Cavan Vs Meath. Rd 5.

Replying To 199710:  "A simple fact of the game that I've seen no one mention was when a Sean Brennan tipped over a fisted effort that was going into the net. Should it had then it would have been disallowed but instead he tipped it over the bar and a point for Cavan. Meath had one similar in the first half, well I think similar not sure if it was for a straight fisted pass into the net or was it for Daithi McGown been in the square. Contrasting fortunes but small margins. We lost a lot of our own kickouts which is something that we need to fix. We should be 90% plus especially on our own ones..."
I wonder whether Brennan was concerned that it may have been heading for the crossbar and it would rebound out for a potential tap-in.

LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 05/03/2024 18:53:42    2529990

Replying To brian:  "Well said breffini, good to hear from yourself and bloodandbandage today. And what the view from outside the county is. You make some great points there re chance conversion, things aren't perfect with the team and management, no one's saying it is, but we're trending upwards which is what most reasonable poster on here are hoping for.

Good to see Cavan on the rise too, gallivanting has you progressing nicely. Being of Kells stock and married to a lovely killeshandra girl, I'd always keep an eye out to see how Cavan are going. Best of luck for the rest of the campaign and hopefully you've secured Sam maguire football and we might see you in navan over the summer."
I'm a Cavanman exiled in Trim so a serious soft spot for the royals, still married a Cavan woman mind you! Great to see our clubmen Aaron and Ciaran making their mark, great young players.

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 05/03/2024 20:18:49    2530003

Replying To 199710:  "A simple fact of the game that I've seen no one mention was when a Sean Brennan tipped over a fisted effort that was going into the net. Should it had then it would have been disallowed but instead he tipped it over the bar and a point for Cavan. Meath had one similar in the first half, well I think similar not sure if it was for a straight fisted pass into the net or was it for Daithi McGown been in the square. Contrasting fortunes but small margins. We lost a lot of our own kickouts which is something that we need to fix. We should be 90% plus especially on our own ones..."
Monday morning quarterback stuff and a desperate attempt at trying to look like the smartest man in the room. I think Billy Hogan is considerably better than Brennan and even I wouldn't criticise been Brennan for going for that ball.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 06/03/2024 13:26:24    2530072

Replying To LobinstownMan:  "It certainly falls more into the spoofer category though - he infamously promised to delete his account should Tyrone defeat Meath in the 2013 All Ireland series. When they duly did, he backed down on his word and has been on borrowed time ever since."
Wow you been on here since 13 and still only have a little over a hundred posts. Me thinks you another one of the famous alias been used by a certain poster. :). Funny but sad in a way. Btw I did go off the forum and checked back in to see a petition asking me to come back. So of course I did. But you neglected to say that. So chat soon brian

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/03/2024 13:33:52    2530075

Just reflex, however, the right thing to do, would have looked very poor if it came back off crossbar

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 06/03/2024 14:45:40    2530084

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wow you been on here since 13 and still only have a little over a hundred posts. Me thinks you another one of the famous alias been used by a certain poster. :). Funny but sad in a way. Btw I did go off the forum and checked back in to see a petition asking me to come back. So of course I did. But you neglected to say that. So chat soon brian"
Thought the petition was to bring back Ard Ri! Would be good to have him back to bring some law and order to the forum.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 06/03/2024 20:47:07    2530134

Replying To winatallcost:  "Take another look at it if you can. There was a hand in there deflecting the fisted effort which would have meant goal would have counted if ref noticed. You listened to commentator but needs an even more careful look. Brennan was right to go for ball."
I don't think so. He should have let it go in. It would have been a restart with possession without Cavan getting a go ahead point at a critical time. I understand the desire among fans to make excuses for players but I think it was just an error borne out of a reflex save.

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 06/03/2024 23:20:27    2530146

Replying To winatallcost:  "Thought the petition was to bring back Ard Ri! Would be good to have him back to bring some law and order to the forum."
There was No petition! A couple of lesser known posters suddenly appeared backing him. I'm sure long term posters here would remember a 'petition'!!
He also hadn't deleted his account so had no intention of staying off. There would have been some song and dance if the Tyrone poster did the same.

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 07/03/2024 08:15:00    2530153

Replying To royalproxy:  "Hello Brian!

