Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To LM94:  "The Gaa has to do something about AFL taking our talent for nothing. Like kobe and barry are two of the best wonderkids to ever come from mayo and leitrim and wont be able to see the very best of them. I know barry has been around a few seasons but he would be a huge loss for us who rarely get a superstar like him."
do what exactly

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 20/08/2026 15:51:36    2690644

Replying To LM94:  "The Gaa has to do something about AFL taking our talent for nothing. Like kobe and barry are two of the best wonderkids to ever come from mayo and leitrim and wont be able to see the very best of them. I know barry has been around a few seasons but he would be a huge loss for us who rarely get a superstar like him."
Agree the Aussies can't continue to poach our best players. Leitrim can't afford to lose a player of Barry's talent but he's young & deserves his chance at the big time. He will be young enough to play for Leitrim in his return.wish him well whatever he decides.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 195 - 20/08/2026 15:53:50    2690646

These lads are amateurs as you well know. They are free to go where they want, they're contracted to no one. Even if they were professionals, they'd be free to go where they want on the completion of a contract. There's little the GAA can do without agreement from the AFL. If the AFL have any interest in good sporting relations they will do that however I will hold my breath on that one. For the likes of Kobe, I certainly hope he gets an education while out in Oz as he won't be on big money as a rookie, and there's no guarantees that he will make it either despite all the bigging up he's getting as an All Ireland winner. Barry, if he gets a contact offer, will have his degree and it will be his choice. He'll be a massive loss however you have to wonder what the long term benefit to him will be being that bit older. He will inveriably have to postpone starting a career and start at the bottom of the AFL tree. None of this will ever replace playing football with the lads you grew up with either. People forget Ciaran Kilkenny signed a rookie contract and lasted only a few months citing missing his family & friends and wanting to win trophies at home. It's sad that all the talk now is about the AFL after a renewed championship and with the ongoing club championship.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2341 - 20/08/2026 16:22:25    2690660

Be a loss alright but could never begrudge a young lad going abroad for a year to two to get life experience you won't get around Manorhamilton, have heard about top gaa players getting to see the world going to different events and get togethers, but it's typically a man from Dublin or Kerry and never Leitrim, London and New York every few years for a weekend is the best they get. Doubt they get a team holiday.
Sure it's not a massive sum of money but when living expenses are mostly covered he will get more than most young lads just out of college will earn. Until gaa is professional, and I wouldn't go down that rabbit hole, players can do what they want.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 822 - 20/08/2026 23:55:55    2690700

Barry going to Oz would be a huge loss, I wouldn't begrudge him the move if he wanted it, we have lost players before to Oz and they are just going to see the world and have the craic etc, but Barry is different he is our Michael Murphy I would hope efforts would be made to entice him to stay.
He is so important to us if we are ever to become a serious footballing county. McNulty is a special footballer id be shocked if he wasn't offered a contract.

My personal opinion is Aussie Rules is a terrible game to watch, Gaelic football is a superior game, it is not even close. The Aussies have destroyed the ladies game and I can see the same happening the men's game. Clubs & Counties should be compensated.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 500 - 21/08/2026 09:58:43    2690715

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "do what exactly"
Pay clubs and counties a development fee? Manor Gaa developed Barry from 6/7 years of age, Leitrim helped Barry develop further from the age of 13/14 . 50k to Manor and 50k to Leitrim if the want our talent they should have to compensate? Thats a small amount to these professional clubs but would mean a lot to Manor and Leitrim.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 500 - 21/08/2026 10:07:23    2690717

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Barry going to Oz would be a huge loss, I wouldn't begrudge him the move if he wanted it, we have lost players before to Oz and they are just going to see the world and have the craic etc, but Barry is different he is our Michael Murphy I would hope efforts would be made to entice him to stay.
He is so important to us if we are ever to become a serious footballing county. McNulty is a special footballer id be shocked if he wasn't offered a contract.

My personal opinion is Aussie Rules is a terrible game to watch, Gaelic football is a superior game, it is not even close. The Aussies have destroyed the ladies game and I can see the same happening the men's game. Clubs & Counties should be compensated."
I admire your enthusiasm that we will ever be a serious footballing county. He's definitely our marquee player but one man won't get us a connacht title or a tailteann cup, especially with injuries etc. need more like or close enough to him but unfortunately we struggle to develop enough lads up to the standard that stick with it

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 822 - 21/08/2026 10:39:20    2690722

We have more footballers than Barry McNulty thanks so much. Why this big drama? If he goes he goes. That's life. We will move on as we always have done thanks so much. It's a bit pathetic from us so millions to be whinging about it. Nobody is irreplaceable thank you everyone.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 656 - 21/08/2026 10:42:35    2690723

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Barry going to Oz would be a huge loss, I wouldn't begrudge him the move if he wanted it, we have lost players before to Oz and they are just going to see the world and have the craic etc, but Barry is different he is our Michael Murphy I would hope efforts would be made to entice him to stay.

My personal opinion is Aussie Rules is a terrible game to watch, Gaelic football is a superior game, it is not even close. The Aussies have destroyed the ladies game and I can see the same happening the men's game. Clubs & Counties should be compensated."
They would be if the players were contracted professionals or semi professionals.
How many inter County players are there ?
How many go to Aus Rules?

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 867 - 21/08/2026 10:42:45    2690724

Compensate them for what ?
Players are not contracted to any club or county.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 301 - 21/08/2026 10:43:17    2690725

Few Monaghan men making the move to Leitrim

- > the 2 McGuinesses from Ballybay moving to Ballinamore SOH, heard word from Shane Moran this morning. Despite their age will be huge assets to the club, fair play bais

TruaghGaell (Monaghan) - Posts: 8 - 21/08/2026 10:50:08    2690727

If McNulty goes more luck to him, don't think it is so easy to get a contract like people are saying though.

Reality is there is a big two in Connacht and Galway and Mayo will always be the top dogs here hmm

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 304 - 21/08/2026 11:15:45    2690740

Replying To Taypot:  "Compensate them for what ?
Players are not contracted to any club or county."
I know they aren't contracted but it cant be as easy as it is currently to recruit players. We cant be developing our top players to play AFL. Some rules must be applied. The ladies game is suffering due to this.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 500 - 21/08/2026 12:20:15    2690749

Replying To TruaghGaell:  "Few Monaghan men making the move to Leitrim

- > the 2 McGuinesses from Ballybay moving to Ballinamore SOH, heard word from Shane Moran this morning. Despite their age will be huge assets to the club, fair play bais"
They are dead right to get those lads in, seems to be the latest trend to transfer lads in……

Would rather see teams win it with their own.

Hatchetman76 (Leitrim) - Posts: 51 - 21/08/2026 12:36:34    2690751

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I admire your enthusiasm that we will ever be a serious footballing county. He's definitely our marquee player but one man won't get us a connacht title or a tailteann cup, especially with injuries etc. need more like or close enough to him but unfortunately we struggle to develop enough lads up to the standard that stick with it"
Becoming a serious footballing county doesn't happen overnight, we were serious enough in the 80's & 90's but it was let drift away. You're absolutely right that one man won't win us anything but if you can inspire the next generation of players, who knows what may happen. I hope that Barry realises that, which I'm sure he does. We are seeing a glimpse of the effect of having the right man in charge. Poucher always talks about being a bit obsessed with your football & playing to your strengths. That mentality needs to be instilled in players at all levels & the earlier the better. Otherwise what's the point... we may hang up the boots and play junior football if we don't.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2341 - 21/08/2026 12:47:38    2690752