David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To brisbane:  "Deegan was judged on his poor performance he gave kerry very soft frees he had a huge impact on the outcome.. Gough is being judged on his personnal life by the kerry media"
Gough is being judged on his personnal life by the kerry media

Can you give an example, Please?

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 18/08/2019 11:05:30    2226935

Replying To Joxer:  "For a supposed Laois man you have an awful lot of interest in this Kerry circus. Anyway this is about the process and the person. You're talking about the appointment process. I'm not. I'm talking about the person. It shouldn't be that hard to grasp. Gough has been appointed. His family, friends, relatives....are all aware and delighted for him. Eamo, Aido and another group of Kerry men have questioned his impartiality on the basis that he works in Dublin and are calling for his removal, in the case of the Kerry Supporters Club . For some reason you seem to think that if he was now removed it would not be damaging to him. That's just bizarre. 30% of the state's workforce works in Dublin. Good luck to Kerry and their supporters in finding a referee as good as Gough with no connection to the capital!"
His family, friends, relatives....are all aware and delighted for him. On the floor laughing!! Is life some sort of children's fairytale..

Why are you so concerned with the 'person' of David Gough?? For what it's worth i never said he should be removed, it's too late now. He should never have been appointed.

And 70% of people have no connection to Dublin, that's a fair percentage to pick from. The hyperbole re.Gough as a referee is ridiculous. You'd swear he had eyes in the back of his head combined with hawkeye installed on him. Get over yourselves and the capital, there are plenty of good referees outside it.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/08/2019 11:07:35    2226936

Replying To Aibrean:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
ya , so what's your point then.
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
Should they all be subjected to some sort of special scrutiny."
The fundamental point that justice must be seen to be done and that, as far as possible, referees must not only be neutral but be seen to be neutral seems to be beyond the grasp of many here.
You mention 'professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job' Quite often 'professional people' - judges (another word for referee), for example, do withdraw fron cases where a PERCEIVED - key word here - conflict of interest may arise.
Why did Dublin have the Kerry referee removed? Because they PERCEIVED a possible conflict of interest.
Do you really think a Limerick referee living and working in Tralee would be acceptable to Dublin? Of course he would not and Dublin would be perfectly correct to have reservations about him.

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 11:11:09    2226939

The mind games and media manipulation are in full flow already...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2019 11:16:34    2226941

Replying To Aibrean:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
The fundamental point that justice must be seen to be done and that, as far as possible, referees must not only be neutral but be seen to be neutral seems to be beyond the grasp of many here.
You mention 'professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job' Quite often 'professional people' - judges (another word for referee), for example, do withdraw fron cases where a PERCEIVED - key word here - conflict of interest may arise.
Why did Dublin have the Kerry referee removed? Because they PERCEIVED a possible conflict of interest.
Do you really think a Limerick referee living and working in Tralee would be acceptable to Dublin? Of course he would not and Dublin would be perfectly correct to have reservations about him.

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]You mentioned judges withdrawing well solicitors and barristers are in the legal game and they don't have a problem contesting cases against colleges or associates in the same profession . Isn't this a prime example of the law presiding over justice seeing to be done. If they weren't neutral they couldn't properly represent their clients and might be accused of not putting forward a proper defense or prosecution case.
What's fundamentally important is that the best man for the job be appointed and Gough has proved that even if EF has his gripe.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/08/2019 11:56:43    2226950

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game."]That's easily said when you know in your heart and soul it'll never ever happen, and the last time anything like this did happen in 2007 Dublin officials had plenty to say about it and had the reff removed .

Nothing against Gough but what's happening here is wrong full stop.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 18/08/2019 11:58:31    2226951

Replying To Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game."]I was a ref in Basketball and you are talking rubbish. Referees are a completely different breed, they have a specific job to do and most do it to the best of their ability. You are merely talking about perception. Ideally, refs should not be from either county, Gough is not end off story. You cannot shaft a man's integrity in the manner some have from Kerry, it is disgusting and libelous. Gough is not from Dublin by your reckoning that has to be the end of it. Judges exclude themselves from cases be abuse they know someone or feel their opinion would disable them from carrying out their job. Gough is not from Dublin that is the end of it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/08/2019 12:07:49    2226955

Replying To TheUsername:  "Thats an excellent post and very true.

is the man being judged on his referee performance or his personal life, you have to say the latter. Its frightening and worrying how much certain protagonists have delved into his personal life.

Play the ball not the man etc."
Am I missing something here? where has anybody from kerry mentioned anything about David Goughs personal life? There is a lot of rubbish being spoken on this thread by both sides, I came on hoganstand to discuss the games but all ye do on here is snipe and give out ,will ye just cop on and try and enjoy the build up.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 18/08/2019 12:23:07    2226956

To all the country posters living and working in Dublin.

Would you favor Dublin if you had to ref a game involving them?

The sole reason being that you live and work in Dublin where a job was available thus making you give Dublin favorable calls?

Or is that an incredibly simplistic assertion and a tad bit insulting to you ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 12:24:40    2226958

Replying To BliainanÁir:  " His family, friends, relatives....are all aware and delighted for him. On the floor laughing!! Is life some sort of children's fairytale..

