Donegal GAA thread

Why do people respond to posters who are clearly just there to wind up. I'd say I've posted more on the mayo forum that that contributer.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 860 - 12/06/2025 20:27:51    2617040

Looks like a near sell out for the weekend. I concur with others that a draw is a massive player. I certainly wouldn't be predicting a big Donegal win especially with the unknown Patton factor. If Mayo can bring their ferocious renowned intensity I can really see them targeting Mulreaney however pushing up on Patton brings a huge risk factor if in full health and launching his bombs. I think Mayo could have an advantage around the middle especially with no McGee or McGonigle however both teams are good when it comes to winning loose broken ball. Can Donegal target Mayo's kick outs? The Mayo lads will know more but I did hear somewhere that they can be a little predictable. Interesting to see if Mayo use O'Donoghue as a decoy to drag McCole out the field like Tyrone did with Darragh Canavan leaving us more open. However despite been a smart ploy by Tyrone I'm not sure they'd have gotten the goals if Patton played. We definitely cannot put in the forward display we did against Tyrone so important the other players keep the Cavan momentum. Hopefully Donegal can get the win and I think they can if bringing anywhere near to their top form but with Mayo you can never be confident. Plus if Tyrone are winning handy I agree with other posters that you could see a draw being played out. A home tie in the preliminary is imperative.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2871 - 12/06/2025 23:06:59    2617062

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Looks like an easy win for Donegal on all form guides."
jacktheboy is another mayo troll.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3247 - 12/06/2025 23:48:09    2617069

With Tyrone bringing two of their U20 All Ireland winning squad into the Senior panel, is their any possibility of Jim doing the same? He obviously has done it previously with Paddy McBrearty, Jigger and Roarty, but is there a possibility of Kevin Muldoon appearing in the extended squad even? I think he's 19 in July, which would make him eligible. I don't know what it is, he's very stylish, reminds me of Christy Toye in his prime.

Is Sean Martin still involved in the training squad?

Also, are Luke McGlynn or Oisín Caulfield still in the extended panel?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 13/06/2025 01:33:18    2617081

Replying To panamasam:  "Looks like a near sell out for the weekend. I concur with others that a draw is a massive player. I certainly wouldn't be predicting a big Donegal win especially with the unknown Patton factor. If Mayo can bring their ferocious renowned intensity I can really see them targeting Mulreaney however pushing up on Patton brings a huge risk factor if in full health and launching his bombs. I think Mayo could have an advantage around the middle especially with no McGee or McGonigle however both teams are good when it comes to winning loose broken ball. Can Donegal target Mayo's kick outs? The Mayo lads will know more but I did hear somewhere that they can be a little predictable. Interesting to see if Mayo use O'Donoghue as a decoy to drag McCole out the field like Tyrone did with Darragh Canavan leaving us more open. However despite been a smart ploy by Tyrone I'm not sure they'd have gotten the goals if Patton played. We definitely cannot put in the forward display we did against Tyrone so important the other players keep the Cavan momentum. Hopefully Donegal can get the win and I think they can if bringing anywhere near to their top form but with Mayo you can never be confident. Plus if Tyrone are winning handy I agree with other posters that you could see a draw being played out. A home tie in the preliminary is imperative."
If Mayo win they top the group - why would they play out for a draw?

NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 23 - 13/06/2025 08:49:33    2617092

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Michael Murphy wins player of the month, what a player he is to come out of retirement and get himself back in top condition again and playing the way he is, lot of fellas could take lessons from him.
https://www.donegaldaily.com/2025/06/12/murphy-wins-gaa-player-of-the-month/"
Yes fair play to Michael, he is an inspiration.
What's even better is how it's winding up so many Armagh fans online.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9803 - 13/06/2025 09:06:53    2617096

Replying To NORTHMEN:  "If Mayo win they top the group - why would they play out for a draw?"
If word has filtered through that Tyrone are winning well, and our game is tight, why wouldn't Mayo go for it? The carrot is there. Finish top and you get a wee break until the quarters. But on the flip side, if Mayo were to over commit seeking the win, and Donegal counter attacked and won the game, then Mayo would be out completely.
A classic risk/reward scenario.

I think the risk would outweigh the potential benefit. A draw would suit both Donegal and Mayo. Then again I'm not Stephen Rochford or a Mayo player.

Picture this for a horrible scenario.

Cavan are drawing or beating Tyrone (unlikely I know)
Donegal are level with Mayo and the hooter has gone, but Mayo have possession. A Mayo player has a pot shot to nothing from outside the arc and lands a two pointer...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9803 - 13/06/2025 09:58:21    2617120

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Looks like an easy win for Donegal on all form guides."
Stupid post

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 544 - 13/06/2025 10:00:43    2617121

Replying To NORTHMEN:  "If Mayo win they top the group - why would they play out for a draw?"
To avoid losing

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 669 - 13/06/2025 10:29:27    2617131

Team announced. Patton named to start, and appears that Mulreany is out, Danny Rogers named as Sub Keeper.

Jason named at 26, which obviously debunks the rumour that he was finished completely.

Hopefully we'll get the job done.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 13/06/2025 10:34:24    2617134

Patton named to start. Danny Rogers named on the bench. Mulreany out of the 26. Interesting news on the keepers.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 669 - 13/06/2025 10:37:40    2617135

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Team announced. Patton named to start, and appears that Mulreany is out, Danny Rogers named as Sub Keeper.

Jason named at 26, which obviously debunks the rumour that he was finished completely.

