Galway Hurling thread

brilliant result on sunday..
ill be honest i didnt think we would win the game but we where by far the better team..no question.
special mention to coen.,i thought his work rate was incredible. Never stopped all day..
the senior lads of the squad are in unreal condition and credit too them..
this victory will bring on this team a tone.,

its onwards and upwards now for this panel of players, great to see whelo come on but to me
he clearly wasnt fit but he worked his socks off..

with glennon.,jack fitz and jason flynn getting closer to fitness is also a big plus and they will certainly
make an impact on the 26 when they return..

bit disappointed that we didnt see niland or possibly eanna burke but im expecting to see a few more of these
lads against laois not that im taking laois for granted but we will have far too much power for them if
we prepare properly which we certainly will..

well done to all involved.

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 03/05/2022 19:52:11    2414749

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Can anyone tell me when was the last time the same team beat Kilkenny twice in the same championship year? If it has happened its not very often...."
Definitely not in the same season anyway. Wouldn't say it has happened to anyone else much either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 03/05/2022 20:14:44    2414750

Replying To Viking66:  "Grealish played on Rory O Connor better than anyone else this year except Conor Gleeson."
True and that was commendable, but when ye played with only one forward up (McDonald) for .most of the game , dropped everyone else into midfield and conceded on all our puckouts, ye made the task a lot easier for him.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 04/05/2022 08:46:08    2414768

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Can anyone tell me when was the last time the same team beat Kilkenny twice in the same championship year? If it has happened its not very often...."
It has never happened I'm fairly sure. I dont believe a Leinster team has beaten KK in the All Ireland series (outside of the Leinster cship). Correct me if I'm wrong.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/05/2022 08:48:27    2414769

My mistake - Offaly beat them in 1998 of course after receiving a hammering from KK in Leinster Final - probably the most memorable year of intercounty hurling for a load of reasons.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/05/2022 08:59:44    2414771

Wins like Sunday will be a huge boost to the squad especially after what happend in wexford . I think Murphy is becoming a worry , he is making mistakes in big games , thats two against KK in the covid leinster final and on Sunday. We cant afford to have that weakness when you are trying to compete with the Nickie Quads and Eoin Muprhys . I agree Grealish had a tough day at the office but he was outstanding up until then this season , and corner backs even the good ones have a tough day at the office at some stage.

Monaghan and Joe Cooneys form has been exceptional , sets us up lovely for the Dublin Game and a shot at a Leinster Title .

Could Jason Flynn and Glennon be back for that? would give us something else off the bench ? which we are quite light on at the moment , especially Flynn hes been there done it , and is probably a better player off the bench then starting.

Great atmosphere in the Stadium on Sunday aswell , great to have it Back!

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 04/05/2022 09:21:51    2414774

Galway in 18

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 04/05/2022 10:35:40    2414801

I am impressed with Galway to a certain extent. We seem to be improving in every game. Far from the finished article but I think we are getting there.

Weather we can get to Limericks level is a different story...... on a given day I think we can and we will only have to play them once......so not no hopers but it would be a big ask at this stage for our team.

League was so so

Wexford game - Huge work rate, much the better team for 50 minutes, shooting was really poor all through and as the game started to go into the melting pot we went back to our bad habits of hero efforts and just lumping it forward. By the end we couldn't win a ball in half forwards. I don't really rate Wexford either and that is relevant to our performance level.

KK game - Some excellent hurling, our fluency and use of the ball was much better than the Wexford game. We were very open at the back at times allowing Cody to do a lot of damage. Is this a corner back issue or a set up issue which left him exposed? KK are better than Wexford so all in all a much improved performance.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 04/05/2022 11:45:44    2414820

Replying To ecad123:  "Galway in 18"
they didnt

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/05/2022 12:40:12    2414830

can someone break it down to 1st class maths for me........if we beat laois and Dublin are we in final?. if we beat laois and lose to Dublin, are we in final?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 04/05/2022 12:45:39    2414833

Replying To Mayonman:  "I am impressed with Galway to a certain extent. We seem to be improving in every game. Far from the finished article but I think we are getting there.

Weather we can get to Limericks level is a different story...... on a given day I think we can and we will only have to play them once......so not no hopers but it would be a big ask at this stage for our team.

League was so so

Wexford game - Huge work rate, much the better team for 50 minutes, shooting was really poor all through and as the game started to go into the melting pot we went back to our bad habits of hero efforts and just lumping it forward. By the end we couldn't win a ball in half forwards. I don't really rate Wexford either and that is relevant to our performance level.

KK game - Some excellent hurling, our fluency and use of the ball was much better than the Wexford game. We were very open at the back at times allowing Cody to do a lot of damage. Is this a corner back issue or a set up issue which left him exposed? KK are better than Wexford so all in all a much improved performance."
On Grealish, he's been fairly consistent all year. Loftus had a very tough time against Coady a few years ago for the same reasons. KK are very good at leaving space infront of him and he has everything, speed, skill and power. There are not many players in the current game that are as direct as Coady, once he gets turned he's hard to stop, need a system to stop him rather than an individual. After the goals Mannion dropped deeper and we seemed to get on top then.

hurlingfan90 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 04/05/2022 12:51:12    2414835

Replying To ecad123:  "Galway in 18"
Also possibly the first time kilkenny played a County three times in the same championship without winning a game.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 04/05/2022 13:00:51    2414839

Replying To tiobraid:  "they didnt"
We did. We beat them in the round robin and again in the Leinster Final replay.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 04/05/2022 15:15:55    2414877

Replying To CillTormoir:  "can someone break it down to 1st class maths for me........if we beat laois and Dublin are we in final?. if we beat laois and lose to Dublin, are we in final?"
If we win our last two games we definitely top the group and are in the final. A win against Laois and a draw against Dublin would also guarantee us a spot in the final. It is even possible for us to lose to Dublin and still make the final- if we beat Laois, Dublin beat Kilkenny and Kilkenny beat Wexford, then we would finish ahead of Kilkenny and Wexford.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 04/05/2022 15:43:54    2414884

Replying To tiobraid:  "they didnt"
People forget this stuff you see. Must be why we can't shake off the 'inconsistent' tag!! Beat KK in 2018 in Salthill in the group round, drew the Leinster final in Croke Park, won the replay in Thurles.........so THEY DID!!!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 04/05/2022 15:44:12    2414885

Replying To WanPintWin:  "We did. We beat them in the round robin and again in the Leinster Final replay."
Apologies, my mistake.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/05/2022 15:47:03    2414887

Replying To Galway9801:  "Also possibly the first time kilkenny played a County three times in the same championship without winning a game."
Why don't you get someone in Galway (or anywhere else) to make a grand trophy to commemorate this historic achievement.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 04/05/2022 20:48:48    2414946

Replying To Viking66:  "Definitely not in the same season anyway. Wouldn't say it has happened to anyone else much either."
I misunderstood the question. Thought you meant beat KK in both the Provincial and all Ireland series. Galway had a great team in 2018. Wexford nearly pulled it off too. In 2019. Drew with KK in Round Robin and beat them in the final.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 05/05/2022 07:12:52    2414959

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why don't you get someone in Galway (or anywhere else) to make a grand trophy to commemorate this historic achievement."
Why be so defensive/narky about something that is fact? It actually happened. If I were a KK person, I'd be confident with that fact as it is the only time ever (to date) that it has happened, instead of being small-minded and begruding of Galway for doing it.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 05/05/2022 11:27:43    2415013

Kilkenny will win the Leinster Final yet.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 06/05/2022 12:35:44    2415232