Why are you so concerned with the 'person' of David Gough?? For what it's worth i never said he should be removed, it's too late now. He should never have been appointed.

And 70% of people have no connection to Dublin, that's a fair percentage to pick from. The hyperbole re.Gough as a referee is ridiculous. You'd swear he had eyes in the back of his head combined with hawkeye installed on him. Get over yourselves and the capital, there are plenty of good referees outside it."
Who said anything about 70% having no connection to Dublin? Gough is from outside of the capital anyway and so are all of the other officials, including the 4 umpires who are also from Meath. Dubs are not the ones on the witch hunt here. Job done from a Kerry perspective. The last thing Gough will want now is to award any 50/50 call to Dublin with Aido. Eamo and the Kerry Supporters Club having a microscope on him.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 12:28:05    2226960

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and all the while

Dubs quietly getting on with things."
I doubt very much that peter Keane and the team are giving this topic too much thought, they have come out in support of David Gough and left it at that, they had their press day and met the fans yesterday so it's going to be head down from here to the final and good luck to them.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 18/08/2019 12:37:36    2226964

Replying To Themall1916:  "Am I missing something here? where has anybody from kerry mentioned anything about David Goughs personal life? There is a lot of rubbish being spoken on this thread by both sides, I came on hoganstand to discuss the games but all ye do on here is snipe and give out ,will ye just cop on and try and enjoy the build up."
Well if you care to post on here or the wider internet; your place of work, where you live, who you take pictures with and where your family of origin are from and where they might live, or dont mind other posters on here doing an anonymous searches of your background, that is your prerogative

For me that enters the realms of someones personal life, the fact that Gough didn't consent to that information entering the public space, being searched and shared, is very disturbing. As is people sense of entitlement to feel its ok to 1. Do it and 2. Share it.

All opinions mind and different people have different values,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 12:59:17    2226967

Replying To jimbodub:  "To all the country posters living and working in Dublin.

Would you favor Dublin if you had to ref a game involving them?

The sole reason being that you live and work in Dublin where a job was available thus making you give Dublin favorable calls?

Or is that an incredibly simplistic assertion and a tad bit insulting to you ?"
No way.

I've family born and bred Dubs and I've many friends from Dublin.

It wouldn't matter in the slightest.

Like Dublin is so big compared to the rest of Ireland population wise therefore many barely know Dublin are playing.

I've never in my days heard such tripe and I feel for Gough.

Like you could easily switch the narrative and say a meath man will not want Dublin to win.

Really think its poor form questioning a ref before a game.

You could be in a fancy bar in the Southside and they will have rugger or soccer on. My point is Dublin is a big hub. You could be involved in the area but the vast majority of people might have no clue.

I think gough is on a hiding to nothing now.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 18/08/2019 13:34:53    2226980

Replying To gallarus14:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game."]That's easily said when you know in your heart and soul it'll never ever happen, and the last time anything like this did happen in 2007 Dublin officials had plenty to say about it and had the reff removed .

Nothing against Gough but what's happening here is wrong full stop."]Then its a poor example to give, i genuinely wouldn't have a problem with a Kerry man living in Kerry reffing this game, i think its creates an onus and pressure to be impartial.

If it happened in the past, then Dublin made a show of themselves the same way Kerry are at the moment. Dublin hopefully and thankfully have evolved from these controversies. Dublin of the past made some awful decisions on and off the pitch, nothing to be aspiring to to be quite honest with you.

Lets be honest, though if it was given to Joe McQuillan an Ulster ref, you lads would going around calling him Dublin Joe.

I dont know what it is its something in the Kerry GAA DNA that always has to play the victim or the put upon, its real chip on the shoulder of stuff.

Dont get me wrong i love a good Kerry match and spending time with their supporters, i love it because they are good GAA people in the main, every county has their ejits my own included. I suspect real Kerry GAA people are cringing at this debate.

This narrative is perfect for us, we want yee to have a chip on your shoulder and convey a sense of worry and anxiety and be fretting on small irrelevant details. Its small time.

The referee could be from Mars for all i care. Why sweat the small stuff.

If im being really honest, i would be disappointed with the appointment of Gough if i was from Kerry, not because of where he works. But the actions of some fans and i would acknowledge it was likely a minority, following the semi in 16. I think if anything would prejudice the ref consciously or subconsciously its that. If that is the gripe and concern then fair enough, i could understand that and i think you have a right to be concerned given what i witnessed, but not on where the man works.

What would prejudice you more a group throwing missiles at you, threatening you and calling you every name under the sun or working in Dublin, that is how silly the realty of the logic is here. Weighing all of that, i can see why Kerry would be concerned but its nothing to do with where the man works.

Cillain O Connor is a teacher in Dublin also i believe and sure he only went lamped Davey Byrne last weekend. The whole argument can be approached to anyone living in Dublin, many of the Kerry lads live up here, are they prejudiced too? Are they worried about the fall out of living here if Kerry win? Will they be trying that bit lest because its a blue Jersey - hopefully! ;)

Ultimately this has nothing to do with Dublin, we can only show our class and dignity.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 13:41:13    2226982

Replying To gallarus14:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

Nothing against Gough but what's happening here is wrong full stop."]Then its a poor example to give, i genuinely wouldn't have a problem with a Kerry man living in Kerry reffing this game, i think its creates an onus and pressure to be impartial.

