Meath Vs Kildare

Pretty underwhelming substitute bench named for Sunday. Apart from Keith Curtis (who hasn't seen any minutes to date) , Aaron Lynch and Kinsella there is not a lot of quality there. A lot of average to low standard inter county defenders after that.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 24/02/2024 10:48:58    2527824

Replying To TobinsBeard:  "I really disagree about the tiring In games point. It's a bIt early in the year to be drawing conclusions on that when the training load on lads is very high, generally. Plus we clearly outlasted Louth last weekend. They were gassed for most of the second half."
I don't really think we are in a position to not hit the league running re s&c. The thought of early in the year doesn't do it for me. Our Leinster and all Ireland is the league. There's no point been out on our feet v a louth Fermanagh Kildare or cavan where we have a chance of winning. And been super fit while dubs put a cricket score up against us. Mcentee made that same mistake, why Colm is doing the same is beyond me.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2024 11:39:26    2527828

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Pretty underwhelming substitute bench named for Sunday. Apart from Keith Curtis (who hasn't seen any minutes to date) , Aaron Lynch and Kinsella there is not a lot of quality there. A lot of average to low standard inter county defenders after that."
I'd be shocked if Brian O'Halloran doesn't have an excellent inter county career. He's already better than 3 or 4 players that are starting in my opinion. Adam McDonnell and Brian O'Reilly I have a lot of hope for too. Danny Dixon made an impact off the bench the last day too. I think you have it backwards, we have no quality forwards on the bench.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 24/02/2024 13:18:24    2527840

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "Hard to know what to expect tomorrow.

Reasons for optimism:
Those 25 minutes against Louth
Kildare confidence is shattered
Home game
Settled team/no Sigerson at last

Reasons for pessimism:
All the other minuted in league this year
No clear tactical plan
Kildare are backed into a corner
The last 20 years

So hard to call!"
Meath by 3.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 24/02/2024 14:30:47    2527853

Look as bad as we have been since Colm came in. Kildare are in hell lot worse place. So for me it's a Meath win by 6.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2024 15:37:43    2527862

I'm always optimistic when it comes to Meath but this is always been a dangerous fixture for us, Kildare started slowly last year too and only picked up the points to stay in the division towards the end, there's always a big performance in kildare and they would always fancy there chances over us, I'll take any win what ever way it comes, best of luck to the Meath team and management tomorrow I'll go for a narrow win by one or two points.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 24/02/2024 18:06:45    2527874

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look as bad as we have been since Colm came in. Kildare are in hell lot worse place. So for me it's a Meath win by 6."
Any team with the like of Flynn Feely and McCormack are not to be taken lightly. I'd expect a big performance from them lads today. Hope not!

Harnan6 (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 25/02/2024 08:47:40    2527949

Best of luck to al involved today. I hope it's a good game. And obviously we win and probably secure div2 football for next year.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2024 08:51:03    2527950

On a totally different note. And trying to rebuild my optimistic side. Which I much preferred to my doom side. Should Armagh beat Donegal today and we win. Promotion is in our own hands. Forget about relegation. Win today and next 2 days against a woeful cork and cavan . And we will travel in our droves to Donegal knowing a win would put us in division one.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2024 09:06:07    2527951

Replying To royaldunne:  "On a totally different note. And trying to rebuild my optimistic side. Which I much preferred to my doom side. Should Armagh beat Donegal today and we win. Promotion is in our own hands. Forget about relegation. Win today and next 2 days against a woeful cork and cavan . And we will travel in our droves to Donegal knowing a win would put us in division one.
Hon the royal."
I was thinking about these permutations myself but let's not forget, we were really poor in the opening two rounds. First and foremost, I want to see some consistency following on from the Louth game particularly in terms of attitude and application. We have capable footballers no doubt, but the right mindset will always supersede talent. If that comes then a victory should accompany it. Game by game then but as you said, there is indeed a chance that we could be in the shakeup come Ballybofey which would have been hard imagined after our woeful start!!