Hopefully we'll get the job done."
No idea who starts these ridiculous rumours or why. McGonagle will also be back but not this weekend. Not a fan of all these playing for a draw ideas. We go down, we win, we secure at least a home PQF, hopefully without any injuries, job done and onto next week in Ballybofey where we should be able for whoever the draw throws up.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 13/06/2025 10:44:05    2617137

Shaun Patton, Finnbarr Roarty, Brendan McCole, Peadar Mogan, Ryan McHugh, Eoghan Bán Gallagher, Ciarán Moore, Hugh McFadden, Michael Langan, Dáire Ó Baoill, Ciarán Thompson, Shane O'Donnell, Conor O'Donnell, Michael Murphy, Oisín Gallen

Fir Ionaid (Substitutes): Danny Rodgers, Stephen McMeniman, Odhrán McFadden Ferry, Mark Curran, Odhrán Doherty, Aaron Doherty, Patrick McBrearty, Jamie Brennan, Eoin McHugh, Caolan McColgan, Jason McGee.

Best wishes to all the team and management this weekend, going to be a very tough encounter. Mulreany must have a season ending injury, no other explanation for it with Rodgers suddenly being brought onto the bench. Great to see McGee back, hopefully he will get game time.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 13/06/2025 11:00:22    2617146

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "No idea who starts these ridiculous rumours or why. McGonagle will also be back but not this weekend. Not a fan of all these playing for a draw ideas. We go down, we win, we secure at least a home PQF, hopefully without any injuries, job done and onto next week in Ballybofey where we should be able for whoever the draw throws up."
I'd be of the same opinion. Why leave anything to chance? Plus we're well overdue a win against Mayo. People have been commenting on Mayo's great record in the Hyde, and it's not insignificant. But Jim McGuinness hadn't lost a league/championship game in Ballybofey up until the Tyrone defeat recently. Records are there to be broken.

Donegal 1-18 - 1-14 Mayo

CMON DONEGAL!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9803 - 13/06/2025 11:08:05    2617149

Replying To greenfan:  "Patton named to start. Danny Rogers named on the bench. Mulreany out of the 26. Interesting news on the keepers."
Word out last weekend that mulraney is injured. Rodgers very able keeper probably 2nd best in the county if he committed..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2624 - 13/06/2025 11:08:19    2617150

Replying To Lockjaw:  "If word has filtered through that Tyrone are winning well, and our game is tight, why wouldn't Mayo go for it? The carrot is there. Finish top and you get a wee break until the quarters. But on the flip side, if Mayo were to over commit seeking the win, and Donegal counter attacked and won the game, then Mayo would be out completely.
A classic risk/reward scenario.

I think the risk would outweigh the potential benefit. A draw would suit both Donegal and Mayo. Then again I'm not Stephen Rochford or a Mayo player.

Picture this for a horrible scenario.

Cavan are drawing or beating Tyrone (unlikely I know)
Donegal are level with Mayo and the hooter has gone, but Mayo have possession. A Mayo player has a pot shot to nothing from outside the arc and lands a two pointer..."
Anyone remember Ireland v Holland world cup 1990. last 20 mins both hardly attacked as a draw got both out of group (England topped it), but that may have backfired on holland as they got eventual winner west germany next while we got romania - apologies using a soccer comparison!!

NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 23 - 13/06/2025 11:16:30    2617152

Every bit as likely that Patton is out and Gavin is to start with Rodgers on bench. Mayo will have homework done on all three. Rodgers well-fit for this level regardless, there's a lot to be said for introducing fresh energy into a playing squad.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 13/06/2025 11:29:27    2617155

The general consensus is that Mayo need the game to be a high intensity end to end type of game. On the face of it I would agree with this as Mayo are brilliant when they play with that type of intensity. However I was looking at their scoring average and it's around 1-14 per game. Does that paint a different picture? Surely in an end to end game Donegal will score north of 20 points, probably a lot more. Will Mayo play a more cagey game?

I am really looking forward to the game. Donegal are probably slight favourites as they have more scoring power but it could swing either way. I thought Mayo were great against Tyrone.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1909 - 13/06/2025 11:43:09    2617162

Replying To rorysboys:  "Word out last weekend that mulraney is injured. Rodgers very able keeper probably 2nd best in the county if he committed.."
Yeah Rogers is a very good keeper, very comfortable with kick outs going short or long. Can go long to the opposition 45 , similar to Patton

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 669 - 13/06/2025 12:07:14    2617169

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "With Tyrone bringing two of their U20 All Ireland winning squad into the Senior panel, is their any possibility of Jim doing the same? He obviously has done it previously with Paddy McBrearty, Jigger and Roarty, but is there a possibility of Kevin Muldoon appearing in the extended squad even? I think he's 19 in July, which would make him eligible. I don't know what it is, he's very stylish, reminds me of Christy Toye in his prime.

Is Sean Martin still involved in the training squad?

Also, are Luke McGlynn or Oisín Caulfield still in the extended panel?"
Mcguinness has talked a number of times about bringing in the best minor. He's a little curtailed with minors being under 17 ans not being allowed to take them the year after minors. I guess though someone like mccahill will be given a go next year if that logic continues. Muldoon I think is a year older and probably doing the leaving. At this stage he's a more logical choice for next year.

It was mentioned in the 20s coverage that the best of the 20s did train with seniors over the winter. If any of them were really ready they'd be in, a bit like roarty. And what roarty is doing is certainly not normal, especially with the conditioning required to play senior county football. It's hard to believe he won't be a target for the afl teams. I think cian mcmenamin was also being talked about but injuries have been a challenge. It was very unfortunate what happened him in the first play against tyrone.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 860 - 13/06/2025 13:25:06    2617185