Mayo GAA Thread

Best of luck in the final, the games and results this year have been mad, don't worry about Kerry being the favourites, go out and play the game Mayo can and you can win it.

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 181 - 24/07/2026 16:34:17    2686947

Well here we go again….another final. Nice buzz around the county this week but somewhat grounded all the same. Can we do it? Yes we can but match ups, kickouts, intensity and kicking is going to have to spot on. I also firmly believe a curve ball from management will be needed to stop this Kerry team…what that is I don't know. Traveling in anticipation and as always hope. Safe traveling to all supporters. See ye on the other side.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12222 - 24/07/2026 17:48:03    2686958

Best of luck to Mayo on Sunday.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 492 - 24/07/2026 18:48:30    2686965

A Mayo win would be one of the greatest days in Irish sport and i find it hard to believe even some Kerry fans would begrudge their opponents the win.

Hopefully they give it a great shot and give it everything.

The reason we watch and love sport is because of it's unpredictability and thats why there is always belief.

Best of luck to Mayo Sunday

Sliothar73 (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 24/07/2026 21:29:50    2686977

Good luck Sunday... Please do the business

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 810 - 24/07/2026 22:40:41    2686987

Replying To Sliothar73:  "A Mayo win would be one of the greatest days in Irish sport and i find it hard to believe even some Kerry fans would begrudge their opponents the win.

Hopefully they give it a great shot and give it everything.

The reason we watch and love sport is because of it's unpredictability and thats why there is always belief.

Best of luck to Mayo Sunday"
One of the greatest day in Irish sport... Jesus Wept

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2282 - 25/07/2026 01:00:13    2686998

Ive been wavering between optimism and despair all week.
But I am certain there is a route to victory.

If Kerry line out as selected, I would do the following

Coyne on P Clifford,
Mc Greal on D Geaney
McHugh on D Clifford
Hession on S O S
McBrien on J O Connor
Coen on D O Connor
Callinan on G White

Coen plays as the help defender, with D O Connor not much of a scoring threat.

If Im Kerry, I dropping D O Connor into midfield and playing P Clifford (with SOS) on the 40 and picking another scorer.
Coens role can be exploited by a 2 point shooter. That would force Callinan back to HB line, leaving White v Coen - a big mismatch in speed.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 2002 - 25/07/2026 04:10:24    2687004

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Ive been wavering between optimism and despair all week.
But I am certain there is a route to victory.

If Kerry line out as selected, I would do the following

Coyne on P Clifford,
Mc Greal on D Geaney
McHugh on D Clifford
Hession on S O S
McBrien on J O Connor
Coen on D O Connor
Callinan on G White

Coen plays as the help defender, with D O Connor not much of a scoring threat.

If Im Kerry, I dropping D O Connor into midfield and playing P Clifford (with SOS) on the 40 and picking another scorer.
Coens role can be exploited by a 2 point shooter. That would force Callinan back to HB line, leaving White v Coen - a big mismatch in speed."
I really hope Mayo get over the line. It would be a great moment for football.
Looking at those match-ups above makes me even less optimistic though. There isn't a single one in which I'd take the Mayo player to come out on top.
That's not meant to be disrespectful and doesn't mean some wouldn't or won't do a brilliant job on Sunday, but naturally based on name, all of the Kerry players listed would be more highly rated.
There's only one answer for that though, as the great John O'Mahony said.
The best of luck to you on Sunday.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2963 - 25/07/2026 06:36:16    2687008

All the best tomorrow lads.
It's a tough ask to beat Kerry on All Ireland final day. This time last year I thought we were well set to really challenge them, but were very disappointing on the day.

I give ye a decent chance though, because you have players up front playing fearlessly. Kobe, Beirne and Ryan will go for two pointers and a goal if they're on. If ye can bang in a goal or two, and land 5 or 6 pointers then who knows!

One thing that stuck with me last year was the amount of Kerry fans who upped and left immediately after the final whistle. They'll have to send in the army to clear Croke Park if ye win I think! Jokes aside, I really hope ye do it. Ádh mór!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10434 - 25/07/2026 08:55:29    2687015

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well here we go again….another final. Nice buzz around the county this week but somewhat grounded all the same. Can we do it? Yes we can but match ups, kickouts, intensity and kicking is going to have to spot on. I also firmly believe a curve ball from management will be needed to stop this Kerry team…what that is I don't know. Traveling in anticipation and as always hope. Safe traveling to all supporters. See ye on the other side."
I see you on the Roscommon thread all the time. It's hard to believe after getting beaten by Roscommon in Castlebar that you've made it to a final but fair play to you. You've got better and better as the campaigns gone on. I think that's the difference between teams like Mayo and Roscommon. You have a great belief in your footballers. I sincerely hope you do get the win tomorrow. It's going to be a tough task against a very good Kerry team but regardless whether you win or lose you have to say it's been a great year for Mayo Football All the best.

Towny10 (Roscommon) - Posts: 28 - 25/07/2026 10:02:46    2687020

Hard luck lads. Kerry will do damage.

TommyBermingham (Kildare) - Posts: 56 - 25/07/2026 10:56:24    2687027

Best of luck to Mayo tomorrow, it's going to be a big ask but hopefully they can cause a shock. Don't look at it as a free shot though because it's not , kobe won't be there next year and Kerry will be as strong as ever as well as the other contenders. The final to win is the one your in , it might be the only chance this team gets. My late mother was a proud Mayo woman who dearly wanted them to win an all ireland unfortunately she never seen it , I dearly hope tomorrow is the day ye finally climb the mountain.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 367 - 25/07/2026 11:47:45    2687029

Good luck tomorrow guys.

You can do it.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 3042 - 25/07/2026 11:51:39    2687031

Replying To Square_B:  "One of the greatest day in Irish sport... Jesus Wept"
Why wouldnt it be? Ending a 75 year wait after losing all those finals? No romance in some people...

Sliothar73 (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 25/07/2026 12:07:28    2687037

Best of luck, Mayo. Great opportunity and no pressure at all.
Ye have the forwards to win it

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1816 - 25/07/2026 12:34:56    2687040

Wicklow's stunning performance a couple of weeks ago in the Tailteann cup final against a more historically successful team like that of Down senior footballers should be an example to us all hopefuls that any team is very beatable.

In my lifetime I have never experienced any team from the depts of div.4 when defeat was staring every player with every kick of a ball they took until the whistle blew for half time, everyone that is except Oisin McConville.

The very best of good luck to Andy Moran and his Mayo senior football squad tomorrow.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3402 - 25/07/2026 13:27:08    2687052

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I really hope Mayo get over the line. It would be a great moment for football.
Looking at those match-ups above makes me even less optimistic though. There isn't a single one in which I'd take the Mayo player to come out on top.
That's not meant to be disrespectful and doesn't mean some wouldn't or won't do a brilliant job on Sunday, but naturally based on name, all of the Kerry players listed would be more highly rated.
There's only one answer for that though, as the great John O'Mahony said.
The best of luck to you on Sunday."
The new game requires teams to score in the right way
Mayo score a lot of 2 pointers and Kerry allow 2 point shots.

If i was lining up a Mayo team, I have Kobe, Conroy anf McHale starting inside with ROD on the 40.
I dont think Casey, Foley, Murphy and Breen csn hold them.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 2002 - 25/07/2026 17:52:50    2687080