Galway Hurling thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sometimes it is good to look outside your own county to assess how things are being done in other counties, especially the successful counties--the ones in double digits for AI titles.

I mean that it's not unlike Galway to look to the stronger counties for help. In fact, outsiders have always tried to help Galway hurling: Babs Keating (Tipp), John McIntyre (Tipp), Shane O'Neill (Limerick) and now King Henry (Kilkenny), and even Ger Loughnane from Clare, to name but a few of the non-Galwegians who've managed your county team.

Indeed, Galway was one of the first ever counties to appoint an 'outsider' manager, when going to the Babs in 1978. And a shrewd move it proved to be, as the groundwork he laid down was an immense help, almost a blueprint, for Cyril Farrell in leading Galway to the "breakthrough" in 1980, the year after the Babs had departed."
I don't care if a Manager comes from the moon if they are able to harness the talent in the County and get them to perform at their absolute best. If we are not good enough then so be it but get the best players available and give it 100%. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2144 - 10/02/2022 16:54:17    2399702

Replying To Waveitwide:  "We are not on about looking outside the county to see how's it's done somewhere else,we have no need too.We are very successful at club level in Galway when it comes to producing it at national level.Most Galway supporters want to be left alone as a county to run our own championship.What has an outside county manager got to do with this? If you think babs was the template for Cyril Farrell's success it goes to show what you know about Galway hurling, f all.He was a disaster just like he was in Offaly and was ran out of town."
He did ok with the team in his 1st stint as Tipp manager but he had a good Tipp team in his 2nd stint and that finished after a poorly prepared and selected team lost the AIQF to Wexford. Overall overrated I think.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 10/02/2022 17:16:05    2399708

Replying To Waveitwide:  "So let's break down what you are saying.You think the senior championship should be 12 teams which means the senior A group.Senior B them becomes intermediate and intermediate then becomes junior A.So you think one of our stand out forwards in Conor Whelan should be playing junior A.Good job you are not in charge because it wouldn't be a revolt it would be a mutiny."
What is the big deal about playing Junior. Gearoid Hegarty is from a Junior club and he is one of the best hurlers in the country, as Conor is and still would be even if he was playing with a Junior Club.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 10/02/2022 17:40:00    2399712

Replying To CTGAA10:  "On the law of averages if you go straight into all ireland semi you will almost certainly win a few all Ireland's..if club championship is reduced,the games become a lot more competitive..if a team wins at juinor ,intermediate they will be promoted and then play senior..someone mentioned that no respect was being shown for Conor whelan because his club would probably not be playing senior hurling..some of our hurlers on our senior panel don't play senior,obvious one being hoty in 2020,gearoid hegarty,playing juinor,hasn't done him much harm.."
If my memory is correct Nicky English played for a junior club didn't do any harm either

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 224 - 10/02/2022 17:54:28    2399716

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sometimes it is good to look outside your own county to assess how things are being done in other counties, especially the successful counties--the ones in double digits for AI titles.

I mean that it's not unlike Galway to look to the stronger counties for help. In fact, outsiders have always tried to help Galway hurling: Babs Keating (Tipp), John McIntyre (Tipp), Shane O'Neill (Limerick) and now King Henry (Kilkenny), and even Ger Loughnane from Clare, to name but a few of the non-Galwegians who've managed your county team.

Indeed, Galway was one of the first ever counties to appoint an 'outsider' manager, when going to the Babs in 1978. And a shrewd move it proved to be, as the groundwork he laid down was an immense help, almost a blueprint, for Cyril Farrell in leading Galway to the "breakthrough" in 1980, the year after the Babs had departed."
You seem to be doing a lot of this looking outside your own county anyway. You seem to have a weird fascination with Galway hurling... it seems you're the same chap (same username anyway) who has been starting threads on the Galway county hurling forum with such titles as "is hurling dying in Galway?" so taking anything you have to say about Galway hurling with a pinch of salt would actually be a waste of a pinch of salt.

Given the geographical size of our county and our population, when we get down to 16 senior clubs we will have the minimum needed on both counts and hopefully it will be the optimal number and not a case of us cutting it too much.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 10/02/2022 18:34:54    2399721

Those East Galway clubs are a laughing stock.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 10/02/2022 20:59:07    2399737

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Saturday night travelling down to the All-Ireland champions, the team and management teams first proper test, how will we do? I believe we will take them (but wouldnt be as hopeful come championship)"
I think Galway will win or at least get very close to winning. Our lads are in a similar mode to this time last year

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 11/02/2022 09:00:35    2399751

Replying To Shocs07:  "I think Galway will win or at least get very close to winning. Our lads are in a similar mode to this time last year"
Whats the Limerick team for tomorrow? ours looks skillful, is how I would describe it. Concannon didnt hurl for NUIG this week and not in tomorrows subs, assuming its an injury and how bad?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 11/02/2022 10:15:59    2399764

