Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To jobber:  "As far as I know yes."
Surely choice as they are good enough

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 586 - 08/02/2025 19:59:56    2590119

Being somewhat competitive today would represent progress of some kind, certainly don't want a fifteen point defeat, the games versus Laois, Offaly and Carlow will decide if we're in division 3 next year, that would be a serious drop in standard compared to last few years, hopefully today will see some promising signs

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2021 - 09/02/2025 08:52:58    2590179

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Being somewhat competitive today would represent progress of some kind, certainly don't want a fifteen point defeat, the games versus Laois, Offaly and Carlow will decide if we're in division 3 next year, that would be a serious drop in standard compared to last few years, hopefully today will see some promising signs"
Its a pity a lot of players are coming back in dribs and drabs as we needed to hit the ground running but it's a chance for a lot of the younger lads today and hopefully we can be competitive. As you say, it's the Laois, Offaly and Carlow games that matter most.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 993 - 09/02/2025 11:49:28    2590209

Difficult game to analyse, a seven point defeat seems acceptable and our first half shooting was exceptional, Dublin down to 14 men for last 25 mins but we failed to capitalise on scoreboard. Our discipline was poor in closing stages when we needed to be composed. Good to see Niall O' Brien and David O' Reilly back, Eamon Cunneen scored three fine points, Jack Gillen looks a decent keeper, Darragh McCormack will benefit from outing, Offaly game looks a challenge based on their win today. Beating Laois next weekend is an absolute necessity to avoid relegation

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2021 - 09/02/2025 16:17:21    2590268

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Difficult game to analyse, a seven point defeat seems acceptable and our first half shooting was exceptional, Dublin down to 14 men for last 25 mins but we failed to capitalise on scoreboard. Our discipline was poor in closing stages when we needed to be composed. Good to see Niall O' Brien and David O' Reilly back, Eamon Cunneen scored three fine points, Jack Gillen looks a decent keeper, Darragh McCormack will benefit from outing, Offaly game looks a challenge based on their win today. Beating Laois next weekend is an absolute necessity to avoid relegation"
I thought our hurling looked quiet decent but our fitness needs to improve massively, you mentioned discipline and we committed a lot of needless frees from lazy tired fouling. One player came on and went back off again. We need to get the fitness up.
Great to see players starting to come back. It was important for Darragh McCormack to get that full game under his belt. We haven't a settled starting 15 at all and it's going to take a couple of games to get there too. I was impressed with a lot of the younger players today nonetheless.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 993 - 09/02/2025 16:42:07    2590270

Credibable battling permormance. Still going to be hard to pick up wins in this division. Did I hear right on the radio? 2 teams get relagated? Offaly made light work of Antrim I see. Waterford took Laois handy enough.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 249 - 09/02/2025 16:59:56    2590273

That game was there for the taking. Dublin with 14 men for 25 mins and still out scored us. Our managers view that promotion was there for westmeath at the start of year is gone after game 2. Dublin never out of second gear and always in control.. Poor attendance from westmeath supporters too. All in all poor day out. We failed to capitalise on numerical advantage, line were slow to give instructions on that aspect. Was sitting beside them and it's clear Shane O'Brien is running the show... He'll be manager next year if we don't win McDonagh!! Mark my word.. Flat from few players too but most tried their best Dublin supporter beside me said Dublin did full session yesterday in preperation for leinster. We will be beat by Waterford carlow and offaly. Will beat Laois and end up relegated. We've gone backwards in my view. Positive to see Niall and David back.
Hopefully Killin Doyle will committ to panel as we will need all to get to McDonagh final. Just my honest opinion

Danup (Westmeath) - Posts: 54 - 09/02/2025 17:41:39    2590279

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Being somewhat competitive today would represent progress of some kind, certainly don't want a fifteen point defeat, the games versus Laois, Offaly and Carlow will decide if we're in division 3 next year, that would be a serious drop in standard compared to last few years, hopefully today will see some promising signs"
2 teams go down. Would be shocking if that happened. Donegal meath and the like in that div A disaster if it happened.. Hopefully win against Laois and then pick up one more win
4 points will keep you safe with head to head rule. So all to play for. Should be competitive against laois offaly and carlow

Danup (Westmeath) - Posts: 54 - 09/02/2025 17:49:24    2590281

I doubt that a new manager said that promotion was there for us? I wouldn't like to see us in division 1 facing annihilation every week, reality is from the outset we were in a relegation battle with the other midlands counties and Offaly have already secured safety and Carlow are on three points. Antrim could be dragged into a relegation fight based on today's trimming. The lack of support is a long standing issue, Dublin outnumbered us today probably 4-1, it wasn't hard to do that though, Laois match crucial

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2021 - 09/02/2025 17:55:59    2590282

He said it on Midlands radio that all teams evenly matched in 1b and it presents a real opurtunity for promotion.... Don't tell me you think Bulfin was lying.....!!!!!

