2211748

Replying To westkerry:  "The same way you said Mayo were better than Kerry and would win. Just an opinion but was completely wrong ofcourse.
You dont hide your dislike for Kerry that's grand out, your opinion is therfore driven by a particular agenda."
I still think Mayo are better than Kerry man for man but you have Clifford and Moran who are sublime. Mayo are missing their midfield. Durcan was also a huge loss to them too. I think if they had their full panel they would have beaten you at the weekend but sure we will never know. Just because Mayo were beaten does not mean my opinion is wrong btw. The two are not mutually exclusive. Also, I actually like Kerry football like most football. It's some of the supporters I've met & obviously posters on here that I dont like. It's the arrogance you see. It's just a trait I don't like & a lot of Kerry folk have arrogance in abundance. No agenda. A simple dislike.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/07/2019 10:28:06    2211758

Replying To westkerry:  "The same way you said Mayo were better than Kerry and would win. Just an opinion but was completely wrong ofcourse.
You dont hide your dislike for Kerry that's grand out, your opinion is therfore driven by a particular agenda."
The arrogance of someone coming on here to label Kerry supporters as arrogant ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/07/2019 12:58:04    2211833

Replying To lilylanger:  "I still think Mayo are better than Kerry man for man but you have Clifford and Moran who are sublime. Mayo are missing their midfield. Durcan was also a huge loss to them too. I think if they had their full panel they would have beaten you at the weekend but sure we will never know. Just because Mayo were beaten does not mean my opinion is wrong btw. The two are not mutually exclusive. Also, I actually like Kerry football like most football. It's some of the supporters I've met & obviously posters on here that I dont like. It's the arrogance you see. It's just a trait I don't like & a lot of Kerry folk have arrogance in abundance. No agenda. A simple dislike."
"A lot of kerry folk have arrogance in abundance"
haha, now that's a new one. We have been called many things but being arrogant is a new one for me. Good one!

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 16/07/2019 13:49:42    2211862