Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Anyone who doesn't vote to show anti or pro government/ party/candidate stance has zero credibility for me. I don't share the views of some 'far' right candidates but they're entitled to their opinions and at least they're not sitting anonymously on a fence on YouTube, X or Facebook. It's a democracy and the near left will continue with the wokey cokey for the time being. Hopefully they can look after those less fortunate and not those they targeted to get them enough votes to get to Kildare Street. Fair play to any candidate, have to be in it to win it. No polling booths on social media."
True, fair play to anyone that puts themselves forward for election, I always vote and consider it my duty as a citizen as long as I'm still able to go out and vote I always will.
The 'far' right have made no impact as far as I know, SF will be in opposition for a long time,
we could see FF/FG plus another small party in gov together for the foreseeable future.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3044 - 30/11/2024 15:06:37    2581774

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "As long as FF/FG have decided to cosy up together there can never be a change in government for eternity…. Imagine that in the past when they despised each other….They can impose whatever on the people but will always be in power…. SF are the most popular party but that means nothing …"
Wrong again.. Sinn Féin are the 3rd most popular party.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1975 - 01/12/2024 10:57:53    2581823

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Wrong again.. Sinn Féin are the 3rd most popular party."
Depends on your definition.

You talking about the number of seats or number of votes?

I'm not a sinn Fein support, nor do I actively support FF or FG but speaking purely democratically, what FF/FG are doing to deliberately exclude sinn Fein is nothing short of a scandal.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3172 - 01/12/2024 11:52:51    2581827

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Wrong again.. Sinn Féin are the 3rd most popular party."
Bit of disaster really. Were on 30% in polls a year ago.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3186 - 01/12/2024 12:14:57    2581834

Third most? In what way?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2658 - 01/12/2024 12:37:43    2581836

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "As long as FF/FG have decided to cosy up together there can never be a change in government for eternity…. Imagine that in the past when they despised each other….They can impose whatever on the people but will always be in power…. SF are the most popular party but that means nothing …"
It's funny how people keep saying SF are the most popular party despite it obviously not being the case.

Also funny to see how many are throwing their toys out of the pram because it hadn't gone how they want.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1475 - 01/12/2024 14:11:33    2581841

Sinn Fein have made great progress in the past 10 years but are also more than happy to remain in opposition for now but pretend to be outraged at the situation. You think they want to be in government and handed the health and housing portfolios? No chance!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8172 - 01/12/2024 15:21:20    2581848

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Depends on your definition.

I'm not a sinn Fein support, nor do I actively support FF or FG but speaking purely democratically, what FF/FG are doing to deliberately exclude sinn Fein is nothing short of a scandal."
It's not a scandal at all. It's basic politics. Happens everywhere all the time. Nothing scandalous about it

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3676 - 01/12/2024 15:40:47    2581853

It's embarrassing for FF to have to go cap in hand to their great rivals FG to try and cling onto power… A huge fall from grace when they won elections with an overall majority… FG think they are making great progress despite losing over 40 seats since 2011.. figure that one out…??

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3055 - 01/12/2024 15:50:06    2581855

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Sinn Fein have made great progress in the past 10 years but are also more than happy to remain in opposition for now but pretend to be outraged at the situation. You think they want to be in government and handed the health and housing portfolios? No chance!"
Probably an accurate assessment. Gerry Hutch came close to election on immigration and housing, pipped at the post by Marie Sherlock after independents vote transfer. Sinn Fein will badger ruling party on these issues!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 399 - 01/12/2024 15:56:34    2581856

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Probably an accurate assessment. Gerry Hutch came close to election on immigration and housing, pipped at the post by Marie Sherlock after independents vote transfer. Sinn Fein will badger ruling party on these issues!"
You clearly have no clue about what happened in Dublin Central..

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3186 - 01/12/2024 16:31:20    2581861

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Probably an accurate assessment. Gerry Hutch came close to election on immigration and housing, pipped at the post by Marie Sherlock after independents vote transfer. Sinn Fein will badger ruling party on these issues!"
SF badger government???

You seem to mistake them for the former republican party of that name.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3186 - 01/12/2024 16:39:31    2581866

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You clearly have no clue about what happened in Dublin Central.."
Do i want to??

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 399 - 01/12/2024 16:49:46    2581873

I think Sf's policy of open borders lost them a lot of support all over the country, they may change their stance on the subject now.
FF has whip hand now and I don't think they should offer a rotating Taoiseach to FG, great to Pat the Cope elected in Donegal, Charlie Mc Conalogue is in a real battle here to hold his seat.
I think we are heading for a better Gov next time without the ridiculous green policies.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3044 - 01/12/2024 17:37:57    2581891

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Do i want to??"
Oh. Different person of your name above knew it inaide out! Apologies...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3186 - 01/12/2024 18:08:12    2581895

RTE have come in for a lot of criticism on this thread over the months/years. I think that their election coverage on TV, Radio, and on-line ( particuarly with detailed election counts) has been top class.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 636 - 01/12/2024 18:31:55    2581899

29% of 18 to 24s voted FFG, the same number that voted SF. Young people, renters, mammy's sofa sleepers, high childcare payers etc all today lost the right to moan about anything. You got the right wing, big business, corporate government you wanted. Slap it right up ye!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9787 - 01/12/2024 18:36:40    2581903

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Depends on your definition.

I'm not a sinn Fein support, nor do I actively support FF or FG but speaking purely democratically, what FF/FG are doing to deliberately exclude sinn Fein is nothing short of a scandal."
With the utmost respect to you Doyler that's a very naive/ ill informed post. The electorate are well enough informed prior to the election that FFG won't go into government with SF. So it cant really be called scandalous. Maybe if more people bothered their arses voting instead of giving out (not meaning you) things might be different! Our voting system is the envy of many the country around the world for its stability. There only us and Malta that have PR! And with that in mind, as we've seen in this election, there's nothing to stop anyone putting themselves up for election, all you need is 30 constituency signatures and 500 hundred quid! I have the utmost respect for anyone that does this and no respect for the moaners!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 266 - 01/12/2024 19:23:40    2581915

Replying To Ulsterman:  "29% of 18 to 24s voted FFG, the same number that voted SF. Young people, renters, mammy's sofa sleepers, high childcare payers etc all today lost the right to moan about anything. You got the right wing, big business, corporate government you wanted. Slap it right up ye!"
If it stops us paying your dole money Ulsterman well then I'm all for that!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 266 - 01/12/2024 19:41:13    2581920

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Bit of disaster really. Were on 30% in polls a year ago."
Think they have done better than anyone expected over the last few months. Apart from the Greens I imagine FG will be the most disappointed party. Based their running strategy on having 50% more vote than they turned out to have in the end. That cost them several seats.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13997 - 01/12/2024 20:17:05    2581928