Replying To Oldtourman:  "What is the big deal about playing Junior. Gearoid Hegarty is from a Junior club and he is one of the best hurlers in the country, as Conor is and still would be even if he was playing with a Junior Club."
What has he got to do with Galway club hurling.And let me tell you if he was hurling junior here he wouldn't last 10 minutes with his dirty little slaps, someone would have him planted.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 11/02/2022 10:57:18    2399776

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "You seem to be doing a lot of this looking outside your own county anyway. You seem to have a weird fascination with Galway hurling... it seems you're the same chap (same username anyway) who has been starting threads on the Galway county hurling forum with such titles as "is hurling dying in Galway?" so taking anything you have to say about Galway hurling with a pinch of salt would actually be a waste of a pinch of salt.

Given the geographical size of our county and our population, when we get down to 16 senior clubs we will have the minimum needed on both counts and hopefully it will be the optimal number and not a case of us cutting it too much."
I'm not on that other forum that you mention. This one keeps me entertained enough.

Yes, fascinating is a word that I'd use to describe Galway hurling and its fans. When I used to live up Boston way, I used to meet a lot of them in the pub on a Sunday to watch the games on the TV.

When Galway, invariably, would fail to get over the line, the usual summation was, "Sure, this automatic getting into semi-finals each year is doing nothing good for Galway hurling. We need matches like Cork and Kilkenny have to be competitive against them."

Then "to hell or to Leinster" happened, and the cry from these same Galway lads became, "What the hell are we doing in Leinster? We're a Connaught team. It'd be better if they went back to the old system." I'm sure Galway would gladly take a free ride into the semi-final each year, nowadays. You can't win with the Galway hurling supporter; whatever way the wind is blowing…

Ye must surely have the record for appearing in the most AI semi-finals, and also for losing the most.

84 clubs in Galway? That's a lot. I didn't expect that many. But I suppose quite a few would be football only, where no hurling is played at all. In the end of the day, Galway, albeit a good dual county, is a county that's predominantly associated with Gaelic football, like all the west of Ireland counties. Galway has a great footballing tradition.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 11/02/2022 13:08:57    2399791

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I'm not on that other forum that you mention. This one keeps me entertained enough.

Yes, fascinating is a word that I'd use to describe Galway hurling and its fans. When I used to live up Boston way, I used to meet a lot of them in the pub on a Sunday to watch the games on the TV.

When Galway, invariably, would fail to get over the line, the usual summation was, "Sure, this automatic getting into semi-finals each year is doing nothing good for Galway hurling. We need matches like Cork and Kilkenny have to be competitive against them."

Then "to hell or to Leinster" happened, and the cry from these same Galway lads became, "What the hell are we doing in Leinster? We're a Connaught team. It'd be better if they went back to the old system." I'm sure Galway would gladly take a free ride into the semi-final each year, nowadays. You can't win with the Galway hurling supporter; whatever way the wind is blowing…

Ye must surely have the record for appearing in the most AI semi-finals, and also for losing the most.

84 clubs in Galway? That's a lot. I didn't expect that many. But I suppose quite a few would be football only, where no hurling is played at all. In the end of the day, Galway, albeit a good dual county, is a county that's predominantly associated with Gaelic football, like all the west of Ireland counties. Galway has a great footballing tradition."
That's very patronising to the very good hurling people from South and East Galway that I have met over the years. Why post on their thread at all if you find them so frustrating? "You cant win with the Galway hurling supporter".

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2022 13:17:43    2399794

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I'm not on that other forum that you mention. This one keeps me entertained enough.

84 clubs in Galway? That's a lot. I didn't expect that many. But I suppose quite a few would be football only, where no hurling is played at all. In the end of the day, Galway, albeit a good dual county, is a county that's predominantly associated with Gaelic football, like all the west of Ireland counties. Galway has a great footballing tradition."
I haven't heard anyone in Galway ask that we return to the old system prior to joining Leinster. I'd suggest the lads you're hanging around with mightn't be the sharpest.
The calls in Galway are for our minor team to be allowed to join Leinster. This hasn't happened yet, which I feel is hampering their development.
The move to Leinster has been very good for Galway. We've had countless close battles with the likes of Kilkenny since we joined. These competitive games are brilliant. The only complaint was that we had no home matches for some time, but this was addressed by the round robin format.
Galway has a great hurling tradition, as well as football. The county has numerous All-Irelands across underage and club.
I'm in favour of a reduction in numbers in our senior championship. I think 16 would be a good number, given the a amount of clubs we have. It would give more competitive matches to the clubs currently in the bottom rung of senior.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2066 - 11/02/2022 13:34:32    2399802

