Former Tánaiste could be next Donegal GAA chairperson

November 23, 2023

A view of a Donegal flag. ©INPHO/Tom Honan.

Former Tánaiste Mary Coughlan has been nominated for the Donegal GAA chair.

With Fergus McGee stepping down after completing just one year in the role, Coughlan's name has been put forward along with that of her St Naul's club colleague Cieran Kelly. The other candidate is Sean Dunnion from Four Masters. The new chairperson will be elected at county convention on Wednesday, December 13.

There are also vacancies for PRO and assistant secretary after Fiona Shiels and Ed Byrne confirmed they wouldn't be seeking re-election. The nominees for PRO are Ed Byrne, Sinead Breen, Sorcha Ní Gallachoir, while Mary Kelly is the sole nominee for assistant secretary.



Most Read Stories