Donegal GAA thread

Hard luck our lads, and well done cork on their respective performances today. We had no answer for Cork's 2nd half battle plan, which paid off so well with their 2 pointers. There has to be an element of gamble in winning a game, and Cork did just that...they decided to go for the big shots and they all paid off.

Not sure what the next steps are for us...Id say that we will improve our performance. Disappointed with the stewarding incident at the end of the game, which looked really over the top. On the game itself, it was played in a good spirit. I think that Murphy's tackle in the 2nd half was a legit one, regardless of his recent track record.

Lets see what we can do in our next game...one of 4 teams...Meath, Monaghan or Cavan/Dublin...home or away will be first/last out of the hat, and the way we have played at home recently, we might be better off heading to Clones/Navan/Breffni/Croke park!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3859 - 14/06/2026 03:49:18    2679431

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Last game was a smash and grab with 3 goals. Didn't mean anything. This was purely donegal stopping playing after 45 minutes and Cork having a nothing to lose attitude. Fair play to them. Hopefully the boys turn it around this weekend coming now but hard to see it."
To say it was smash and grab is being disingenuous to Cork, they dominated game in last 15 and upped the intensity to a level that we could not match. They were deserved winners.

I didn't think we could be as poor as we were against Down, but we backed that up today. Lacked ideas and energy, hard to explain given that we have only had 2 matches in the last 9 weeks. Are the team being overtrained?? Who knows given the veil of secrecy that surrounds that surrounds the modern day paranoia of inter county teams.

As others have outlined here the reluctance to kick the ball especially with Murphy inside busting a gut every game to get Donegal over the line is hard to fathom. Again our most consistent forward and when chasing the game gets the curly finger.

Was Max Campbell injured? I think in the next game we need the pace and energy of him and caolan mccolgan in defence to drive us forward. Eoghan Ban & Ryan McHugh looked very one paced yesterday. Shane and Conor O'Donnell need to start being more direct as both have pace but are running across the field too often. McGee and McFadden were second past in the middle third too. We were second best to breaking ball too and that come down To hunger, Cork were ravenous towards the end.

We can't complain we got the home draw we wanted after the difficult trip to Killarney now we await another hopefully favourable draw next week, last year we blamed the number of games, this year we have had hardly any.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1251 - 14/06/2026 07:37:52    2679439

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Is it just me, or should Sherlocks last score been a one pointer instead of a two?"
Yeah, looked like he had stepped inside alright but would need to see it back. Thought ODonnell's effort clipped the inside of the post earlier in the game too but was waved wide. Gough brought one up for cork too when there was zero delay or obstruction. We certainly didn't get any home decisions but there's no point in thinking about any of that now. Cork put the foot down when they sensed blood in the final ten mins or so and we got nervy and hadn't the energy to match it. Should have put the game to bed long before that but kept them in it instead. Though we wasted an awful lot of time waiting for gaps in the screen along the arc and didn't really have 2 pointers in the game plan at all.The wind was all over the place and Langan wasn't given free reign but at the end of the day it was 2 pointers won the game for Cork and they had the same conditions to contend with.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 206 - 14/06/2026 08:31:56    2679442

Replying To brayballer:  "Yous might get us in the next round but where will we play?"
We might play yous in Irishtown Stadium Dave Brown?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1668 - 14/06/2026 09:02:22    2679449

The truth needs to be told boys we have too many that buckle when any sort of pressure comes on them, too many of us are found out start getting involved way ref, bad discipline giving away on 2 arc, touching on ground, getting turned over way basic errors, kicking ball away it was so evident yesterday lack of leaders apart from Murphy when going gets tough. Too many nice players when things are going well. Cork were looking to get beat yday but they sensed our panic when few things went wrong and went at it for 15 mins and that's all it took to beat us.

And I was at a div 3 club game last week between 2 of the bottom teams in the division there was 9 x 2 pointers I honestly think any man that from position 8 up that can't kick a 2 pointer shouldn't be there at county level. It's the modern game lads we seen final last year beat 5-0. We've learnt nothing.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 14/06/2026 09:10:27    2679453

Very disappointing display all round looking to coast home in 2nd gear. When Cork made a game of it we couldn't get to the pitch of it and deservedly got beat.

The elephant in the room here is the lack of depth in the squad. If we are looking to the bench coming to the final quarter we are in huge trouble. We had to throw on Turlough Carr and Shea Malone who are in their first year and don't have the experience or conditioning at Championship level, Cork were bringing on players like Deane, Corrbett and Hurley. The Down game had a similar feel, we were asking Max Campbell to go in and change things off the bench in a hot and heavy Ulster Championship game with time slipping away when he is giving away a lot in terms of physicality and experience. These will all be good footballers for Donegal and if we are in a winning position we might get away with it, but it is a serious problem for this year if we are in a tight game coming into the last quarter.

