Championship 2019

I'd leave Murray & Mackey on the bench as options to come on. My starting 15 would be:

Galligan
McLoughlin
Faulkner
Killian Brady
Moynagh
Pierson
Rehill
Thomas Galligan/Paul Graham
Killian Clarke
Marty Reilly
McKiernan
Murray
Madden
McVeety
Conroy

A few changes but I think they are warranted. Move Gearoid away from midfield and use his scoring threat. Him and McVeety can switch a bit between FF and CHF.

Conroy on to take long range frees and drop back to support the back line - he plays CHB for Lavey.

I don't normally like Clarke playing midfield but we need someone there to put the shackles on Burns.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 07/06/2019 18:31:12    2191523

My team should have Kiernan CHB, not Pierson!

Galligan
McLoughlin
Faulkner
Killian Brady
Moynagh
Kiernan
Rehill
Killian Clarke
Marty Reilly
McKiernan
Murray
Madden
McVeety
Conroy

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 07/06/2019 20:06:07    2191538

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "What service are you using? The likes of Sky or Virgin or any of those type of boxes will have the regional variant somewhere. I got a NI sky box so BBC NI is my main one, but I can get Scottish or Welsh BBC on channel 880 or something. You can find BBC NI somewhere there if you look depending on the region you're in."
A ho Found her.. happy days!
Cheers fella..

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 07/06/2019 20:34:26    2191545

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "My team should have Kiernan CHB, not Pierson!

Galligan
McLoughlin
Faulkner
Killian Brady
Moynagh
Kiernan
Rehill
Killian Clarke
Marty Reilly
McKiernan
Murray
Madden
McVeety
Conroy"
The 2 best performances from a cavan side in the last 5 years have both come with Killian Clarke at centre back. Leave him there!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 07/06/2019 23:23:38    2191587

Replying To cavanman47:  "The 2 best performances from a cavan side in the last 5 years have both come with Killian Clarke at centre back. Leave him there!"
Who picks up Jarlath Burns then? Only other man I can think of is Killian Brady but he hasn't featured at all yet.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 08/06/2019 08:50:49    2191616

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Who picks up Jarlath Burns then? Only other man I can think of is Killian Brady but he hasn't featured at all yet."
Gunner came on at the end of the Monaghan match, but yeah, he's not played much.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 08/06/2019 11:06:22    2191642

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Who picks up Jarlath Burns then? Only other man I can think of is Killian Brady but he hasn't featured at all yet."
I agree he needs watching - I just don't like the idea of moving Killian from CHB. Gunner could do a good spoiling job but would he keep his cool for 70+ mins?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 08/06/2019 15:26:22    2191701

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Why would we wait until after the game to see where we're at?

We can make a fair assessment after the league. Small reminder that Monaghan beat us only a matter of weeks ago in said league.

Perhaps we are hell bent on living in the past, but we're also hell bent on ignoring the problems with football in the county, and praying that we'll somehow work a miracle at county level.

Last week a club suffered a 49 point defeat in the league. Last year a different club suffered a similar result in the championship. Elephant in the room.

But let's ignore these things and hope for the best."
At 19:30 US time was wondering why the Cavan team for tomorrow's has not been posted. Thought the GAA had a rule requiring all teams to provide selections by Friday prior to a game.!!

Breffni5 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 09/06/2019 00:35:19    2191968

Replying To Breffni5:  "At 19:30 US time was wondering why the Cavan team for tomorrow's has not been posted. Thought the GAA had a rule requiring all teams to provide selections by Friday prior to a game.!!"
Yes I thought so as well but it has not been released yet and it's now 09-45 GMT. As a Club Breifne member we are alway's the first to get the list. I have a feeling it will be the same team out from the two one been red carded and the Smith injury. There was however no update on this either? I think C.O'Reilly may well be about today.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/06/2019 09:45:54    2192041

Great start by the lads, but galligans kickouts are dreadful.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 09/06/2019 16:36:29    2192213

Unbelievable stuff!
What a day!
Mickey is the messiah!

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 09/06/2019 17:46:52    2192248

Outstanding performance. At last we get there

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 09/06/2019 18:25:39    2192274

Replying To MadgeKing:  "We put Monaghan in their place, but now its time to move on lads. Bigger fish to fry!!

As the Armagh match gets closer I am feeling more and more confident of a comfortable win. This Cavan team has changed its mentality under MG and as supporters we need to up our expectations too. Armagh are a poor side in truth also. They have nobody to mark Madden, McKiernan, McVeety and Martin Reilly. Our backs can handle a set of forwards who couldn't do enough to win promotion this year, and have won only one Ulster championship match in 4 years.
I honestly think we will run them off the pitch in Clones. Cavan by 6 points plus, believe it."
Cavan by 6 points plus!!!! The usual naysayers thought I was having a laugh.
Oh ye of little faith.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 09/06/2019 19:34:46    2192328

Congrats Cavan!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 09/06/2019 20:08:09    2192355

Congratulations and well done.
Enjoy.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 09/06/2019 20:46:07    2192387

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Great start by the lads, but galligans kickouts are dreadful."
He made up for it with his frees , but inagree with you he makes a few bad decision every game , but his saves and frees today were excellent.

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 09/06/2019 20:47:49    2192390

Absolutely over the moon with today's result. Where do I start on the heroics. Gearoid was outstanding in the first half, moynagh after a shakey start had an excellent game, Jason excellent, Faulkner again!!! But what about killian Clarke and Dara mc veety. Simply brilliant. Cavans game management was as good as any of the top teams today. Weathered the inevitable storms Armagh would throw and them and nailed them every time they got close. Very very similar to donegal and their game management yesterday. We've been through so much over the years but this has healed all the wounds. Great for football too to see two footballing teams in the final. Cavan will seriously rattle donegal. They'll have no fear at all!!! Donegal rightly so will be favorites though. I can't wait for two weeks time !!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 09/06/2019 20:53:02    2192393

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Cavan by 6 points plus!!!! The usual naysayers thought I was having a laugh.
Oh ye of little faith."
Fair play Madge. What a performance. I love summer football. Although I never felt confident of victory at any stage , even towards the end. Only at the final whistle. That is not because i dont back Cavan , It's borne out of bitter experience but absolutely fair play to Mickey and the boys. 23 points is a massive haul in a tight game. roll on the Ulster final. It's been too long.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/06/2019 20:54:41    2192395

very emotional and proud tonight. all we ever want as cavan fans is to be proud of our team and them boys are giving us a summer to remember and its only the beginning of June.
We will probably be underdogs for the final but lets remember we have bet a good few of these donegal boys in under 21 finals , we are the division one team and the most successful team in ulster football. so lets have no fear and finish the job.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 09/06/2019 21:25:45    2192426

Mostly agree with theweanling bar in relation to Mc Kiernan. Thought he was poor throughout, he did get 3 pts but Armagh also got 3 pts directly from kickouts that he should have won or at least contested. His lack of fight for those balls was alarming and more generally the lack of tracking runners from midfield will certainly cost us dear against better opposition. His scores invariably were him turning up on the end of moves, where other lads had done the donkey work, like mc manus for Monaghan. The difference is Mc Kiernan is supposed to be a midfielder, Mc Manus isn't, rather a poacher.
I really think a workhorse like gunner would serve us much better in mf for the final, time will tell.
Overall a good performance, hard to know how strong the opposition, but thrilled to see Murray nail those free kicks, especially the tricky one when Armagh got it back to a point, that showed real character.

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 09/06/2019 21:34:55    2192436