Donegal 2011 - I feel it in me bones.

Well done to Donegal... Fantastic stuff.

Well done to Jim Mc

Delighted for you

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 17/07/2011 17:36:59    987115

‎In the match today, 6 mins wasted after penalty incident and Mcbride incident and 10 substitutions made and ref adds only 3 mins! Absolute joke. Don't think it would have mattered to Derry but time keeping in GAA needs looked at.

But well done donegal, best team won on the day.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 17/07/2011 17:39:51    987119

Well done Tir Connail.....just don't be beating up any Nordie tourists tonight, it seems to be the summer sport in DL right now.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 17/07/2011 17:39:58    987120

Well done to Donegal

Well done jimbo for predicting this 6 months ago...lotto numbers please jimbo

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 18/07/2011 11:52:53    987769

Good call jimbodub!

I certainly hope you put a tenner or better on that when you incepted this thread! Assuming you did, enjoy the pints!

Though I suspect not as many as your average Donegal fant his week! Congrats to them

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 18/07/2011 12:27:02    987830

Cheers lads...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 18/07/2011 16:05:01    988283

Safe to say I think we've exceeded everyone's expectations!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 01/08/2011 19:56:44    1001009

I think Donegal are somewhat still underestimated, they have a team full of excellent footballers and could challenge for more honours over the next few years, they're looking like a tight unit under Jim and they are only going to improve...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 01/08/2011 20:01:03    1001015

PUKEBAG PLEASE ONLY GOOD TEAMS WIN SAM KERRY FOR THE TITLE

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 01/08/2011 20:01:11    1001016

Booboo dont be so bitter. One thing is for sure......Donegal have a better chance of winning it than cork, whether you think they are a good team or not haha

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 01/08/2011 20:12:47    1001034

would be very interesting to hear Pat Spillane if Donegal went all the way and pukedfootballed his Kerry out of it -great stuff

festy_o_semtex (UK) - Posts: 67 - 01/08/2011 20:26:18    1001051

FRANK THEY LIKE TYRONE AND MAYO HAVE NO CHANCE END OF STORY ULSTER FOOTBALL WILL NOT WIN SAM AGAIN FOR YEARS IT WILL BE CORK KERRY AND DUBLIN FOR THE NEXT DECADE AND AS FOR THE CORK DEFEAT ....IT HAPPENS TO THE BEST HAPPENED TO KERRY AN KK LAST YEAR IF ANYTHING CORK WILL LEARN LOTS FROM IT AS A YOUNG TEAM AND COME BACK TWICE AS STRONG HOWS ANTRIM GETTING ON???? HA HA

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 01/08/2011 20:33:26    1001062

Donegal deserve to be where they are at this stage. They were three points down twice in the game on saturday and they showed that they could attack and get the scores when they needed them. the second have of extra time was almost like a 'blanket attack' as kildare could bearly get the ball out of their own half. Kerry will be a different kettle of fish altogether but by no means impossible, but donegal have achieved more than they could have hoped for this season so far.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 01/08/2011 20:45:46    1001081

and after all is said and done we're still coming in under the radar... still underestimated..still underdogs. now that we're down to the business end of things remember that 1 major favourite is out, the biggest dark horse for sam is also out. Even now both dún na ngall agus maigh eo are being completely written off. Great to see and hear it. I wonder will it take a third beating of tír eoghan or a victory over the capital to make people stand up and notice?

ogi (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 03/08/2011 20:24:33    1002850

Some bitterness your spewing there booboo.Couldn't give a feck though, so keep it up:)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 03/08/2011 20:56:32    1002870

Now that things have quietened down since recent great success over Kildare its time to reflect on the year to date. A total of 13 league and championship matches and only one defeat - league game against Laoise when we were already promoted. Played 5 games in championship and only conceded one goal - penalty against Cavan. We are into the last 4 in championship yet I think our best achievement TO DATE is promotion to division one.
We never had the strength in depth which we have this year and last Sat. match against Kildare proved this.
I dont care who we get in the semi-final as Jim and Rory will have the preparations done and team will be focused. Best of luck lads.

DL2011 (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 04/08/2011 08:33:39    1002991

The result was just fantastic. It may not have been pretty to watch but by God it was exciting. What a score from Cass at the end!

To those posters deriding Donegal's style of play you are of course entitled to your opinion. But if you had sat through the various false dawns Donegal have suffered - the numerous defeats to Armagh, the odd hiding from Tyrone and Cork, going out in the qualifiers in an implosion of hand-passing and indiscipline regularly etc etc, then you'd gladly take where we are now.

I have never seen a Donegal team as fit or as full of self-belief as this one. We've always had talented players but too often they weren't managed well or weren't disciplined enough for one reason or another. Jim has got them all singing from the same hymn sheet and hopefully this will continue for the foreseable future.

An AI semi-final would have been beyond our wildest dreams at the start of the year. But now that we are there, be it against Tyrone or Dublin we may as well give it one damn good rattle. We've 4 weeks to prepare so minds and bodies will hopefully be sharp by then.

Tír Chonaill abú! LIFT HER!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/08/2011 11:45:03    1003154

sorry folks but donegal whom i used to like are just terrible to watch, its like armagh in 02 its just horrible to watch in fact you wanna turn over all the time. its a shame that they just dont acknowledge it. if mc guniness just said on tv' yea but puke football works' i think people would have alot more respect for him and his charges, but this denial, denial, denial of puke football is what annoys people. i men when tyou think about the arron kernan intervew a few month sago when he finally admitted that armagh were playing puke football for 10 years and it was wrong- its makes you have more respect for the people. if ye want a lesson in a defensive system with not an ounce of puke - just watch mayo secons half performances against galway, roscommon and cork- a total of 4 points conceeded- who are the defence kingpings? jim and donegal be honest and all will be fine, but like armagh even if ye do win it out no one will give ye an ounce of credit for the manner of how you went about it

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 04/08/2011 12:04:32    1003177

liathroidboy - Winning is winning!! Aaron Kernan admitted Armagh didn't play attractive football and they changed this year - look where it got them!! As a GAA fan I'd love to see Donegal take to the pitch, play fantastic free flowing attacking football and win but as a Donegal fan lets face the facts.. the Donegal Team that won the All-Ireland in '92 played attacking football and won the All Ireland since then we played attacking football and didn't even win an Ulster in 19 years. Jim took over last year and arranged the team to get the best out of the bunch of players that we have at the present time. I agree that it's not the prettiest at times but in Jim's own words this is the first year of a 5 year plan and as this time moves on I think we'll see Donegal get the balance of attack and defence just right. On a footnote, take a look at what we have scored in total this championship and how many were from frees - over 90% of our scores have come from play so we must be doing something right in attack.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/08/2011 12:20:00    1003198

what drugs are u on its the kingdom year

brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 04/08/2011 12:32:41    1003214