Really missing that more experienced cohort late 20's - early 30's that we had over the last few years.

On the subs aswell then if we do not have the depth on the bench and have players who don't seem to be good off the bench (like Daire O'Baoill / McColgan) we need to rejig things with the starting team and have lads coming in that you can trust to impact the game. We have what we have at this stage, its whether Jim can come up with a combination for 18/19 players that works that will ultimately determine whether we can trouble the latter stages. Hard to see the wood for the trees this morning.

inthru (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 14/06/2026 09:17:12    2679455

Replying To inthru:  "Very disappointing display all round looking to coast home in 2nd gear. When Cork made a game of it we couldn't get to the pitch of it and deservedly got beat.

The elephant in the room here is the lack of depth in the squad. If we are looking to the bench coming to the final quarter we are in huge trouble. We had to throw on Turlough Carr and Shea Malone who are in their first year and don't have the experience or conditioning at Championship level, Cork were bringing on players like Deane, Corrbett and Hurley. The Down game had a similar feel, we were asking Max Campbell to go in and change things off the bench in a hot and heavy Ulster Championship game with time slipping away when he is giving away a lot in terms of physicality and experience. These will all be good footballers for Donegal and if we are in a winning position we might get away with it, but it is a serious problem for this year if we are in a tight game coming into the last quarter.

Really missing that more experienced cohort late 20's - early 30's that we had over the last few years.

On the subs aswell then if we do not have the depth on the bench and have players who don't seem to be good off the bench (like Daire O'Baoill / McColgan) we need to rejig things with the starting team and have lads coming in that you can trust to impact the game. We have what we have at this stage, its whether Jim can come up with a combination for 18/19 players that works that will ultimately determine whether we can trouble the latter stages. Hard to see the wood for the trees this morning."
Totally agree our subs look great when we are 10 points up but don't have any impact when game in melting pot.

Also we are the most predictable team in country to play against same phases of play over and over. When we see this isn't working we have to allow something different to even force a rethink in oppositions defence. In 2 games v down and cork we kicked 1 long ball in. Mogan to murphy, gallen got a point off it with a 1 on 1. No unpredictability or off the cuff individualism allowed.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 14/06/2026 10:07:51    2679460

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Is it just me, or should Sherlocks last score been a one pointer instead of a two?"
No it was ok. A player can have their foot on the line and it still counts as a 2 pointer

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 781 - 14/06/2026 10:32:40    2679463

The bigger problem with that last one was the decision to move it forward. Watched the highlights last night, the Cork player got straight up for a solo and go and nobody blocked him at all. Poor decision from Gough.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 781 - 14/06/2026 10:45:12    2679465

Replying To inthru:  "Very disappointing display all round looking to coast home in 2nd gear. When Cork made a game of it we couldn't get to the pitch of it and deservedly got beat.

On the subs aswell then if we do not have the depth on the bench and have players who don't seem to be good off the bench (like Daire O'Baoill / McColgan) we need to rejig things with the starting team and have lads coming in that you can trust to impact the game. We have what we have at this stage, its whether Jim can come up with a combination for 18/19 players that works that will ultimately determine whether we can trouble the latter stages. Hard to see the wood for the trees this morning."
Yeah subs are not making the desired impact. Need a young gun to burst through asap. Ciaran Thompson also a massive miss as another two point option and free taker.

Listening to Ireland AM and they seemed adamant Donegal could draw Kerry again in round 3?
Surely to god that's not true?

Also does anyone know if round 3 are neutral or first out of hat get home advantage

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 14/06/2026 10:47:19    2679466

I can't really understand why gallen never finishes a match. He is one of the best forward s in the country. At beginning of the year I felt we were building a good squad but compared to teams like armagh the depth is not there..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2692 - 14/06/2026 11:09:44    2679471

My second attempt to post...

Yesterday we badly missed a natural left-footed forward I thought. With the way the wind was blowing second half, it suited a Paddy McBrearty type run, bombing out on the loop and arcing points over. Obviously Paddy is gone now, and I'm not sure how far away Ciaran Thomspon is.

I could be wrong, but I think the majority of our points second half were left footed efforts, albeit from naturally right footed kickers. That's good. But the problem was we needed about 3 or 4 more. That's not even taking frees into account either.

Speaking of which, Cork were very disciplined in that regard, think they only conceded one scoreable free which Murphy nailed early on?? Fair play to them, they probably have the best free taker in the country in Sherlock, and when they smelt blood they went for it.

Our plan A is very good when it's working. But I thought we lacked a bit of imagination yesterday. There seems to be an obsession with ball retention. It's very rudimentary as a tactic, but the big bombed ball into the square on occasion has its merits. Especially when we have men like Murphy, McGee and Langan who would certainly give a full back line food for thought under a high ball...

