Clifford and Gillane crowned Players of the Year

November 18, 2023

Limerick's Aaron Gillane celebrates scoring a goal against Galway ©INPHO/Evan Treacy

Aaron Gillane and David Clifford were crowned the undisputed kings of hurling and football when they were voted by their peers as the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler and Footballer of the Year at the PwC All-Stars at Dublin’s RDS in Ballsbridge.

Both members of their respective full forward lines, Aaron Gillane and David Clifford enhanced their reputations posing a lethal threat for the Limerick hurlers and Kerry footballers in another high-profile season for the Treaty County and the Kingdom. 

Gillane, full forward on the PwC Hurling All-Stars, once again tormented defences and grabbing important scores in big games. He also brings yet more glory to the Patrickswell club who have a proud tradition of All-Star success and have also impressively supplied recent Hurlers of the Year in Cian Lynch and Diarmaid Byrnes.

Fossa’s David Clifford is now a five-time PwC Football All-Star after a season that saw him maintain his prolific high standards, not only in scoring but, also as exemplified by his deft overhead pass against Tyrone or visionary goal creating ball in the All-Ireland final against Dublin, as a supplier of sublime passes to others. Clifford is the first ever footballer crowned back-to-back Player of the Year and he joins fellow nominee Brian Fenton and Meath legend Trevor Giles as a modern-day two-time winner. 

The PwC Young Hurler of the Year award went to Clare’s All-Star nominee Mark Rodgers while Derry’s Ethan Doherty was voted Young Footballer of the Year by their peers after both caught the eye in campaigns that brought them to All-Ireland semi-finals.

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year – David Clifford (Kerry)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year – Ethan Doherty (Derry)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year – Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year – Mark Rodgers (Clare)

Most Read Stories