Championship 2019

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Congratulations to team and management. Brilliant win yesterday. Some outstanding performances but Martin Reilly was immense. Next game will be a good gauge of where we're at. We'll go in with a bit of hype and should be favourites so hopefully we react positively and carry the tag well. The draw today will be a help too so whoever we play will be playing the third weekend on the trot. We have plenty to work on and made some mistakes but last 10 minutes I thought we looked very assured and saw the game out well even though it should have been more comfortable. Would love to see this team make an Ulster final. It would be a terrific occasion for them and just reward for the many years of great service they have given the county."
You turned the wireless off too early. Armagh bet down in extra time.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/05/2019 19:03:31    2185567

Just watching Armagh vs Down, Rian ó Néill will have to be watched, very good forward. Probably a job for Faulkner.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/05/2019 19:24:13    2185578

Armagh have good forward options. Murnin and Campbell good subs to bring on today.. Burns is a decent midfielder. They are not great in defence.
Aidan Forked converted into a half back

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/05/2019 19:48:34    2185589

Replying To fredflint:  "You turned the wireless off too early. Armagh bet down in extra time."
I see that Fred. Head not great today TBH. Might have celebrated a bit too much yesterday.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 19/05/2019 20:28:16    2185623

Great win on Saturday. The intensity was brought along with a high quality first half performance. Fair play to all involved.

We will be worthy favourites against Armagh and I expect us to win but not so much or to the point that a loss to them would be regarded as an upset. Winning two games in a row in the Ulster c'ship is unchartered territory for all of this squad I think.

The reason I think we will win is that while the same standard of performance would probably get us a 4+ point defeat against Tyrone Donegal, I think replicating it will be enough to beat Armagh. And I am hopeful we can replicate it.

Things to work on are obviously our own kick outs, and frees which were both poor, and I think a lot of that was Galligan's execution of the kicks on the day rather than bad system's so that should improve as he has a good right boot normally.

Happy with what we got out of Madden inside, not so much McVeety when was in there even though he put in a good shift overall. Also need to get the ball to McKiernan inside the 45 more wherever he is, as when we do we score or get a scoreable free a high percentage of the time.

The wingers hugging the touchline seems to work well for freeing up space but I think when bringing Mackey on, he needs to be floating around the middle getting on the ball, he is too good to be wasted in the winger job when only getting 15-20 mins and would have done harm in the middle.

Credit where it is due, Moynagh took a lot of abuse about his defending but sweepered very well in front of McManus.
Faulkner and McLoughlin did great man marking jobs and you would think they should be able to handle Armagh's forwards just as well. Didn't see the Armagh game but I believe they have a fairly attacking system. An issue might be if they play 3 inside men, then Moynagh probably cant be a sweeper and is he an orthodox corner back? I would sayu

Think Galligan's kickouts will come good but would agree with him not being overly trustworthy on the pressure frees. I would also agree that Conroy is perhaps the best in the county but I'm not sure he is worth starting just for right footed and long frees when GMK is very capable now on the left footed ones.

Looks like a few men were pulled in to the panel on league form also or perhaps he never left and I am misinformed. Good to see that happening and I personally thought Stephen Smith while I am sure he turn out to be a great footballer for us in the future, he still looks like an under 20 out there yesterday and we could do with bigger men for the subs we can bring on in the full forward line to win the ball.

I don't think Argue is the answer to that conundrum but I see that Padraig Moore from Ballyhaise is playing very well in the league, a much bigger man, Thomas Moore from Ballinagh also a good target man if nothing else, I would consider both of them lads slightly better options for 10 minutes inside if chasing a game than maybe Stephen, Jack, or Niall Clerkin. But maybe they just haven't done it at county level in training and I am wrong on that count.

All of the above can be regarded as good problems after the good win on Saturday though.

Also, anyone who backed Mackey last goalscorer @11/1, can complain to Mickey rather than me as he was never going to score one on the left wing in spite of Faulkner making the odd well timed burst.

Hon Cyavan!

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 20/05/2019 10:06:23    2185778

Sunday 2nd June Semi Final Cavan v Armagh

Venue; Clones or Omagh????????????

pologrounds1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 20/05/2019 10:28:33    2185794

Replying To pologrounds1947:  "Sunday 2nd June Semi Final Cavan v Armagh

Venue; Clones or Omagh????????????"
Surely it has to be Clones

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/05/2019 11:16:40    2185828

Great performance and result. We needed that. But Monaghan were so poor. Beggan, under pressure, falls apart again. Think Gweedore provided the template in the Ulster Club final - when the pressure comes on his kickouts it also affects his free kicks. Missed two yesterday which were well inside his range.

McManus' hop, skip and dive only bought him one free on Saturday because he didn't get the possession. He'll need to develop a new trick.

Martin Reilly was immense as was Jason. Gearoid top class and McVeety worked hard but his 20-metre shot dropping into Beggan's hands must be cut out. Ball needs to go dead against better teams.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 500 - 20/05/2019 11:27:32    2185837

Would be great to have Caoimhín ó Reilly back for the semi final. A FF line of him, mcveety and Madden would be ideal, a good combination of a target man (Madden), pace (mcveety) and finishing (Caoimhín).

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/05/2019 11:37:35    2185847

Does anyone know the full list of subs that were available on Saturday?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 20/05/2019 17:25:55    2185995

Replying To Breffni39:  "Does anyone know the full list of subs that were available on Saturday?"
No one knows, sorry.

