Proposal B rejected at Special Congress

October 23, 2021

Director general Tom Ryan, President of the GAA Larry McCarthy and former president John Horan during the debate on motion 19 ©INPHO/James Crombie

Motion 19 has been defeated at the GAA's Special Congress this afternoon.

Delegates at Croke Park voted to reject the league-based All-Ireland senior football championship and have instead voted in favour of reverting to the system that was last used in 2017, with qualifiers and quarter-finals, but no Super 8s taking place.

Despite backing from GAA president Larry McCarthy and the Gaelic Players Association (GPA), Proposal B received only 50.6% of the vote which saw it fall short of the 60% required to carry the motion.

The numbers breakdown saw 85 delegates vote in favour of the proposal, while 83 voted against it.

Proposal B wwas debated after the Proposal A was emphatically rejected by 90% of the delegates at headquarters. The motion sought to introduce four eight-team provincial championships and was defeated by 138 votes to 15. 

The secret ballot saw each county with between two and five votes based on their number of clubs. The 32 counties made up for 86 votes with Central Council having 52, 38 accounted for overseas bodies and seven for past association presidents.

The All-Ireland football championship's structure is expected to be revisited again at Congress in February.



Most Read Stories