Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "We will have humble pie in connacht final why is that? Only ever a kick of a ball between us and Galway . We are well able to beat Galway and think we will in McHale park. They won it last year after a fluke free Galway are overated .

We won't beat ye by 20 points more like 10 or so as above comment said we do tend to play to level of opposition ."
So that's why ye never win the all Ireland. Makes sense now.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 17/04/2025 17:02:41    2602464

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "couple of lads from carrick straight off. and few others to back fill the subs. i'm not going to start putting their names on here as they're only young lads trying to make their way and in fairness to them they stepped up when we needed them.

also i don't need to be informed i was at the game. maybe go yourself and you'll see."
I was there, everyone who played and cane on has been in the squad and training since well before Christmas.

Bowser93 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 17/04/2025 17:44:03    2602472

Replying To eoinog:  "I notice that all the good solid posters from Leitrim have stepped aside basically because this forum isn't nice to Leitrim football. What is left are the ones who love doom and gloom, they can't wait for the drubbing they will get on Sunday , they might even start to post 10 minutes after the ball is thrown in."
it is rare we lose every competitive game in a year, to be fair to us. expected a little more from minors and U20s but the writing was on the wall for the seniors once it became knowledge how many planned to not commit this year and the disillusion trickled down to other players and teams. Some counties are happy when they win titles, we are just happy when we win and cannot even do that anymore.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 623 - 17/04/2025 18:15:57    2602476

Love these Mayo people trying to say they won't hammer us. We were routinely beaten by division 3 teams by 20+ points and the 21 points the bookies are offering on a division 1 team looks like free money if you're that way inclined. You can't understand how poor in a situation we are in until you see us.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 418 - 17/04/2025 18:32:12    2602478

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see the bookies for those who are betting folk have placed a handicap of 21 points on the game. I'm not a betting man nor do I advise people to but always good to see what the actuaries are coming up with. Tbh I think it'll be closer to 30 if Mayo were to keep the foot down. The heads will swell on them and then they'll have humble pie for dessert in the Connacht Final.

Write off 2025 in Leitrim, get rid of Poacher as soon as Tailteann Cup is over and invest in getting someone to investigate into the structural issues within the county that'd be how I'd like to approach thing if it were as bad in Sligo. A weak Leitrim does no one any good in Connacht."
Agree 100%

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 213 - 17/04/2025 18:37:48    2602479

U20's together for how many months and this is what is produced. Too many players with the seniors and it wouldn't happen anywhere else with that many crossing over. A complete shambles the whole thing, are they getting any coaching at all with Glancy. Minors ran Roscommon close because they fielded a weakened side but credit to them.
Mayo will leave 25 plus on Leitrim Saturday.
Poacher will be gone and a local man surrounded by good coaches is the way forward and leave the 20's alone.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 488 - 17/04/2025 19:26:54    2602483

Replying To S1234:  "We will have humble pie in connacht final why is that? Only ever a kick of a ball between us and Galway . We are well able to beat Galway and think we will in McHale park. They won it last year after a fluke free Galway are overated .

We won't beat ye by 20 points more like 10 or so as above comment said we do tend to play to level of opposition ."
We haven't reached a Connacht Final yet and either Have Galway. If Roscommon hit form and Galway don't we could be playing Roscommon in the Connacht Final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7916 - 17/04/2025 22:34:19    2602507

Replying To williesboy:  "U20's together for how many months and this is what is produced. Too many players with the seniors and it wouldn't happen anywhere else with that many crossing over. A complete shambles the whole thing, are they getting any coaching at all with Glancy. Minors ran Roscommon close because they fielded a weakened side but credit to them.
Mayo will leave 25 plus on Leitrim Saturday.
Poacher will be gone and a local man surrounded by good coaches is the way forward and leave the 20's alone."
I agree with all of this. The right local man might be hard got tho?

