Popular Posts from LeitrimRoyal99

Meath U20 2020 - 20 Like(s)

Replying To greengiant2001:  "Adam Muldoon kells been outstanding all year with the senior team, has to be included in the team"
Good to see the Kells campaigning for lads on the county team has spread to under 20's now

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 04/12/2019 07:33:56

Well Done To Meath U16 - 20 Like(s)
Didn't get to see any of the game but really encouraging to see Eoghan Frayne with 2 45's at under 16 level especially with our free taking issues at senior. Always great to beat Dublin too. Only thing is we won this last year and it translated to nothing at minor. Hopefully that's just a blip. It would be brilliant to have another under 17 team like the 2017 and 2018 teams

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 20/08/2019 14:01:50

Meath V Kildare - 19 Like(s)
2018 Meath 1-10 Tipperary 2-15 2019 Meath 0-15 Tipperary 1-8 2018 Meath 1-15 Cork 2-16 2019 Meath 2-12 Cork 1-9 2017 Meath 0-16 Kildare 3-17 2019 Meath 1-9 Kildare 1-8 Now that is signs of definite progress. Not to mention consistency of workrate and effort each week. So satisfying and now we need to go and finish the job

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 03/03/2019 18:25:29

2019 Predictions? - 18 Like(s)

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Think you may need to relax on the James Conlan statements and let the guy play football ! Hopefully hes as good as you say he is..personally I know nothing about him ! My prediction for the year is mid to lower table but staying up ! And in the summer leinster final and then losing following game ! And McEntee to go..."
Couldn't agree more. Conlon is absolutely electrics with brilliant movement to match. But he is about 5 foot 5 and quiet skinny. He could be brilliant at senior county level or we could be left saying if only he was a bit taller he'd have made it. I hope it's the former but it isn't a certainty

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 04/01/2019 01:14:29

Meath GAA; How Do We Win? - 18 Like(s)

Replying To Young_gael:  "It was a figure of speech, and even if there was or is such a player, I dont name names, and I dislike when other people do. My point was that if for instance; If I happen to be some father's son from a popular and cliquey club, which DO exist, ill likely get more favourable treatment than a far superior player from a less 'cliquey' club, which also exist, out in the sticks somewhere. Think about why we in Meath just love putting sons and nephews of big county names on our panels, regardless of quality, why we have a history of selecting players on reputation, often beyond their ability, and based on their club alignment. My point is that the county is so insular that these acts often seem unnoticeably strange to many in Meath, but they are strange."
To be honest I think you are talking manure. You 'don't name names' because there are none! You can't come out with claims like this and then not name any players to back it up. I'll name some players. Keoghan from Rathkenny, Adam Flanagan from Clonard, Paddy Kennelly Dunderry, Eoin Lynch and Mickey Burke Longwood, Mickey Newman Kilmainham, Robin Clarke Duleek Bellewstown, Donnacha Tobin BHG, Kevin Ross Castletown, Dominic Yorke Meath Hill, Jordan Morris and Thomas Murtagh Nobber, Jason Scully Oldcastle, Eoin Harkin Dunsany, Sean Reilly Moylagh all have been on the Meath panel under the current manager. I don't think these clubs would ever be accused of wielding power over county inclusions. Maybe just maybe if players from clubs 'out in the sticks' (as you say) are good enough then they get picked. And I know it's crazy, but maybe the reason there isn't more picked isn't that there are 'cliques' working against them, but that they just aren't good enough.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 19/07/2020 02:15:43

Meath V Westmeath - 18 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "No truth is easy to take , blatant lies is what I can't take."
Lot of Meath people seem to forget he scored against Kildare, Sligo and Donegal last year and was along with Mickey Burke and Donal Lenihan probably our most consistent player in championship

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 20/01/2018 14:55:48

Meath GAA; How Do We Win? - 17 Like(s)

Replying To lilypad:  "No you have to have great players and a great manager, meath have neither."
Kildare have had both in the past and still can't get over the line. So I'd say get back on your own forum and try to fathom how your county made a Leinster final and got promoted in 17. Won an AI 20's and made the super 8 in 18, and have just gotten worse and worse since. I'd try figure that out before talking about other counties