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 25/02/2024 10:20:51    2527963

Replying To royaldunne:  "On a totally different note. And trying to rebuild my optimistic side. Which I much preferred to my doom side. Should Armagh beat Donegal today and we win. Promotion is in our own hands. Forget about relegation. Win today and next 2 days against a woeful cork and cavan . And we will travel in our droves to Donegal knowing a win would put us in division one.
Hon the royal."
You have been calling us really poor (which in fairness apart from a few patches we have been)and said we were really lucky to beat Louth but now we are going for promotion?I also think we certainly are not in a position to be calling Kildare and Cork woeful Its not like we are top of the division and pulling up trees.Hopefully we win today but it wont be easy.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 25/02/2024 12:28:03    2527975

I said on day one. Promotion MUST ALWAYS be the goal. For me that would show real progress from the B championship last year. I would be far more excited for a game in croke park v Armagh than the TC final. But that doesn't take away from the fact we have been terrible in some games and actually for parts of every match we were very poor. I think individually players are good enough. But our current management is lacking. Hopefully they are learning from their mistakes. Even today we should have been a lot easier winners. But we kept kicking ball into a player who was beaten for pace by his marker. But the players did adjust and showed some steel. I found todays performance in some aspects better than v louth. So again something to be optimistic about. But until it is mathematically impossible to get promotion EVERYONE should be aiming for it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2024 15:59:45    2528015

Great character shown once again. When it was there to be won, they seized it and scored 0-4 unanswered. A dog of a match.

Kildare brought a lot to the game and could have won it, unfortunately I think after this game they are effectively relegated. Sad to see for Leinster.

Good day for Meath. 5 pts from 4 games and in the hunt for the remaining fixtures as well. It hasnt been pretty at any time but they are grinding out difficult results against difficult teams. Well done to all. Personally I wouldnt be talking about promotion unless we find ourselves going into the last week on 9 points, and I think that might be a bit beyond this group at present, and counterproductive to focus on.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 25/02/2024 16:13:15    2528023

It's a results based business so getting the win is the most important thing but my god that was a hard game to watch, two teams with panels that have plenty of potential yet are majorly lacking in good coaching. We honestly look like we have no idea what to do every time we cross the halfway line, the amount of lateral and back passes today was staggering. I give us credit for stepping up in the last 5-10mins and kicking good scores to get us the win but I struggle to feel any joy on the drive home as this is a very weak Div2, and if we played any of the top 10 teams they'd kick us off the pitch with the way we're performing.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 25/02/2024 16:55:12    2528037

I think that's us safe in Div 2 at the very least. Cold day in Navan. Very few Kildare fans I thought compared to the Louth game

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 25/02/2024 16:58:19    2528039

Good character building win, I thought Kildare were a complete mess to be honest, Daniel Flynn might have been meaths best player, still very concerned that we don't have a forward other than Eoghan Frayne who can get scores, Costello,
jack o'connor, daithi McGowan and shane walsh didn't score today from play, simply not good enough. As mad as it sounds promotion is in our hands now. Win our remaining 3 games and we are up to div 1.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 25/02/2024 17:21:03    2528047

Good to get the win today , I don't really care how we played as long as we got the win , we are not going to play champagne football In February or any other team for that matter , it's about getting the win and building confidence.

Cavan next week , make it a dog of a game if we have to get the win. Keep building the confidence and once you get that confidence things will start to click .

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 25/02/2024 17:40:28    2528055

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Good to get the win today , I don't really care how we played as long as we got the win , we are not going to play champagne football In February or any other team for that matter , it's about getting the win and building confidence.

Cavan next week , make it a dog of a game if we have to get the win. Keep building the confidence and once you get that confidence things will start to click ."
A win and thats what its all about, reports from around country suggest quality was not to the fore today. Delighted with the the two points and another gritty showing, especially after Kildare went ahead. Still plenty to work on, but as you said confidence is building and once again subs made a difference, so all in all a decent days work.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 25/02/2024 18:17:26    2528069

Good to win it at the end, scoring 4 points when we were 1 down. A huge worry for me is that we are not threatening the goal at all, one amazing goal from Costello last week which he pulled it all off himself but besides that we haven't looked capable of scoring goals. Not good enough, we don't score enough points to be able to keep up with teams like Donegal or maybe even Cavan and Cork. Definitely needs to be looked at.

Royal.1 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 25/02/2024 18:35:45    2528072

Fair play to this group of players, dug out to great wins the last 2 weeks and surely retained division 2 status. Lets be positive for this group of lads who are simply doing their best for the county and the jersey.
Yes it would be nice to be boxing at a higher lever but hopefully in the next 2 years we can become stronger and break into the top 10.

Onwards and upwards for this group of lads who dug deep the last 8 days to get the 2 wins.

Glass half Full in my opinion.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 25/02/2024 19:21:59    2528092