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 410 - 18/04/2025 10:24:20    2602544

Not here to sneer, the opposite in fact.
Leitrim have been through the wars this year with Mickey Graeme sensing what was on the cards and doing a runner and Poacher picking up the baton and was dealt a really poor hand.
With so few players then available it was inevitable that yee would have to call on so many U20's but despite great hype about yeer 20's it has been a very poor return in that regard. When yeer 20's management start to call the shots and pull players from yeer senior squad then that was the nuclear move. And all for what? Seniors can't get a team out and 4 heavy hammerings for your 20's. I assume the questions have been asked around the decision making on this, or no lessons will be learned. In any other county if an U20 is a senior player then senior comes first, all day long.

I wish Leitrim well this weekend against the mighty Mayo. Regardless of what happens, massive credit has to be attributed to your senior players who have kept the shoulder to the wheel diligently and admirably. Laitroim Abú.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 154 - 18/04/2025 11:36:54    2602560

Team named it's good to see Mc Nulty and Casey back but our bench is almost completely made up of lads with no championship experience so that's not going to help us at all. Is Keith Beirne gone from panel or injured does anyone know? Would have thought the Harkins would have made the 26 are they injured?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 281 - 18/04/2025 11:56:47    2602567

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I agree with all of this. The right local man might be hard got tho?"
He might be but it's way beyond time for us to steer our own ship. Put the money into improving our players and facilities. A few years in Division 4 will do us no harm.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1266 - 18/04/2025 12:12:20    2602570

Best of luck to our minor team this evening.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 18/04/2025 16:40:06    2602625

Replying To bláthach:  "Best of luck to our minor team this evening."
Well done to minors tonight. It was a really good win.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 556 - 18/04/2025 21:48:25    2602665

Good win tonight for the young lads. Well done to all. I thought Sligo were very poor, disappointingly so really. Although I'm sure they'll learn from finishing bottom of the group and come back stronger.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 18/04/2025 23:01:13    2602680

Replying To joeman123:  "Well done to minors tonight. It was a really good win."
Our Minors showed their class against Sligo. It was a pleasure to watch them & 4 goals was a great return. Our defence was solid with Scott Kerr one for the future while Senan McGowan had another outstanding game along with a lively Attacking force. Could do well in the All Ireland series. tonight's win is a great boost for the squad & long suffering fans.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 152 - 19/04/2025 00:15:17    2602683

Replying To joeman123:  "Well done to minors tonight. It was a really good win."
Very good win. Hopefully some of them
Will be available to mgmt for selection in the T Cup.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 545 - 19/04/2025 07:30:03    2602690

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Agree 100%"
Why on earth do you agree that we will get humble pie in final? Ridiculous statement.

We got hammered by Galway in league as we played our B team. We actually only lost to them by 4 points then with our B team in old money rules .
We will pay them back this year in connacht .

Onto today I do feel sorry for ye in your situation but you've good underage players coming up

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 19/04/2025 08:43:53    2602696

Replying To bláthach:  "So that's why ye never win the all Ireland. Makes sense now."
At least we fecking got to all those finals and I am still proud of them. Loads of counties like yourselves haven't even a hope of getting to a quarter /semi final let alone all the finals we have gotten to so grow up.
We come back year after year and that's thanks to our good underage system.

Don't be begrudging us..your underage system is good give it 4/5 years and ye will be doing well .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 19/04/2025 08:48:28    2602697

Replying To S1234:  "At least we fecking got to all those finals and I am still proud of them. Loads of counties like yourselves haven't even a hope of getting to a quarter /semi final let alone all the finals we have gotten to so grow up.
We come back year after year and that's thanks to our good underage system.

Don't be begrudging us..your underage system is good give it 4/5 years and ye will be doing well ."
Don't be pedantic. Thanks. Enjoy the weekend in Carrick. It's a lovely town. You will like

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 19/04/2025 09:36:24    2602700

Replying To martinjoe:  "Very good win. Hopefully some of them
Will be available to mgmt for selection in the T Cup."
Ah Martin Joe

I thought you were a genuine commentator!!

"some of them available for the Taikteann Cup"

Feck off and mind your own bloody business.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 556 - 19/04/2025 10:57:25    2602712