Danup (Westmeath) - Posts: 54 - 09/02/2025 18:08:13    2590284

Can't see us beating Offaly after the beating they gave Antrim, Carlow always improving and they already beat Waterford, ourselves and Laois are always neck and neck, really hope we stay in1B for the good of hurling in the county but it's going to be a battle..

Bigjoe1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 60 - 09/02/2025 18:27:50    2590288

Replying To Claretandblue:  "I doubt that a new manager said that promotion was there for us? I wouldn't like to see us in division 1 facing annihilation every week, reality is from the outset we were in a relegation battle with the other midlands counties and Offaly have already secured safety and Carlow are on three points. Antrim could be dragged into a relegation fight based on today's trimming. The lack of support is a long standing issue, Dublin outnumbered us today probably 4-1, it wasn't hard to do that though, Laois match crucial"
He won't say otherwise maybe being positive all going well westmeath on day could but need all players but lost antrim curtailed that now survival must playing in division where u not expected not always bad thing can improve quality at times

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 586 - 09/02/2025 20:16:20    2590298

Hurling at county second fiddle in Westmeath among most thats quite clear despite decent competitive senior clubs it's concerning westmeath slip since competing leinster championship.

Probably sign with top senior hurling not nearly most on panel

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 586 - 09/02/2025 20:18:01    2590299

If shane o brien was that good why did he just up and leave in the first place unexpectedly leaving the team to try and build again...these managers are just going around looking for experience same as bulfin and not really showing loyalty to the counties they are supposedly trying to improve

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 776 - 09/02/2025 20:58:17    2590305

Contradictory statement, he's highly regarded as a coach and naturally wanted to test himself with better quality players, reality is we're seen by coaches in hurling as a stepping stone to bigger gigs, that's not insulting as long as they're fully committed when with us. I'd rather those lads than likes of Davy Fitz who's just looking for any gig now that he's been with any of the top counties who'd have him. None of the other top 8/9 sides would touch him

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2021 - 10/02/2025 11:21:45    2590380

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Contradictory statement, he's highly regarded as a coach and naturally wanted to test himself with better quality players, reality is we're seen by coaches in hurling as a stepping stone to bigger gigs, that's not insulting as long as they're fully committed when with us. I'd rather those lads than likes of Davy Fitz who's just looking for any gig now that he's been with any of the top counties who'd have him. None of the other top 8/9 sides would touch him"
well the present manager just upped and left his previous role with hardly any notice (to take time out for personal reasons) but a few months later suddenly was available for a bigger job (westmeath)...this is not hate its just the way i see it, it shows a lack of commitment and trying to bring continunity in a percieved smaller county and building something solid for the future.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 776 - 10/02/2025 12:24:54    2590397

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Contradictory statement, he's highly regarded as a coach and naturally wanted to test himself with better quality players, reality is we're seen by coaches in hurling as a stepping stone to bigger gigs, that's not insulting as long as they're fully committed when with us. I'd rather those lads than likes of Davy Fitz who's just looking for any gig now that he's been with any of the top counties who'd have him. None of the other top 8/9 sides would touch him"
Spot on.O Brien has given Westmeath hurling good service.The game with Laois next weekend is a final.Win and confidence will be high.If our best players are fully fit after that I think we can get the points we need to stay up.Lose and it's division 2 simple as that.Laois will be well up for it so nothing but 100% for the 70+ minutes will do.We lost by 7 yesterday missed 7 frees so that's an issue to be sorted this week.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1637 - 10/02/2025 12:26:37    2590398

Replying To jobber:  "Spot on.O Brien has given Westmeath hurling good service.The game with Laois next weekend is a final.Win and confidence will be high.If our best players are fully fit after that I think we can get the points we need to stay up.Lose and it's division 2 simple as that.Laois will be well up for it so nothing but 100% for the 70+ minutes will do.We lost by 7 yesterday missed 7 frees so that's an issue to be sorted this week."
David Williams is usually very accurate with his frees but did have an off day with them yesterday, still contributed a good few points from play. Having Niall O'Brien on the pitch gives us another option with frees.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 993 - 10/02/2025 12:39:03    2590405

Most observers felt that one of his frees that was signalled as a point was actually wide. Missing 2-3 65s in the modern game is costly. 90% of hurlers at this level score 65s

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2021 - 10/02/2025 14:06:07    2590429

Last year you were all praising David williams on his free taking and being top scorer of the league just because he missed 3 frees yesterday it's like o jesus quick put Niall O'brien on them or Killian Doyle seems like you have little faith in him ye are all talk about getting the other lads back I think some people don't trust these young lads it's been the young lads that have been killing themselves the last two games and working hard while the players you expect to stand out looked like they didn't want to be there yesterday. Over all I still feel some lads are still out of position shane williams is a wing back when are management going to realise that, put Robbie greville back in centre back that's his natural position. Just my opinion.

pollard123 (Westmeath) - Posts: 18 - 10/02/2025 21:58:26    2590504