Anyways, lets see what the draw brings.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10374 - 14/06/2026 11:44:15    2679477

Replying To rorysboys:  "I can't really understand why gallen never finishes a match. He is one of the best forward s in the country. At beginning of the year I felt we were building a good squad but compared to teams like armagh the depth is not there.."
Its a strange one, yesterday's game wasnt a high intensity game and he was cramping at the end.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 781 - 14/06/2026 12:01:42    2679481

Replying To rorysboys:  "I can't really understand why gallen never finishes a match. He is one of the best forward s in the country. At beginning of the year I felt we were building a good squad but compared to teams like armagh the depth is not there.."
He was cramping, needed to come off. Armagh's supposed depth hasn't really been tested yet to be fair so I'd reserve judgement til they meet a stronger team.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 206 - 14/06/2026 12:14:12    2679484

Where is Jamie brennan, if not in form what's he doing there?

Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 154 - 14/06/2026 12:39:21    2679488

Some real OTT stuff on here. Bad day yesterday and we blew a chance to put ourselves in an All Ireland QF in great shape, noone will know that more than the players and management. Looking at it without the emotions from yesterday though the net result of everything to date is if Armagh win today, ourselves, Kerry and Armagh are in the exact same position as we were in at this stage last year, we've played half the games and we've beaten Kerry well in 2 big games this year.
I know Kerry weren't full strenght but we were 22 points up at one stage in the league final and 13 points at one stage in Killarney, Kerry will be a different animal if we meet again but those are massive scores so we've shown a high ceiling and have to take beliefe from those wins.
On the flip side against Down and Cork we've shown when we aren't quite at it we can look a poor side.

Two big performances over the next two weekends and the Cork gane will be forgotten about.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 14/06/2026 12:50:40    2679490

Replying To shaggykev:  "Yeah subs are not making the desired impact. Need a young gun to burst through asap. Ciaran Thompson also a massive miss as another two point option and free taker.

Listening to Ireland AM and they seemed adamant Donegal could draw Kerry again in round 3?
Surely to god that's not true?

Also does anyone know if round 3 are neutral or first out of hat get home advantage"
Not neutral. Because the teams are in 2 seperate pots, they'll do a draw to determine home advantage after they draw out all the teams.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 781 - 14/06/2026 12:54:27    2679491

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "He was cramping, needed to come off. Armagh's supposed depth hasn't really been tested yet to be fair so I'd reserve judgement til they meet a stronger team."
He can't be cramping in all the games.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2692 - 14/06/2026 13:51:05    2679507

Replying To JimB1991:  "Some real OTT stuff on here. Bad day yesterday and we blew a chance to put ourselves in an All Ireland QF in great shape, noone will know that more than the players and management. Looking at it without the emotions from yesterday though the net result of everything to date is if Armagh win today, ourselves, Kerry and Armagh are in the exact same position as we were in at this stage last year, we've played half the games and we've beaten Kerry well in 2 big games this year.
I know Kerry weren't full strenght but we were 22 points up at one stage in the league final and 13 points at one stage in Killarney, Kerry will be a different animal if we meet again but those are massive scores so we've shown a high ceiling and have to take beliefe from those wins.
On the flip side against Down and Cork we've shown when we aren't quite at it we can look a poor side.

Two big performances over the next two weekends and the Cork gane will be forgotten about."
I think it was just a very deflating performance after a great win in Killarney and there are concerns with the squad depth when the fat is in the fire. The result is the result but it's how we played that was so disappointing.

But I don't think it's the end of the world. The thing now is getting over it next week. I would be worried about the potential quarter final draw for us. But Louth have just shown - this is championship. Grab it by the horns

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 340 - 14/06/2026 14:45:25    2679512

Replying To Lockjaw:  "My second attempt to post...

Yesterday we badly missed a natural left-footed forward I thought. With the way the wind was blowing second half, it suited a Paddy McBrearty type run, bombing out on the loop and arcing points over. Obviously Paddy is gone now, and I'm not sure how far away Ciaran Thomspon is.

I could be wrong, but I think the majority of our points second half were left footed efforts, albeit from naturally right footed kickers. That's good. But the problem was we needed about 3 or 4 more. That's not even taking frees into account either.

Speaking of which, Cork were very disciplined in that regard, think they only conceded one scoreable free which Murphy nailed early on?? Fair play to them, they probably have the best free taker in the country in Sherlock, and when they smelt blood they went for it.

Our plan A is very good when it's working. But I thought we lacked a bit of imagination yesterday. There seems to be an obsession with ball retention. It's very rudimentary as a tactic, but the big bombed ball into the square on occasion has its merits. Especially when we have men like Murphy, McGee and Langan who would certainly give a full back line food for thought under a high ball...

Anyways, lets see what the draw brings."
Louth have just proven my point re: big ball into the mixer. This year's Championship is drunk! Lol

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10374 - 14/06/2026 14:49:37    2679514