David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To catch22:  "Ya, them aul Massey's are a hoor on diesel."
Brilliant :-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/08/2019 16:19:54    2227041

Replying To greysoil:  "Who or what group decides on the referee fo the AI? Not familiar with the process."
Jim Gavin and David Gough sat down and had s pint when they met up as they do most Friday afternoons. After several hours of in depth discussion about how the game should be played out they came to the question of who should referee this game.
Eventually after plying said official with more porter it was a done deal.
That's how things are done or didn't you know.
It's all been taken care of sure.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/08/2019 16:20:06    2227042

Replying To Joxer:  "Sure at least you'll have your excuse scripted should you lose. Kerry Cormac wasn't available for you this year so they gave you another set of Meath officials instead. Meath are no rivals of Dublin of course. I'm sure the oul agricultural diesel in the tank will cost ye a lot less than €90 KB. A few hang sandwiches will sort the food out. Who do ye think yer coddin? :)"
We don't have ever conceivable advantage handed to us like your lot Joxer good man.
I wonder if you had to travel to Killarney for every game how many you'd attend.
Don't have the Luas or the 46A to jump on.
Along with multiple advantages discussed ad nauseam. ( ye can Google that one joxer)
You get a lad work, coaching, living in Dublin...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2019 16:25:30    2227049

Replying To westkerry:  "We don't have ever conceivable advantage handed to us like your lot Joxer good man.
I wonder if you had to travel to Killarney for every game how many you'd attend.
Along with multiple advantages discussed ad nauseam. ( ye can Google that one joxer)
You get a lad work, coaching, living in Dublin..."
Would say Jover more naturally a 17a bus route man myself.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/08/2019 16:58:28    2227076

Replying To westkerry:  "We don't have ever conceivable advantage handed to us like your lot Joxer good man.
Ah get over with your poor mouthing, no wonder the "fans" from Kerry couldn't give a damn about their team if they all think like you. What a defeatist, but I suspect you're the sort who argues win win, just getting your excuses in first.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/08/2019 17:01:45    2227077

Every conceivable advantage? Sure ye won all irelands with 3 games. What more advantages do ye need?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 17:13:34    2227087

I dont care what kind of lifestyle Gough has in Dublin thats he personnal life. I am glad he will be reffing the final no matter what the kerry media views are.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 18/08/2019 17:16:15    2227091

Replying To greysoil:  "Would say Jover more naturally a 17a bus route man myself."
Nah, no. 40 from Finglas in the old days before I moved beyond the M50. At least you got the side of the liffey correct. Not bad for a Kerry lad. ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 17:18:17    2227093

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
ya , so what's your point then.
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
Should they all be subjected to some sort of special scrutiny."
The fundamental point that justice must be seen to be done and that, as far as possible, referees must not only be neutral but be seen to be neutral seems to be beyond the grasp of many here.
You mention 'professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job' Quite often 'professional people' - judges (another word for referee), for example, do withdraw fron cases where a PERCEIVED - key word here - conflict of interest may arise.
Why did Dublin have the Kerry referee removed? Because they PERCEIVED a possible conflict of interest.
Do you really think a Limerick referee living and working in Tralee would be acceptable to Dublin? Of course he would not and Dublin would be perfectly correct to have reservations about him.

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game."]But he's no more embedded in Dublin than David Coldrick who refereed the last Dublin v Kerry final was, he lived and worked in Dublin too.
And is he is that embedded in Dublin how come he over ruled himself and cancelled the penalty against Cork.