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 11/07/2020 18:48:23

Graham Reilly - 17 Like(s)
Now that Graham Reilly is gone from that panel I hope we can be spared Royal Dunne's antics regarding him. Look he was supremely talented. Burst on the season in 2010. He had great games, he was a good Meath senior but always felt like he could be better. I guess unfairly he was put into the position as the player we relied on but he didn't deliver on it in our bigger games. Personally I never liked his attitude without the ball and he never seemed to be as fit as he should have been. And I don't think it's a coincidence that the first year without him as a nailed on starter was last year and our team took off. So fair play to him for giving 10 years of his life to the Meath seniors. Might become more rare these days. But I amn't sad that he is leaving the panel either if that makes sense

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 19/11/2019 07:26:31

Meath Vs Mayo - 17 Like(s)

Replying To Young_gael:  "I don't have all the answers, and ill not pretend to be an expert; I don't attend as many club games as many others mostly due to work, and I wont name names because its none of my business, but Id have to think that in a county with dozens of clubs urban and rural alike, that there are men with the varied individual attributes required to bring the team on another step. What is on show at the moment, with the utmost of respect is of an upper mediocre standard. Ive made many posts where I was very complimentary of this team and I remain fond of them, pure work-rate has them where they are and this has been a red letter season. I believe this team's achievement will be appreciated in time. Im proud to have followed them this season and will continue to follow them in the future. However I also believe that in order to consolidate the position we find ourselves in for 2020, we will need a new goalkeeper, one (maybe 2) midfielders, and two or three new forwards. Just my own opinion. The lads who are there cant be faulted for work, and passion, and effort, and they all deserve our respect, but they're peaking at this level."
I'd agree that we are getting the most out of what we have. What I take issue with is the McEntee swallowing his pride comment. He asked Rooney to play and he said no. Lenihan will return next year, Andy wanted him this year but he went away for the year. O'Coilean is back on the panel having said no earlier in the year. It's not like Andy was telling these lads to get lost. Andy wanted them and they wouldn't play. It's up to the lads to come back and join a Division 1 Super 8 team for next year

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 22/07/2019 01:06:17

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 17 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Firstly yes. Do not go to Leinster final if you think Dublin will win, that's a given I thought for most people.. Secondly to clear the optimism of some supporters it has to be pointed out particularly in relation to early league the hangover that was there. I have never said mod wasn't a decent man , I never said he didn't do his best. His problem was believing he could manage a inter county team, very few is as proud decent Meath man than myself , however I know my limitations, and I would not look for a Jo I clearly was not qualified for or equipped to deal with, furthermore if I found myself in that situation I would not blame , everything and anything to cover up for my own failings. To come out and say we hadn't good enough players and we had achieved as much as we could with what we had, was not only insulting to the players, supporters, clubs , and everyone who genuinely loves GAA in county. That was very disrespectful to all. Accountability in amy position is the most important thing and aspect of the measure of any man. In that he failed miserably. And the decent lovely proud man thing that's wheeled out must never be allowed to cover up his own failings by blaming everyone else except himself."
I am with you on MOD and believing fully in Andy. But saying we shouldn't go to a match if we think Meath will lose is a joke. I have realism. We aren't going to win the All Ireland and we have to accept that. One step at a time. Think of the cute Kerry hooers that play down their team at every chance and it didn't hurt them. Being very loud and shouting about how good your team is is both childish and Dubish. I thought our supporters were more knowledgeable than this

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 01:35:32

Meath V Laois - 17 Like(s)

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "What do you think shane offers more than Flanagan ? apart from pace. I think Flanagan will develop given time. He did well enough the last day. A better partnership for mento imo."
Pace, fitness, kick passing ability, workrate, shooting ability. Shane is better than Flanagan at all these. Your point is valid though that Flanagan might free up Menton to do more of these things

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 08/06/2019 14:56:24

Meath U20 2019 - 17 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "Great post Furlong and a lot to be optimistic about for sure. You didn't mention Cathal Finnegan- I mentioned on on this forum 3 years ago that he was a star of the future (I was slated as he wasn't even on minor panel at that time). I think he is the pick of the u20s along with Lynch."
Even without Shane Walsh this team has immense forward power. Connell Ahern, Jordan Morris, Matthew Costello, Cathal Finnegan, Aaron Lynch, Luke Mitchell, Conor Frayne. Brilliant forward power

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 31/05/2019 14:29:56

Meath V Laois - 17 Like(s)

