Donegal 2011 - I feel it in me bones.

If we win nobody will give us credit?

Us Donegal fans couldn't give 2 shites weather Pat Spillane enjoyed watching us or not, as long as we win. If Sam comes to the Hills, we're not gunna worry about what some fella in Mayo has to think about it.

HowManyStepsRef (Donegal) - Posts: 291 - 04/08/2011 12:34:13    1003216

Exactly HowManyStepsRef,

I wonder would any Mayo fans have cared all that much in 04 and 06 if they'd won the AIF playing Donegal style tactics rather than the whippings they got on each occasion?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/08/2011 13:25:42    1003282

DONEGAL PEOPLE..DONT LISTEN TO THEM SHOWER WHO KNOCK YOUR STYLE...I would give both my stones to see Monaghan win an ulster title and go as far as you's have.I hope and pray everyday that someone soon will take over us and get us back competeing with the best.We played yous in 07 & 08 in the championship and we won both and after them games we had a pint and a laugh,good decent supporters and you's deserve your success.No matter what happenes you's are Ulster champions and no one can take that away from you's.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 04/08/2011 14:11:09    1003345

Cheers Hardcore!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/08/2011 14:15:20    1003354

Said it before, the problem isn't how we play, it's that we stop other teams playing. That's what annoys people.

Well forgive us for winning football matches. And like one poster mentioned (and nobody else seems to), the majority of our scores come from play. Needless to say if we get to the final and win it we won't have been relying on Donncha O'Connor to kick us there!

But no matter what happens, we are Ulster champions and in an All-Ireland semi-final, this is dreamland for the hardcore Tír Chonaill supporters who have suffered for 19 long years, and after last year's hiding in Crossmaglen I don't think anybody could've envisioned this. I always said I didn't care how we played football, or what the result was, I just wanted those 15 or 20 players involved to leave absolutely everything on the pitch, to have pride in playing for their county. Congratulations to the entire panel and management team, you've put pride into our county jersey once again.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2011 16:29:00    1003556

Nice one JoeSoap, my sentiments exactly!

Have a read through this entire thread from the start if you have time. Really gives a nice account of how we've come on this year! Right back to myself and yourself complaining about the McKenna Cup panel restrictions!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 05/08/2011 09:36:55    1003922

Donegal have come in for some unfair criticism recently. I think people have confused mass defending with good defending. Most teams drop the whole half-forward back line nowadays, some even a corner-forward. The difference with Donegal is that they've perfected the closing off of space through exceptional work ethic and an unbelievable team spirit. Nobody will convince me that Donegal play any more negatively than Mayo, Kildare, Dublin or Kerry (have not seen Tyrone play this year!). The real big problem for Donegal is that they are as yet unable to attack as a unit, the way say Dublin can. The attacks are directed to the same two forwards every time. If they could spread the scores a bit more, they'd be very hard to beat. Because, the way they are defending now, they aren't going to concede big totals but keeping the opposition to less than 0-12 every game is a big ask too.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 05/08/2011 12:07:17    1004064

Completely agree Loyal!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 05/08/2011 12:21:55    1004083

I have a feeling Donegal will make the final but lose, kinda like what Down did last year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 05/08/2011 14:44:08    1004246

I was delighted with Donegal's win over Kildare, they had more natural footballers and are well able to play. Donegal lacked discipline and a game plan in the past when they had good individual players. I see no difference in the way Donegal defend and, say Kerry or Cork for example. But the difference is that Kerry break very quickly. I would not be surprised to see Donegal in the final...possibly against another team in green and gold! :)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/08/2011 15:04:28    1004269

"ONLY GOOD TEAMS WIN SAM"??????? How did Cork slip through last year? Joe Brolly had the measure of them though. Humble pie with lashings of big red faces all round.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 05/08/2011 19:26:49    1004526

hilarous post ulsterman!!!

ogi (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 05/08/2011 21:04:34    1004607

Donegal look like they have the right man in charge... that's worth an awful lot.

I still think they over do the hand passing.. they need a plan B. They are at the minute in my view a little too one dimensional - Dont take that the wrong way Donegal lads.

But your under use of a direct line into Murphy and co may come back to haunt you in 2011 - If plan A doesnt work out... and with the sheer amount of work that's required for Plan A to work effectively over 70+ minutes - Things can go wrong it doesnt always go to plan and Donegal right at this minute are entering the unknown. Plan A will be severely tested and you only get a certain number of wonder points....

It will be interesting to see... but here all the best. I have huge respect for Jim Mc and the work he's done in such a short space of time with the seniors.

It's the best turn around that I've seen in years.. how long did you go without winning a game in Ulster????? Now you're Ulster Champions and brimming with confidence in an All Ireland semi-final.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 05/08/2011 21:25:39    1004640

do you know ulsterman your great value one defeat and cork are a desperate side all of a sudden well what ever amuses you ulsterman.do me a favour give me a shout when yhe next ulster team wins sam it wont be this year and you can CHALK THAT DOWN

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 06/08/2011 18:59:53    1005150

Donegal will be in the final anyway

Possom (Kildare) - Posts: 322 - 06/08/2011 19:48:59    1005166

Donegal will beat Dublin.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 06/08/2011 20:10:03    1005183

Brogans vs Lacey & Mc Gee, what about it !!

HowManyStepsRef (Donegal) - Posts: 291 - 06/08/2011 20:29:00    1005194

Fell donegal will beat Dublin, surely donegal wont give them as easy a game anyway! Lucky enough Dublin didnt score any of there goal chances could have been a total whitewash. It was more comprehensive than Cork's 12 point win against Down because Cork scored a few goals where as on another dublin would have had a few goals.

tullyframerover (Down) - Posts: 276 - 06/08/2011 21:07:38    1005257

I think the fact they did not convert those goal chances is a sign of weakness. Bad decision making on a number of ocassions when the opportunities presented themselves. They will have to take them against other teams. I had Dublin and Tyron down as serisous contenders. Dublin still are of course but I fancy Donegal a good bit more now than I did this morning.

Of course such a humongous win is the worst thing that could happen Dublin. The Herald will be going ballistic tomorrow and all the hype starts all over again.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 06/08/2011 21:25:43    1005285

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Donegal will beat Dublin."
Ulsterman

There's one that one can put in Damo's thread!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/03/2017 15:05:15    1969538