We Are Cavan Podcast Discussion

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Exactly what I said above was said. It was said that Caoimhin O'Reilly is one of Cavan's ten best players by Paul Fitzpatrick.
I wouldn't agree as I've said and I do think that, whilst he is a quality player, comments like the above are over estimating his ability.
He has failed to hold down a starting position under two managers now."
So who do you think Cavan's 10 best players are ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/01/2020 07:44:55    2260993

Replying To fredflint:  "In fairness that is not true. They were talking about Conor Smith and said that he obviously was small. One of the two boys just pointed out that Peter Canavan was small too and he was some player. So no need to make stuff up."
I'll quote them directly, shall I?. . .

"He's a bit on the small side, but he makes up for that in bravery and ball-winning and showing for the ball"

"Peter Canavan was on the small side"

"Exactly. . .his potential is endless"

Not a comparison??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 20/01/2020 11:00:39    2261027

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "They went through the Cavan U20 panel last weekend and spoke about each player as if he were a superstar. The Cavan U20s were then trounced by Westmeath at the weekend."
Yes indeed I had a good laugh at that one myself. They have been losing credibility a long time now, all these games where we so nearly, could have, should have won just adds to the nonsense really. We should have at least one Ulster and all Ireland semi appearance I heard one of them say recently,

Wait until the summer when the club championship is on and Fitzpatrick will get excited and wax lyrical about Castlerahan and say along the lines if they only had 5 minutes more they would have bet Glenties last October, and Glenties got to the Ulster final and should have bet Kilcoo and then as everyone knows Kilcoo should have bet Corofin back in January in the all ireland final etc etc so they are not too far away!

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 20/01/2020 11:51:06    2261052

Replying To cavanman47:  "I'll quote them directly, shall I?. . .

"He's a bit on the small side, but he makes up for that in bravery and ball-winning and showing for the ball"

"Peter Canavan was on the small side"

"Exactly. . .his potential is endless"

Not a comparison??"
No, that is not comparing him to Peter Canavan, that is comparing his "size" to Peter Canavan's "size". There are plenty of other things you could criticise the two lads for saying (potential is endless for example) but its just nonsense to say they were comparing his football ability to Canavans.

benbulbenhead (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 20/01/2020 11:56:19    2261056

Replying To benbulbenhead:  "No, that is not comparing him to Peter Canavan, that is comparing his "size" to Peter Canavan's "size". There are plenty of other things you could criticise the two lads for saying (potential is endless for example) but its just nonsense to say they were comparing his football ability to Canavans."
"Peter Canavan was small"

"Exactly, his potential is endless"

I can write it for you again, but I can't understand it for you. You'll have to do that yourself.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 20/01/2020 14:03:54    2261106

So the crime committed by the two lads was to compare the size of Canavan to the size of Smith and you think they were seriously comparing the abilities of a lad who has played 2 McKenna Cup games for Cavan to one of the greatest players of modern time and multiple All Star/All Ireland winner? Come on now, you got that wrong.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/01/2020 17:30:29    2261151

Mickey Graham naming the Cavan panel on the podcast tomorrow

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 20/01/2020 17:33:24    2261152

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Mickey Graham naming the Cavan panel on the podcast tomorrow"
Any word on the panel?

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 22/01/2020 14:54:10    2261574

Replying To fredflint:  "In fairness that is not true. They were talking about Conor Smith and said that he obviously was small. One of the two boys just pointed out that Peter Canavan was small too and he was some player. So no need to make stuff up."
According to Graham on the podcast he reckoned he gave the panel list of 33 players to the PRO and expected it to be named publicly by last night.

Not made public yet.. Should have just called them out himself last night on the podcast.

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 22/01/2020 15:51:32    2261588

Hopefully they reveal a 26 man panel a few hours before the game or day before it. They always seem to leave it until its announced at the match. Galway named their 26 man panel for Monaghan last night

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/01/2020 16:13:33    2261597

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Hopefully they reveal a 26 man panel a few hours before the game or day before it. They always seem to leave it until its announced at the match. Galway named their 26 man panel for Monaghan last night"
A few times last year the team was named the night before the match, particularly before Saturday games. Its disappointing to see only 33 on the panel. I'd be in favour of a more extended panel and get as many lads immersed in the training as possible, although I do appreciate there are costs to that.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 22/01/2020 20:46:14    2261656

Brilliant pod. Cant fault it. We are very lucky to be able to engage with our clubs and county teams regardless where you are in the world. Moe has brilliant understanding of the game.

waynerooney11 (Cavan) - Posts: 142 - 23/01/2020 11:26:54    2261742

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "A few times last year the team was named the night before the match, particularly before Saturday games. Its disappointing to see only 33 on the panel. I'd be in favour of a more extended panel and get as many lads immersed in the training as possible, although I do appreciate there are costs to that."
It's not just the cost. Training all year and not getting game time isn't that beneficial.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/01/2020 14:41:08    2261942

Replying To waynerooney11:  "Brilliant pod. Cant fault it. We are very lucky to be able to engage with our clubs and county teams regardless where you are in the world. Moe has brilliant understanding of the game."
Does he? I would have though Hannon is a cut above the others when it comes to analysis.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 24/01/2020 19:10:22    2261983

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Does he? I would have though Hannon is a cut above the others when it comes to analysis."
Hannon talks a lot about the science of the game and is interesting to listen too but not so successful as a manager. I find the two boys great craic and passionate about football. Great pod cast and worth the few Bob.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/01/2020 21:40:43    2262015

O wonder do some players think they've made it by listening to the podcast, because every young player is portrayed like a future All Star..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 26/01/2020 09:52:03    2262397

Replying To FoolsGold:  "O wonder do some players think they've made it by listening to the podcast, because every young player is portrayed like a future All Star.."
Yeah, they can't help themselves . I'd love for someone to compile a list of all the ridiculous things they've come out with so far.

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 186 - 27/01/2020 14:39:52    2262910

Replying To CavanAgain:  "Yeah, they can't help themselves . I'd love for someone to compile a list of all the ridiculous things they've come out with so far."
Well this thread was started because of a proclamation by Paul Fitz that Caoimhin O'Reilly is one of Cavan's ten best players!

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 31/01/2020 15:07:11    2264009

Damien and Paul: "We're making a rule to stop talking about the lads that aren't with Cavan, it's not fair on the lads that are in there giving it their all"

Also Damien and Paul: "Bumper interview with panel drop off Killian Clarke!!"

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 07/02/2020 21:31:30    2266033

Replying To JonSmith:  "Damien and Paul: "We're making a rule to stop talking about the lads that aren't with Cavan, it's not fair on the lads that are in there giving it their all"

Also Damien and Paul: "Bumper interview with panel drop off Killian Clarke!!""
With all the media work Clarke is partaking in, I'm beginning to see why he "drifted" away from the panel. Every day I open a paper there's a piece with an opinion of his. Another with Malachy Clerkin today.
I think he's even done two interviews with We Are Cavan at this stage. Great way to take a break from the inter county scene - spend the year talking about why you took a break!
At this stage, I would really like to see focus about who is on the panel and giving their all for Cavan GAA. Those boys showed plenty of determination last weekend.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 08/02/2020 23:43:24    2266227