Replying To Evernal:  "Great result for Meath! Won it handily however not scoring for 15 min at start of second half is worrying. Some great performances and I was sneered and laughed at on here for my unwavering praise of Adam Flanagan but my God what a performance! Absolutely immense yet again. Left everything on the pitch. Becoming undroppable. Croke Park really suits him. Hopefully now we regroup and have a good go at Dublin presuming they win. Though if Kildare were better they'd be a lot closer. On a side note have to say McQuillan the ref had a shocker today. Numerous yellow cards to Meath for nothing. Changing decisions etc didn't seem he had a grasp on the game from the get go. Anyways looking forward to the customary Supermacs Snack Box with the little one.......will taste all the sweeter now! An Mhi Abu! HON THE ROYAL!"
It was a great win but where are you going with the Flanagan praise. He was grand. Did ok, didn't win any marks I can remember. Worked hard. But the team instantly improved when Shane McEntee went in and we began to score far more heavily

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 09/06/2019 18:22:04

Meath Vs Mayo - 17 Like(s)
The more I think about where this team is at and where our underage talent is I get excited. I look at this senior team and we have excellent workrate, running power and 1 on 1 defending. Then I look at the needs of our team and we have underage players who seem to fit the mould. We need a keeper with fast execution and pinpoint accuracy with short and long kickouts. From what I've seen with Pats and the Meath minors Sean Brennan fits this. We need an athletic, mobile midfielder with ability to fetch kickouts. McBride is the front runner for this but D McGowan and Liam Byrne could also do it if they commit fully and develop themselves at 20's next year. Then we need a creative and attacking center forward. Matthew Costello is perfect for this, at minor and 20's he oozes class. Brilliant passer, heads up and a really good athlete. Then we need inside forwards who stay in and clever with their runs and deadly finishers. Luke Mitchell and Jordan Morris fit this. A big need is free taking. From the lads named. Byrne, McGowan and Mitchell have kicked 45's for Meath at underage and done pretty well. From close in Morris is very consistent on them with his left foot and Mitchell with the right. All these lads were pretty disappointing with the 20's this year tbh but are underage again next year and just with their playing styles perfectly fit the holes our seniors have. We need to pour everything into getting these lads to the caliber of good seniors

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 23/07/2019 00:12:35

Meath U20 2020 - 17 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "South Meath lads like Donncha Tobin? Or Anthony Moyles maybe... all overlooked at u21 level. You gonna tell me they were not good enough? Do you actually have an opinion LetrimRoyal or do you just blindly follow whatever team management picks? Also your case for Ger Robinson is actually laughable. He's been a selector on a minor team and has managed a junior team - jaysus maybe I'll apply for Meath u20 manager next year myself. Sure to raise money for Pairc Tailtean maybe we could raffle off the position of Meath u20 manager next year? Would make as much sense."
Who would you have appointed so, also he won a Junior championship as main manager, selector for a Keegan winning management, and selector for the first Meath mens team to win a Leinster title in 7 years with the under 17 team in 2017. Also his first game as under 20 manager was a win against Dublin. We might not do well this year at 20's (we never seem to do well at 21's/20's). Also I do have an opinion, my opinion is that North Meath clubs have a gigantic chip on their shoulder and think that the Meath hierarchy and management are against them, I think this is bullshit. That's my opinion

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 06/01/2020 08:02:44

Division 2 2018 - 16 Like(s)
The classic anti Ashbourne, Dunboyne and Ratoath brigade are back I see. Not as if Conor McGill, Bryan Menton and Donal Lenihan have been Meath best performers since McEntee arrived. And not as if Skryne were so successful last year. In fact they were a complete shambles. Paddy O'Rourke can do all he wants in meaningless county league games in games they are hammering the other team missing county lads makes no difference. He was tried outfield all 2011 on the back of a county title and was poor. He also proved over and over again when the pressure was greatest he completely did the wrong thing. Donegal and Louth last year. Against Dunboyne in the club he was sent off. 2016 league against Cavan, 2015 against Westmeath sent off twice for late shoulder barges after we lost big leads. Rant over (let's just hope Paddy doesn't quote this on Twitter now and try make it all about himself again)