BoynesideBlue (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 18/08/2019 17:25:28    2227104

Replying To Joxer:  "Nah, no. 40 from Finglas in the old days before I moved beyond the M50. At least you got the side of the liffey correct. Not bad for a Kerry lad. ;)"
Thanks. It always comes out. :-)
Have an aunt living in Kerry, if that helps your Kerry assertion ?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/08/2019 17:31:26    2227110

Replying To Joxer:  "Every conceivable advantage? Sure ye won all irelands with 3 games. What more advantages do ye need?"
So did your lot Joxer 4 games. 2 Leinster games a semi and am AI final.
As I said all the advantages handed to ye.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2019 17:33:06    2227111

Replying To westkerry:  "So did your lot Joxer 4 games. 2 Leinster games a semi and am AI final.
As I said all the advantages handed to ye."
Yeah but we weren't going for 5 in a row and being proclaimed the GOAT. Besides more often than not we were playing 3 games just to get out of our province not to win Sam.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 18:13:43    2227141

Replying To greysoil:  "Thanks. It always comes out. :-)
Have an aunt living in Kerry, if that helps your Kerry assertion ?"
Lucky you're not Gough or you'd be publicly slaughtered on Twitter for that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 18:14:42    2227143

Replying To brisbane:  "I dont care what kind of lifestyle Gough has in Dublin thats he personnal life. I am glad he will be reffing the final no matter what the kerry media views are."
Haven't seen much about anyone's personal life mentioned here? Why start now?

Dmck19 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 18/08/2019 18:16:22    2227145

KingdomBoy1, why would you bother to waste your €400 coming into the dreaded Pale when you already know you will be robbed by the GAA, the referee and the Dubs?
It would be far better for you to send your expensive tickets to somebody (in Dublin) who would not moan and groan but who would appreciate your gesture.

BlueBeret (Dublin) - Posts: 54 - 18/08/2019 18:26:58    2227153

Replying To BlueBeret:  "KingdomBoy1, why would you bother to waste your €400 coming into the dreaded Pale when you already know you will be robbed by the GAA, the referee and the Dubs?
It would be far better for you to send your expensive tickets to somebody (in Dublin) who would not moan and groan but who would appreciate your gesture."
Because sport is about the good days along with the bad. It's a professional team against a team of young lads straight out of minor.
The bookies have Dublin -5 and they are rarely wrong.
We will go and support our lads and regardless of the result we are proud of our team.
I'm sure it grates on most Dubs that they don't get the recognition that they deserve we know why that is.
Another point lost is everybody comparing the Kerry 4 in a row to Dublin now has one difference.
Our team was the same team, year in year ou th.
This is an evolving Dublin team with this year being the first without a a new man or two being introduced.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2019 18:40:20    2227159

Replying To westkerry:  "Because sport is about the good days along with the bad. It's a professional team against a team of young lads straight out of minor.
We will go and support our lads and regardless of the result we are proud of our team.
I'm sure it grates on most Dubs that they don't get the recognition that they deserve we know why that is.
Another point lost is everybody comparing the Kerry 4 in a row to Dublin now has one difference.
This is an evolving Dublin team with this year being the first without a a new man or two being introduced."
In my opinion, if you have to make an argument for your greatness, you probably aren't great.

We are comfortable in our skin, we've evolved beyond that kind of argument.

We neither seek or look for the acknowledgement nor affirmation of those who need to make a case for themselves and their achievements.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 19:48:13    2227190

Replying To westkerry:  "Because sport is about the good days along with the bad. It's a professional team against a team of young lads straight out of minor.
This is an evolving Dublin team with this year being the first without a a new man or two being introduced."
What more recognition do Dubs want than to have the county name on Sam five times in a row? If it happens then the lads who've got us there will go down in folklore as some of the best to have ever picked up a ball. I'm sure it grates on Kerry people that their four in a row is tarnished playing a minimum number of games in an annual provincial cake walk to get to an AI semi from a hurling province. Dublin played 7 games on their way to a final last year. Kerry won 2 Sams having played just 7 games. Tainted did ye say. ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 19:48:32    2227191

GAA need to appoint neutral refs, lads from neutral province, stop wasting time on this topic

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 18/08/2019 19:56:18    2227197

Why are Kerry's lads never talking about Wexford's greatness?

Always comparing their 4 to Dublin's

Sure Wexford's 4 was truly unique and every bit as substantial

Wexford are Kerry's equal

Although for some reason no one ever talked about Wexford in the same lyrical way

In fact no one even cared, it was almost like Wexford's 4 weren't as substantial given the time passed

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 20:24:49    2227209