Championship 2019

Replying To tom84:  "Yes"
I was exspecting him to start today, seeing we were lacking natural scoring forwards in the league .

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 18/05/2019 14:13:29    2185206

Replying To goonie:  "In fairness to Moynagh he was one of the better players in a lot of the league games ."
I have to agree with you and along with that he has a good heart. One of our better players on the present panel. Big crowed I expect so lets hope the 16th man prevails.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/05/2019 14:26:30    2185209

All the best to Cavan today.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 340 - 18/05/2019 16:10:40    2185232

As much as it pains me to say, Congratulations to Cavan on a deserved victory.

(Will yous keep the noise down later, some of us will be trying to sleep.)

Enjoy. It's overdue.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 18/05/2019 20:54:01    2185310

Thanks be to God for that! Delighted to finally send that shower packing, we owed them a beating!

Thrilled for the players, plenty to work on performance wise, but let's savour this for now!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 18/05/2019 21:04:50    2185317

Delighted with that result. Players and management deserve huge credit. Best of luck to Monaghan for the rest of the year. Great banter with ye at the match and all in good spirits.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 18/05/2019 22:30:51    2185344

Replying To IamADragon:  "The last time we played Monaghan in the Championship Moynagh jumped out of McManus's way for the decisive goal, if he plays tomorrow I do hope he's a bit braver."
If it's the same goal I'm recalling it was
McLougjlin not Moynagh.

Anyway, Jason played well tonight, his best for ages. Delighted with the overall effort. MOR was terrific. Also very impressed with the game plan and the level of organisation so
well done Micky. Less impressed by the keepball deep in defence at the end but alls well that ends well. A world of a diffference from this time last year. On we go...

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 18/05/2019 23:34:05    2185362

Replying To ondforty:  "If it's the same goal I'm recalling it was
McLougjlin not Moynagh.

Anyway, Jason played well tonight, his best for ages. Delighted with the overall effort. MOR was terrific. Also very impressed with the game plan and the level of organisation so
well done Micky. Less impressed by the keepball deep in defence at the end but alls well that ends well. A world of a diffference from this time last year. On we go..."
Yes congratulations to Cavan tonight a long wait to get a win over the neighbours.
Some questions I wonder why Monaghan decided to stay most of their time behind their own 65 in the first half. I thought this was a very negative attitude.
Second hand on heart would one say the penalty was a very soft one, my own opinion that it was not a penalty. After watching it tonight I am convinced there was no foot block but no matter one has to take what they get and Martin Reilly put it away very well. He was an out and out man of the match.
Next on the cards now is the winners of Armagh V Down. WHo knows an Ulster final might be on the cards lets hope so. It will give an long over due boost to the supporters who have traveled year on year waiting for tonights result.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/05/2019 23:55:16    2185373

Replying To ondforty:  "If it's the same goal I'm recalling it was
McLougjlin not Moynagh.

well done Micky. Less impressed by the keepball deep in defence at the end but alls well that ends well. A world of a diffference from this time last year. On we go..."
No it was definitely Moynagh, here's a link to that game, skip to around 4.30 minutes to see the goal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Mi58aVDkMg

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 19/05/2019 01:35:36    2185386

Awww lads I'm still on a high after that win!

One thing for sure yesterday cavan game out of the station like a train yesterday at the start...and Monaghan didn't expect that...Monaghan in my opinion were very poor...the where sloppy on the ball and making at times simple footballing mistakes that you should be making for a div 1 team, on saying that tho cavan where very good also,the played great football when last year at similar stages it looked like no one wanted the ball. I noticed that good work has gone into the team from Mickey and the lads even from the league and hopefully can do the same in ulster championship.

Also someone get that dog a cavan Jersey...he covered the entire pitch I think....

Looking forward to the next day out

Cavanman123 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 19/05/2019 08:18:55    2185400

Great performance, how refreshing to see the full with of the pitch being used and good direct football being played. Haven't seen that for a while. It really is a simple game when the scoring becomes the priority.
We reverted to or 14 men behind the ball in the 2nd half but Mickey soon had them back on track.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 19/05/2019 08:22:12    2185401

Congratulations on a brilliant win.. I had a few euro on ye yesterday so thanks for that. I wouldn't say it's a massive shock that ye won. I'd say most of were quietly confident before the game. Best of luck and would love to see ye win Ulster but one step at a time

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 19/05/2019 08:56:39    2185405

Replying To IamADragon:  "No it was definitely Moynagh, here's a link to that game, skip to around 4.30 minutes to see the goal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Mi58aVDkMg"
Jesus Christ who bloody cares. Cavan were great yesterday bat a nervous 3rd quarter. Gearoid showed well at times but for me Martin Reilly was a clear man of the match followed closely by Jason McLoughlin. If we had more quality in our own kick outs we would have won by 7 or 8. Well done to the players and management team. We think of monaghan as our bitter rivals but they are also a top 6 team, maybe top 4. It is no mean feat turning them over. Now we need to knuckle down and work hard to win the semi against either Down or Armagh.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/05/2019 09:15:50    2185407

Thought Martin Reilly was simply outstanding last night. Second to none out there, honest, hard working, no nonsense player with a great ability to carry play forward.