Replying To Viking66:  "That's very patronising to the very good hurling people from South and East Galway that I have met over the years. Why post on their thread at all if you find them so frustrating? "You cant win with the Galway hurling supporter"."
Au contraire, I don't find the Galway supporter to be 'frustrating' at all. They're a great crowd to hang out with, great craic. At least the guys that I knew were. I can understand if THEY get frustrated; Galway, so near, yet so far so many times. Galway goes out one day and destroys all in front of it. Nobody can live with them. The next day? They're like rabbits stunned in the headlights. That must be frustrating for the fans.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 11/02/2022 13:48:03    2399805

Replying To Viking66:  "That's very patronising to the very good hurling people from South and East Galway that I have met over the years. Why post on their thread at all if you find them so frustrating? "You cant win with the Galway hurling supporter"."
His posts seem to be full of veiled digs at Galway as well as strange generalisations, like his comment that Galway supporters want to return to the old format. There's absolutely no appetite in the county for that. We're far better off in Leinster than we were under the old system. Anyone with 2 brain cells to rub together acknowledges that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2066 - 11/02/2022 13:55:59    2399806

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Cat, at times I don't agree with your posts, but this time I do. Some fellas on here don't really know what they're on about… Try not to be too hard on them. Try to refrain from calling them 'stupid'. I think they don't like it.

Like KK, Limerick has a 12-team senior hurling championship (two groups of 6). There's 69-70 GAA clubs in Limerick. How many in Galway? The club standard is quite healthy now in Limerick, with almost no lop-sided scoring in games. Until they reduced the number of teams, you'd often have a few pigeon-shoots on weekends.

Tipp reduced their senior hurling teams from 24 to 16, and a further reduction to 12 is being strongly heralded within the county.

I suppose in Galway 24 down to 12 would be such a shock to their system that it'd be ruled out immediately. Sure, you can see the uproar those little minnows of clubs in East Galway are causing at present due to reducing to 16. No, let 'em take it down to 16 first.

They'll learn two things. First, that they have much better club games now, games worth paying money to watch. And second, they'll learn after a few years (as happens in Tipp) that 3-4 of the teams still ain't up to senior fare. Then they'll come to the obvious conclusion…reduce it to 12.

Then they'll be like the Kilkenny's, Tipperary's and Limerick's of the hurling world. Galway hurling could get strong again then."
Embarrassingly poor effort, you really need to learn to be a bit more subtle.

In the meantime, you might explain why 2 groups of 6 teams in a SHC is in any way better than 4 groups of 4.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 11/02/2022 13:59:33    2399808

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Au contraire, I don't find the Galway supporter to be 'frustrating' at all. They're a great crowd to hang out with, great craic. At least the guys that I knew were. I can understand if THEY get frustrated; Galway, so near, yet so far so many times. Galway goes out one day and destroys all in front of it. Nobody can live with them. The next day? They're like rabbits stunned in the headlights. That must be frustrating for the fans."
You have let your guard slip, a high stool hurler, the only thing frustrating here is reading your nonsense, with no local knowledge of the game or structure, get another round in there bud.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 11/02/2022 14:20:03    2399815

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Au contraire, I don't find the Galway supporter to be 'frustrating' at all. They're a great crowd to hang out with, great craic. At least the guys that I knew were. I can understand if THEY get frustrated; Galway, so near, yet so far so many times. Galway goes out one day and destroys all in front of it. Nobody can live with them. The next day? They're like rabbits stunned in the headlights. That must be frustrating for the fans."
It's the way it is. Truthfully it's the way it is for most of us outside of Kilkenny who are always competitive even when they wouldnt have the best team. Cork and Tipp to a lesser extent. The rest of us have the odd great team. Limerick in the 30s and now. Galway in the 80s. Ourselves in the 50s. It is frustrating but at the end of the day it is what it is. And always has been.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2022 14:40:12    2399820

It's the way it is. Truthfully it's the way it is for most of us outside of Kilkenny who are always competitive even when they wouldnt have the best team. Cork and Tipp to a lesser extent. The rest of us have the odd great team. Limerick in the 30s and now. Galway in the 80s. Ourselves in the 50s. It is frustrating but at the end of the day it is what it is. And always has been.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2022 14:41:05    2399821

Replying To WanPintWin:  "His posts seem to be full of veiled digs at Galway as well as strange generalisations, like his comment that Galway supporters want to return to the old format. There's absolutely no appetite in the county for that. We're far better off in Leinster than we were under the old system. Anyone with 2 brain cells to rub together acknowledges that."
Agree with you about the minors. They should be playing Leinster too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2022 14:42:04    2399822

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Embarrassingly poor effort, you really need to learn to be a bit more subtle.

In the meantime, you might explain why 2 groups of 6 teams in a SHC is in any way better than 4 groups of 4."
We restructured this year. I wanted 4 groups of 4. Everyone else who I talked to at our club and all the other Wexford posters on this forum preferred going back to 2 groups of 6 so as to get more games and keep them all more competitive. So that's the way we have gone down here. 12 teams same as Kilkenny and Limerick. But that doesnt mean that it would work best for ye.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2022 14:47:41    2399825