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 12/02/2018 23:13:08

O Byrne Cup, Meath V Louth - 16 Like(s)
Right. That was a fairly big waste of time. 0 atmosphere. 0 intensity. Howling wind. Felt like a training game. Positives. Jack O'Connor looks very good and didn't look like a 19 year old. We used the attacking make pretty well and Thomas O'Reilly played well. Negatives no agression shown by our defenders, so loose. Sean Reilly and Jason Scully who are older than the other young lads and both panelists last year were both very poor I thought. Brian Conlon looked completely lost at full back and then his ball skills were fairly poor at midfield. Our kickouts weren't very good. Don't know if that was Yorkes fault or the boys out the field. He made 2 solid saves but need another game of 2 to decide. Hogan not on long enough to get a feel for. But let's see next week because it was hard to get a feel for things today

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 08/12/2019 17:08:13

Meath V Westmeath - 16 Like(s)

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "What would be your 2-3 changes?"
I know I wasn't asked but Burke for Glynn and Lenihan for Brennan

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 20/01/2018 19:47:25

O Byrne Cup 2019 - 16 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for the comments Usernameinvalid. The half back line has been an issue for Meath football for years. So I do see an improvement in that area this year. Yes Devine is talented. And Devine and his clubmate Walsh are very good prospects. But it can take years for a midfielder to learn his inter county trade. You get the odd brillant midfielder who is brilllant from year 1 eg Brian Fenton Sean Cavanagh Jack O Se Brian Mullins Gerry McEntee. The rest take years to develop. It took our greatest midfielder John McDermont 6 years before he really established himself on the Meath team. Thats why I thinkRooney is an option he is 25 26. He should be coming into his peak as an midfielder. Even if he didnt start. If we had Ronan Jones and Harry Rooney on the panel we wud have options. Currently we have no plan b after Flanagan and Menton, that is worrying. Yes Rooney lacks pace but his last year he played in 2015 I do think there was signs he had potential particularly in Bynre cup semi final v Dublin when he almost single-handed brought a Meath team to rein in a 9 point lead. Regards forwards inside I have concerns also. U r right. We had serious forward talent between 07 and 11. Good enough to win Sam. The problem was that we had 5 managers in 6 years and that really halted the growth of that team. But we had after kerry and Tyrone, the best forwards in the country at the time and we had better forwards then Dublin or kildare. Thats why we reached 2 All Ireland semi finals and defeated in the championship Mayo Galway the greatest Tyrone team ever and hammered a team that wud soon become Dublins greatest team ever. Look at the forwards we had play between 09 and 11 eg Stephen Bray Graham Geraghty Graham Reilly Joe Sheridan Brian Farrell Cian Ward David Bray Shane O Rourke Seamus Kenny Peadar Byrne James Queeny. Dublin and kildare have better forwards then we have now. Which has never happened before. We always for generations had better forwards then kildare or Dublin. We dont have bad forwards. We have good forwards. But we dont really have top class ones. And my worry is where are the scores going to come from play on the inside line if Newman is marked out of the game."
I agree our forward crop isn't good but it isn't helped by the forwards who left the panel for whatever reason. Lenihan, O'Coilean, McKeever, Wallace x2. Silver lining our under 20's look to have a great crop of forwards. Costello, Connell Ahern, Mitchell, Morris, Walsh, Frayne, O'Fionnagan, Finnegan, Cian Rodgers. If 2 or 3 of them can be good quality inter county forwards we could be on a winner as I'm starting to like the look of our defence.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 15/01/2019 14:51:26

Questions we need answered - 16 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Here's a quick question , why are we so worried about those who left? (Some for very valid reason) jones harnan etc. why not concentrate on the lads who decided to put in the effort. Take Adam Flanagan and paddy Kennelly for example, both knocking around a bit yet both kept plugging away mostly as last ten minutes subs, and then when they got their chances this year took it with both hands. These are the type of players we should be working on keeping happy, not the prima donnas who were afraid to give it their all. Look at Ben Brennan hardly just starting out , over looked by other managers, yet motm v Tyrone. Let's concentrate on those willing to put in a shift."
I can understand the worry because imagine we had Conlon, McKeever, S Tobin, Paddy, Newman, Harnan, Jones, O'Coilean, D Tobin for a full season. It would definitely help. At the same time, these lads never won a thing with Meath (bar Paddy in 2010 even though he was suspended) and for the most part, would almost always let you down or be very inconsistent (Even Conlon and McKeever in the league this year). It is a tough situation. We can't do well without these players, but also can't do well without the commitment McEntee requires. I would side with McEntee over the players that left but only just. I would for sure give McEntee 2 more years at least to get some of the 20's in. The 14 behind the ball has to go though, we need 4 forwards up at all times, with two inside the 45 min

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - 09/07/2018 22:33:51