Hope you're enjoying Colm's progress with the team"
Is it yourself there RD.. sure weren't you caught out on this account last summer

How's about you post a message not about me and my "multiple" identities ,

I could only wish to post a message of that standard. The poster in question seems to know plenty about cork hurling, not my strong suit by any means - so maybe check a posters history before linking them and me as the same person

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/03/2024 14:53:31    2530328

Replying To winatallcost:  "Thought the petition was to bring back Ard Ri! Would be good to have him back to bring some law and order to the forum."
I'm at a loss about this 2013 petition, but apparently I've burner accounts dating back 10+ years I'm "resurrecting" now…. I can assure all and sundry, I've one account and that's it, who'd have time for all these extra burner accounts.

And Andy McEntee supposedly lives rent free in my head…..

Crikey we could do with some of the greats back here like Ard Ri, I think he might've been an older poster and NorthMeathMan and they'd put manners on them. In fact I might've been the reason Ard Ri had to change his handle when they brought in logins etc… and he went by The Real Ard Ri.

Speaking of legendary posters, hope Furlong49 is doing well. Hasn't been about in a while. Loved reading his posts a man of great knowledge and intellect. Reminded me of my father god rest him with his knowledge of Meath GAA.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/03/2024 15:00:24    2530329

Still puzzled at our second half collapse in Breffni. We were by far the best team in the first half and should have been home and hosed at halftime. We brought Cavan back into the game by what I thought was a dose of complacency. When Mc Gowan missed the goal chance, we seemed to sit back. If we are capable of a first half like that, and we manage to match it with an equally good second half, how good could we actually be? Much better than Cavan for sure, and they are doing well enough at the moment. Does this mean we have more potential than we're getting credit for? Will we be able to land this potential anytime soon?

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 148 - 08/03/2024 15:36:17    2530337

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "What did ye reckon after Saturday evening folks? Personally it was great to see a big crowd there. It's a rivalry (which seems to mean more to us than yourselves) which has not many games recently. Think the rivalry has got a bit diluted, but reckon by what we saw Saturday, we're of a similar level, so might be seeing a bit more of each other next few years. Be good to get that back up and going properly and get a bit of spite going!

Slightly unfortunate the pitch was not in great shape. Of course not much could be done about that what with the work needed on it to let water away after the snow melted. Usually it's in lovely condition this time of year, probably being slightly heavier suited yourselves as a more defensively solid team. Either way, the whole no win in Breffni in 60 years was shown to be old hat. New young teams generally don't have to carry that baggage of the past.

But overall most seemed happy enough. Technically promotion still in both our hands (slightly better chance for us alright) but likely we're both still in Division 2 next year and with 2 good teams likely coming down and 2 coming up, it'll make for a good division. The draw was probably right. We were so poor 1st half with taking shots and long range frees that would be fine in better foot conditions, but needed more composure and being in a little closer - but showed where you are defensively sound. Ye did very well to continue to pick us off through the half. We readjusted well at half time and got back ahead and sure look, both could have won it and both lost it in that last 5 injury time minutes so honours even I think was right.

A lot being made of your 2 goal chances. Our keeper did very well on both, any other day you'd have got at least one of those. We had our own chances too which haven't been talked of much, with 2 fist passes across goal that fingertips got it away from being palmed in. Mad game with no goals all told with those chances.

Thought the ref was good too. I see there was some grumbling here and online/on pods, but one of the better ones I've seen this year. Thought he let the game flow, and you really needed to earn your free. Watched the game back and both teams had grievances on frees not given at stages, but overall when I find a ref is being consistent on things to both sides, then I'll be ok with it. Although black card was a little harsh, if not technically correct - need some nuance and allowance for ball going quickly.

Finally, can't get over how well Keogan is still going. A proper class act and only for him we definitely get a few extra points. Also shipped that shoulder well and recovered and didn't let it get at him. O'Neill is a classy player too, some man marker. All the best lads, you never know might see ye later in the summer at some stage if the draw falls that way..."
I suppose a draw was probably fair.
To be honest I probably went home happy as the way the second half was going we looked like losing it but then twice near the end pointed to tie the match.

The rivalry suffers a lot due to lack of championship matches due to being in different provinces.
Meath has 7 counties bordering it so a lot of rivalries. Ask someone from say Clonard in south Meath and they probably would probably not have much feelings one way or another about Cavan.
Then I have worked with people from Oldcastle who will tell you Cavan people own all the main businesses in the town and they seem to enjoy banter about Cavan.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1350 - 08/03/2024 17:20:36    2530355