I thought Gearóid was superb as well, kicked some vital scores. There is more in Madden and McVitty, that's a good pairing up front we just need to utilise them more.
The full back line was great, McManus was a pedestrian all evening!

As for things to work on, the glaring issue was the kick out strategy, I think Galligan needs to work on that.
And of course, playing for 70 minutes as opposed to 35, which is a feature of many of our games and last night was almost no exception. If we can learn to drive home a commanding lead, there's no reason we couldn't compete with most teams.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/05/2019 09:40:19    2185412

A pleasant drive home to North Kildare last night. After such a long gap it was nice to finally beat Monaghan in the Championship. A very composed performance over the last fifteen minutes to get the job done, something that has not been there for a long time. Faulkner's point in the second have was a fantastic score and after that I was confident that we would see it through. It was probably our best performance since we beat Derry in Celtic Park in Terry Hyland's second year in charge. However, there is still plenty to work on. Our kick outs were very poor throughout the game and free taking is still an issue which Ray Galligan is not the answer to.

The next day will pose a new set of challenges, can we deal with the favourite's tag, increased expectation and a level of hype that will now surface. Let's hope so!

As for Monaghan, if it is the beginning of the end for this group of players then they own the Monaghan public nothing. They have given them many good days out and two Ulster titles. They should have no regrets. Maybe, they did not perform to their best in Croke Park in last year's All Ireland Semi - Final but they still nearly won that game. That defeat had to take a lot out of them.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 19/05/2019 10:08:42    2185424

Great victory with an assured performance, so good to see.
MOM to Martin Reilly, delivery very of ball to ff line makes a difference and has been a problem in Cavan for a while. I'm not con conceded by that ff line though.
Excellent performances by Faulkner, Murray Mc Kiernan and Conroy's free when he came in.
Mickey Graham could do worse than take a look at video of Cavan''s victory over Kerry in Junior All Ireland there a few years ago, Conroy's contribution from dead ball that day was immense and might sort out the free taker problem, yet he has remained on the fringe since then, take a serious look at him and give the lad a chance to build his confidence.
Substitutions of Thomas Galligan and Gerry Smith a bit left field?? A few lads in there look well out of their depth.
I would like to have seen Mackey sooner.

Armagh or Down will be no pushover but Cavan can be completely proud of yesterday's game and as manager said it was a team effort.
Monaghan played football for 10 minutes if even that, so it's too soon to get carried away. A team that will play 60 70 mins will challenge us.
Well done Mickey Graham/Dermot Mc Cabe a great Ulster Champ debut management performance.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/05/2019 12:29:17    2185460

When Mackey came on yesterday he played on the terrace sideline for most of the time...like on the line...kinda out of the way for ball coming through...it was an interesting tactic but perhaps it was to allow cavan's half forward to get more room to shoot?

That's one thing you wouldn't see on tv that's for sure.

It definitely seemed to open up a section in front of goals at times for McKiernan to get one of the last few points.

Cavanman123 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 19/05/2019 12:44:58    2185468

I meant, I am not convinced by that ff line.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/05/2019 12:55:55    2185472

Madden starting to show he can be a good inside forward at County level. He has the size and good feet, a good outlet with his fielding ability.
Cavan looked a quality team for a good part of the first half. second half was sloppy at times.
They still need another scoring threat inside. Caoimhín Reilly or Johnston would be good options. Don't think Conor Bradley is part of the panel

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/05/2019 13:26:51    2185479

Congratulations to team and management. Brilliant win yesterday. Some outstanding performances but Martin Reilly was immense. Next game will be a good gauge of where we're at. We'll go in with a bit of hype and should be favourites so hopefully we react positively and carry the tag well. The draw today will be a help too so whoever we play will be playing the third weekend on the trot. We have plenty to work on and made some mistakes but last 10 minutes I thought we looked very assured and saw the game out well even though it should have been more comfortable. Would love to see this team make an Ulster final. It would be a terrific occasion for them and just reward for the many years of great service they have given the county.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 19/05/2019 18:35:49    2185549