Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To The_analyser:  "Interesting team named. Few new and returning faces named to start. Strong looking bench even without Cathal Heneghan,Pearses players etc.

1.Conor Carroll (Oranmore/Maree)

2 Colm Neary (Strokestown)

3 Pearse Frost (St. Brigid's)

4 Niall Higgins (Elphin)

5 Brian Stack (St. Brigid's)

6 Shane Cunnane (St. Brigid's)

7 Tim Lambe (Roscommon Gaels)

8 Eddie Nolan (St. Brigid's)

9 Keith Doyle (St. Dominic's)

10 Shane Killoran (Elphin)

11 Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael)

12 Enda Smith (Boyle)

13 Diarmuid Murtagh (St. Faithleach's)

14 Cian McKeon (Boyle)

15 Daire Cregg (Boyle)

Subs: 16 Aaron Brady (Elphin), 17 Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gaels), 18 Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys), 19 Ruaidhrí Fallon (St. Brigid's), 20 John McManus (Roscommon Gaels), 21 Ciaráin Murtagh (St. Faithleach's), 22 Ben O'Carroll (St. Beigid's), 23 Donie Smith (Boyle), 24 Conor Cox (Éire Óg), 25 Conor Hand (St. Brigid's), 26 James Fitzpatrick (Oran).

Best of luck to Roscommon tomorrow"
On TG4 I believe.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 25/01/2025 14:05:20    2587458

Made hard work of that - a wins a win though and it's great to have Ciaran murtagh back !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 630 - 26/01/2025 16:35:11    2587705

Good to get up and running with the win and 7 point margin probably about right when you consider the amount of chances we wasted.

1st half wasn't good, conceded 1-14 of the 1-20 in total including a goal that was so preventable. Six two pointers conceded also by not closing down their shooters so work to do for next weeks tricky away trip to louth.

Highlight of the match was our 3rd goal. Outstanding block by Neary who had a fine debut and superb pass by McKeon and the finish by Ciaráin Murtagh would be talked about for years had Dublin,Kerry with David Clifford or Con O Callaghan scoring it.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3950 - 26/01/2025 16:46:19    2587708

Replying To The_analyser:  "Good to get up and running with the win and 7 point margin probably about right when you consider the amount of chances we wasted.

1st half wasn't good, conceded 1-14 of the 1-20 in total including a goal that was so preventable. Six two pointers conceded also by not closing down their shooters so work to do for next weeks tricky away trip to louth.

Highlight of the match was our 3rd goal. Outstanding block by Neary who had a fine debut and superb pass by McKeon and the finish by Ciaráin Murtagh would be talked about for years had Dublin,Kerry with David Clifford or Con O Callaghan scoring it."
Fair play. Ye played some lovely stuff. Nice jerseys too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7765 - 26/01/2025 17:12:31    2587720

Replying To The_analyser:  "Good to get up and running with the win and 7 point margin probably about right when you consider the amount of chances we wasted.

Highlight of the match was our 3rd goal. Outstanding block by Neary who had a fine debut and superb pass by McKeon and the finish by Ciaráin Murtagh would be talked about for years had Dublin,Kerry with David Clifford or Con O Callaghan scoring it."
Great to start with a win.
Didn't look likely when we went 7 down around the 40 minute mark but good substitutions upped the performance and well deserved win.

Players, officials and spectators badly needed the FBD etc this year to get used to the new rules.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 26/01/2025 19:07:22    2587754

Our round 2 game v Louth this Sunday has been moved to Drogheda.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3950 - 27/01/2025 16:26:49    2587979

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Great to start with a win.
Didn't look likely when we went 7 down around the 40 minute mark but good substitutions upped the performance and well deserved win.

Players, officials and spectators badly needed the FBD etc this year to get used to the new rules."
Ya a decent performance on Sunday. Thought the new lads done well and Ciaran Murtagh just proved again he's the best footballer in Roscommon. Enda had a mixed game but id expect him to improve his ball skills as the weeks go on. We looked rusty at times but it was very important to get 2 points on the board. Louth this Sunday will be a far bigger test and if we play to our best we should win but louth are very similar to ourselves

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1186 - 28/01/2025 08:39:46    2588093

Good result especially we were down 7 pts at one stage. However we were exposed again, where Down were able to run through our defence numerous times. we will not get away with this against better forwards away from home. More experienced defenders needed to brought as soon as possible.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 112 - 28/01/2025 12:45:01    2588159

Replying To hontherossie:  "Good result especially we were down 7 pts at one stage. However we were exposed again, where Down were able to run through our defence numerous times. we will not get away with this against better forwards away from home. More experienced defenders needed to brought as soon as possible."
In other words Murray and the Dalys?
We needed to try out new lads like Frost, Neary and the Lambes.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 28/01/2025 13:16:06    2588164

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "In other words Murray and the Dalys?
We needed to try out new lads like Frost, Neary and the Lambes."
Colm Neary was named on team of the week. The Lambe are developing players who need to get a chance in the League. I thought Niall Higgins was poor for the Down goal. Overall a very satisfactory result. I'd say Down under Conor Laverty have plenty of work done.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2318 - 28/01/2025 14:05:08    2588172

Good result especially we were down 7 pts at one stage. However we were exposed again, where Down were able to run through our defence numerous times. we will not get away with this against better forwards away from home. More experienced defenders needed to brought as soon as possible.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 112 - 28/01/2025 14:38:12    2588183

Replying To hontherossie:  "Good result especially we were down 7 pts at one stage. However we were exposed again, where Down were able to run through our defence numerous times. we will not get away with this against better forwards away from home. More experienced defenders needed to brought as soon as possible."
Main problem defensively was especially 1st half standing off the Down long range shooters, even the Down goal came from mis hit long range shot.

