Team news: newcomers given their chance by Royal County

December 04, 2019

Meath's Matthew Costello

Meath manager Andy McEntee has named an experimental side for Sunday’s O’Byrne Cup SF first round clash with neighbours Louth.

Emerging talent like 2019 Meath SFC top scorer Jack O’Connor and 2018 Leinster MFC winning captain Mathew Costello are included at right half-forward and left corner-forward respectively.

Meath Hill’s Dominic Yorke has been handed the number one jersey while Simonstown’s Brian Conlon and Curraha’s David Toner return to the Royal County senior set-up.

Other new faces in the panel include Jordan Morris (Nobber), Harry Hogan (Longwood), Oisin O’Brien (Navan O’Mahonys) and Thomas Murtagh (Nobber).

Joint captains Bryan Menton and Donal Keogan will form a formidable midfield partnership.

Throw-in at Pairc Tailteann is timed for 2pm.

Meath (O’Byrne Cup SF v Louth) – Dominic Yorke; Robin Clarke, Brian Conlon, David Toner; Gavin McCoy, Eoin Lynch, Sean Reilly; Bryan Menton, Donal Keogan; Jack O’Connor, Darragh Campion, Jason Scully; Jordan Morris, Thomas O’Reilly, Mathew Costello. Subs: Harry Hogan, James Conlon, Oisin O’Brien, Thomas Murtagh, Ben Brennan, Shane Walsh, Caolach Halligan, Conor McGill.

Most Read Stories