Setantawatchl (Cavan) - Posts: 132 - 20/05/2019 17:53:09    2186012

Replying To Breffni39:  "Does anyone know the full list of subs that were available on Saturday?"
Argue
Mackey
Gunner
Jack
Stephen Smith
Barry fortune
Conroy , that's just a few off the top of my head I'll have to look at the program when I get home.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 20/05/2019 17:54:28    2186014

One game at a time, let's not get ahead of ourselves.
Mickey has them working as a team.
As far as been favorites against Armagh, wouldn't be comfortable with that. Gearoid would have come on from the Monaghan game and "hopefully" there's a lot more to come. Fingers crossed we can keep a clean bill of health.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 20/05/2019 20:59:24    2186087

Replying To Virginia:  "One game at a time, let's not get ahead of ourselves.
Mickey has them working as a team.
As far as been favorites against Armagh, wouldn't be comfortable with that. Gearoid would have come on from the Monaghan game and "hopefully" there's a lot more to come. Fingers crossed we can keep a clean bill of health."
A team can't spend it's whole life hoping to sneak under the radar. Good teams get noticed and have to be able to deal with a bit of hype and carry the favourites tag now and again. You'll never win anything otherwise. Armagh will give us our fill of it and I wouldn't be overconfident but we should definitely be favourite. Plenty of these lads carried the tag well at underage. Plenty of young additions to the team since look to have a bit of confidence about them. Hopefully they can back up last Saturday with another big performance. As I said I'm not overly confident but quietly confident.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 21/05/2019 12:49:42    2186275

Cavan will be favourites and rightly so!! as mentioned above, a team needs to be able to carry that tag now and again. i wouldn't say i'm overly confident either but i think that comes from a long long list of heartbreaks and let downs over the years. if cavan learn from the monaghan game then i could see cavan win by 2/3 points and being well in control. here's hoping!!!
i read the article online by Paul Fitzpatrick it was a very emotional type article documenting losses and wins from years passed. the last line ''cavan are back''........the old saying ''one swallow doesn't make a summer'' comes back to me.
Cavan are by no means back!!!!!! they've won a game and hopefully the next one will bring them to an ulster final.
the signs are positive though. i thought cavan managed the game very well saturday, a lot of people reckoned cavan could have got caught in that 15 minute spell of the second half. i thought it was excellent game management and as was the plan it did eventually wear monaghan down.
i'll not let this pass without mentioning Oisin Kiernan. the drive and heart that man has shown from his diagnosis to the point he started against monaghan is unbelievable. if the team has a smidgen of that then the anglo celt is well within reach

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 21/05/2019 13:45:36    2186307

Still in orbit until today but I think the dust has settled now!
What was that? Simply put, Cavan's best opening half of football in a very long time against one of Monaghan's worst. Can't believe how much of a mismatch it was for a match billed as a big derby.
It has me a bit uneasy to be honest. A 1-point win against a team playing well would nearly have set us up better. Still, they dug it out in the second half so really I have no doubt that we will have enough physical, mental and football quality to beat Armagh. No doubt.
Talking to a knowledgeable Monaghan football man (yes, they do exist) after the match and he made the very good point that Cavan need to be planning now for the Tyrone challenge. Not the immediate team or mentors, but a trusted group of football men that Mickey can trust. Harte had his spies in Breffni on Saturday night and you can be sure he has started the analysis of Cavan Version 2019.2 already. Keep it away from the panel until Amagh are beaten and then be ready to go. For now, a better plan for kick-outs is the starting point for the semi. Roll on Clones.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 21/05/2019 15:23:25    2186333

Harte struggling to hold onto his forwards. Mark Bradley not available this year. Ronan O Neill left after the league and Lee Brennan after leaving too.
They don't have stellar forwards that Donegal have.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 21/05/2019 19:41:11    2186404

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Still in orbit until today but I think the dust has settled now!
What was that? Simply put, Cavan's best opening half of football in a very long time against one of Monaghan's worst. Can't believe how much of a mismatch it was for a match billed as a big derby.
It has me a bit uneasy to be honest. A 1-point win against a team playing well would nearly have set us up better. Still, they dug it out in the second half so really I have no doubt that we will have enough physical, mental and football quality to beat Armagh. No doubt.
Talking to a knowledgeable Monaghan football man (yes, they do exist) after the match and he made the very good point that Cavan need to be planning now for the Tyrone challenge. Not the immediate team or mentors, but a trusted group of football men that Mickey can trust. Harte had his spies in Breffni on Saturday night and you can be sure he has started the analysis of Cavan Version 2019.2 already. Keep it away from the panel until Amagh are beaten and then be ready to go. For now, a better plan for kick-outs is the starting point for the semi. Roll on Clones."
unbelievable ! . We beat a poor Monaghan side and suddenly we can dismiss Armagh. Armagh will beat us if we start thinking like that (they will probably beat us anyway). 1.13 will not beat Armagh. We need to be scoring more.
Conroy needs to be on and taking frees from the left.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/05/2019 22:34:58    2186470

I was right, Mickey Graham is the big game man that can motivate and dig up big performances. Its all about getting to the Ulster Final now. If yous get there Graham will motivate and get yous the Ulster title, but only if yous get there.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 21/05/2019 23:04:59    2186477

Replying To s goldrick:  "unbelievable ! . We beat a poor Monaghan side and suddenly we can dismiss Armagh. Armagh will beat us if we start thinking like that (they will probably beat us anyway). 1.13 will not beat Armagh. We need to be scoring more.
Conroy needs to be on and taking frees from the left."
Good man Golderick was wondering when you were going to appear. We can only beat what's put in front of us .If you were at the game you would see we were on top throughout the whole game. Give credit where credit is due. It was as good a performance in Ulster than we had in the last 10 years.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 22/05/2019 09:18:10    2186523