Neary,Lambe brothers,Frost will all hopefully get plenty of game time in this league campaign. A good learning experience for them and where we should build on our defensive options for the championship which is needed with McCormack gone and Conor Daly who hasn't returned to the panel yet and doubtful if he will.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3950 - 28/01/2025 15:41:56    2588209

Good to start off with a win, was a bit of a mad game like a lot at the weekend but our quality shone through in second half and good to have that impact off the bench. Defensively we looked a bit all over the place at times but to be expected with 3 debutants and the new rules etc. Cregg and O Carroll had pretty handy sigerson game Tuesday night good to see Ben get 2-2 he looked lively as ever on Sunday and can be a massive player for us with his ball winning ability. Louth should give us a good test Sunday good side thr last number of years and won't be anything easy them being at home. I'd try Senan Lambe instead of the brother and probably leave things as they were. Be interesting to see if he makes many changes. Not sure when pearses lads will be brought back in and any update on Cathal Heneghan?

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 186 - 29/01/2025 23:23:24    2588443

Replying To Rossie2020:  "Good to start off with a win, was a bit of a mad game like a lot at the weekend but our quality shone through in second half and good to have that impact off the bench. Defensively we looked a bit all over the place at times but to be expected with 3 debutants and the new rules etc. Cregg and O Carroll had pretty handy sigerson game Tuesday night good to see Ben get 2-2 he looked lively as ever on Sunday and can be a massive player for us with his ball winning ability. Louth should give us a good test Sunday good side thr last number of years and won't be anything easy them being at home. I'd try Senan Lambe instead of the brother and probably leave things as they were. Be interesting to see if he makes many changes. Not sure when pearses lads will be brought back in and any update on Cathal Heneghan?"
Ben and Daire Cregg probably on the bench after Sigerson games midweek.
Ciaráin possibly to start instead of Daire.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 30/01/2025 09:56:56    2588463

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Ben and Daire Cregg probably on the bench after Sigerson games midweek.
Ciaráin possibly to start instead of Daire."
As UCD's match was last Tuesday and the semi final is not on until next Thursday 6th February I would expect that Daire and Ben might get at least 35 minutes each. (5 and 4 days recovery time assuming they are not training hard). Having attended a couple of Sigerson games and watched a couple on YouTube I expect the winners to come from the semi final between UCD and TU Dublin. Should be some match next Thursday!
I expect UCD after going very close last year, to win it out. The semi finals (6th Feb) and final (12th Feb) will be on YouTube.
Was in Grangegorman on Tuesday night and was impressed with the speed and fitness of Darragh Heneghan. (UL) His pace and running ability caused a lot of problems for the opposion (TUD) many of whom were county players. I think that the new rules will suit him particularly when transitioning from defence to attach.
Is he on the senior county panel?

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 671 - 30/01/2025 10:47:21    2588467

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "As UCD's match was last Tuesday and the semi final is not on until next Thursday 6th February I would expect that Daire and Ben might get at least 35 minutes each. (5 and 4 days recovery time assuming they are not training hard). Having attended a couple of Sigerson games and watched a couple on YouTube I expect the winners to come from the semi final between UCD and TU Dublin. Should be some match next Thursday!
I expect UCD after going very close last year, to win it out. The semi finals (6th Feb) and final (12th Feb) will be on YouTube.
Was in Grangegorman on Tuesday night and was impressed with the speed and fitness of Darragh Heneghan. (UL) His pace and running ability caused a lot of problems for the opposion (TUD) many of whom were county players. I think that the new rules will suit him particularly when transitioning from defence to attach.
Is he on the senior county panel?"
I heard he's not but that's only hearsay.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 30/01/2025 11:31:08    2588469

Low availability on Ticketmaster for some of the Roscommon league games.

1. Louth v Roscommon Integral Gaa Grounds this Sunday 2nd February.
Louth are going well at the moment and the their is limited capacity in the Integral Grounds pitch.
(See also the Louth thread)

2. Cork v Roscommon, on SATURDAY 1st March.
Three games on in Pairc Ui Chaoimh that Saturday including the Roscommon ladies team and the big hurling match between Cork and Kilkenny. With the Cork hurlers going well and the attraction of a Saturday night game, it looks like there will be a big crowd. I would be inclined to book my match tickets before booking a hotel.

https://www.gaa.ie/tickets

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 671 - 31/01/2025 13:52:59    2588634

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Low availability on Ticketmaster for some of the Roscommon league games.

Louth are going well at the moment and the their is limited capacity in the Integral Grounds pitch.

Three games on in Pairc Ui Chaoimh that Saturday including the Roscommon ladies team and the big hurling match between Cork and Kilkenny. With the Cork hurlers going well and the attraction of a Saturday night game, it looks like there will be a big crowd. I would be inclined to book my match tickets before booking a hotel.

https://www.gaa.ie/tickets"
With our game on after the hurling, will most of the Corkies be gone home?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 31/01/2025 14:54:47    2588646

Yes, so you might be able to change from a bad seat ( which I have) to a better seat.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 671 - 31/01/2025 15:11:36    2588648

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Low availability on Ticketmaster for some of the Roscommon league games.

https://www.gaa.ie/tickets"
Thanks for the heads up. Have a season ticket myself but will be people traveling with me to both of those games that don't and it's for the best they buy a ticket now.

In other news well done to Roscommon CBS for reaching the Connacht senior B final today setting up all Roscommon Connacht final with Stokestown school.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3950 - 31/01/2025 17:32:46    2588676