If it happened in the past, then Dublin made a show of themselves the same way Kerry are at the moment. Dublin hopefully and thankfully have evolved from these controversies. Dublin of the past made some awful decisions on and off the pitch, nothing to be aspiring to to be quite honest with you.

Lets be honest, though if it was given to Joe McQuillan an Ulster ref, you lads would going around calling him Dublin Joe.

I dont know what it is its something in the Kerry GAA DNA that always has to play the victim or the put upon, its real chip on the shoulder of stuff.

Dont get me wrong i love a good Kerry match and spending time with their supporters, i love it because they are good GAA people in the main, every county has their ejits my own included. I suspect real Kerry GAA people are cringing at this debate.

This narrative is perfect for us, we want yee to have a chip on your shoulder and convey a sense of worry and anxiety and be fretting on small irrelevant details. Its small time.

The referee could be from Mars for all i care. Why sweat the small stuff.

If im being really honest, i would be disappointed with the appointment of Gough if i was from Kerry, not because of where he works. But the actions of some fans and i would acknowledge it was likely a minority, following the semi in 16. I think if anything would prejudice the ref consciously or subconsciously its that. If that is the gripe and concern then fair enough, i could understand that and i think you have a right to be concerned given what i witnessed, but not on where the man works.

What would prejudice you more a group throwing missiles at you, threatening you and calling you every name under the sun or working in Dublin, that is how silly the realty of the logic is here. Weighing all of that, i can see why Kerry would be concerned but its nothing to do with where the man works.

Cillain O Connor is a teacher in Dublin also i believe and sure he only went lamped Davey Byrne last weekend. The whole argument can be approached to anyone living in Dublin, many of the Kerry lads live up here, are they prejudiced too? Are they worried about the fall out of living here if Kerry win? Will they be trying that bit lest because its a blue Jersey - hopefully! ;)

Ultimately this has nothing to do with Dublin, we can only show our class and dignity."]Since when did a program become a missile :-) ?

I suppose they'll be charging us €7 for missiles going into crokepark in 2 weeks :-)

You really need to look up the difference between an object and a missile as missiles are rocket propelled how did our fans manage to bring rockets into crokepark :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/08/2019 15:06:23    2227008

Have to laugh at the Dubs on here , ye had no problem when your own ex players in the media doing a job on Lee Keegan before the replay in 17.
People making comparison with players of other counties living in Dublin sorry lads if you need the difference between players and refs pointed out to you then we are waisting our breath.
At this stage I wish the best to the officials on the day and hope there is no mention of him after the game as it's not about him or his family of umpires.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2019 15:15:25    2227014

Replying To IamDonegal:  "No way.

I've family born and bred Dubs and I've many friends from Dublin.

It wouldn't matter in the slightest.

Like Dublin is so big compared to the rest of Ireland population wise therefore many barely know Dublin are playing.

I've never in my days heard such tripe and I feel for Gough.

Like you could easily switch the narrative and say a meath man will not want Dublin to win.

Really think its poor form questioning a ref before a game.

You could be in a fancy bar in the Southside and they will have rugger or soccer on. My point is Dublin is a big hub. You could be involved in the area but the vast majority of people might have no clue.

I think gough is on a hiding to nothing now."
So are we not allowed to have an opinion on a reff who will take charge of a game that our team are involved in?

I will personally be paying €270 for tickets to go and watch this game and another €90 for diesel plus football another €60-€70 for grub so over €400 and all we want is a fair shot at it and nothing more, we'll more than likely come up short anyway but I don't want to be walking up dromcondra after the game feeling robbed again.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/08/2019 15:24:05    2227021

Who or what group decides on the referee fo the AI? Not familiar with the process.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/08/2019 15:41:29    2227024

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So are we not allowed to have an opinion on a reff who will take charge of a game that our team are involved in?

I will personally be paying €270 for tickets to go and watch this game and another €90 for diesel plus football another €60-€70 for grub so over €400 and all we want is a fair shot at it and nothing more, we'll more than likely come up short anyway but I don't want to be walking up dromcondra after the game feeling robbed again."
Sure at least you'll have your excuse scripted should you lose. Kerry Cormac wasn't available for you this year so they gave you another set of Meath officials instead. Meath are no rivals of Dublin of course. I'm sure the oul agricultural diesel in the tank will cost ye a lot less than €90 KB. A few hang sandwiches will sort the food out. Who do ye think yer coddin? :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 15:45:45    2227025

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So are we not allowed to have an opinion on a reff who will take charge of a game that our team are involved in?

I will personally be paying €270 for tickets to go and watch this game and another €90 for diesel plus football another €60-€70 for grub so over €400 and all we want is a fair shot at it and nothing more, we'll more than likely come up short anyway but I don't want to be walking up dromcondra after the game feeling robbed again."
Ya, them aul Massey's are a hoor on diesel.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/08/2019 15:47:19    2227026